We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs.”
Review of Windlestrae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windlestrae Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
1 review
“Avoid at all costs.”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The service was shocking & nobody seemed capable of dealing with long food delays, wrong food delivered. To add insult to injury they couldn't even get a complimentary drinks order right.

The place also needs a substantial refresh to remove all the taped up carpets and broken shower heads.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mags L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    221
    108
    43
    33
See reviews for
86
253
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Only stayed for one night to attend a family party but our experience was excellent. Staff were friendly and happy to help with anything. I asked at reception for extra pillows and a fan because the room was very warm and they arrived in our room within an hour! The room was spotlessly clean, had been recently refurbished and very comfortable. Breakfast was great, good food, a large selection and the service was quick - tea and coffee arrived straight away. My daughter and i went for a swim in the hotel pool, the cost of which was included in the room price, it was clean and fresh towels were included too. All round it was a very pleasant stay and i would recommend it. The only negative comments would be the cigarette ends which littered the ground at the rear entrance and the public areas could do with a bit of redecoration.

Room Tip: movable ramps for access to public areas for wheelchair users but limited access in the rooms ie no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susie404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

--considering what we were paying for B/B we were very apprehensive, but certainly were not dissapointed the checkin was friendly and quick,there is no lift 2 short flights of stairs to the rooms--our room was very nicely furnished with ample storage space--love the telly on the wall!Bathroom was super with lovely white towels and nice toiletries.
Another detail that impressed was the amount of literature and info in our room- took me ages to peruse it all!
We ate in Rushes bar in the evening- again most enjoyable, good choice, good prices- the chick.piri piri and duck wraps were delicious.
We seemed to be above the swimming pool so there was nothing to look out at and the noise of the generators "hummed" constantly so we had to close the window -making it very warm.
Our only dissapointment was we had to leave before breakfast--- next stay we will have the whole deal! We would recc the Windlestrae and look forward to forthcoming offers!!!

Room Tip: ---Not to be above the swimming pool- it's a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janiceHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

There was nothing to fault here. From the moment we were booked in by the friendly and welcoming Heather on reception until we checked out, we enjoyed our stay enormously. The room was clean and spacious with a well appointed and obviously recently refurbished bathroom. The bed was large and very comfortable. We ate in both Monty's and Basil's (in sister hotel across the road) restaurants and both meals were delicious.
The leisure suite was clean and relaxing.
However the thing which made this stay so special was the staff. Everyone we encountered was friendly and eager to help. We were made to feel welcome and that nothing would be too much trouble for them. They are a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pisatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wick
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Upon driving towards this hotel we thought how lovely. However we were met with loads of cigarette butts all around the steps leading up to reception. It soon became clear that drinkers were coming out of the adjacent bar and flicking cigarette ends all over the area. Such a sad introduction to this hotel.
We decided to eat in Jocks bar, and after ordering our meal and 10 minutes later; we were informed they had run out of rice (felt like telling them that there was a CO-OP store open just 2 blocks down. We had little choice but to reorder....
Have to say that ALL the staff were lovely, and the room we had was very nice.
Our funny event of the evening was that the staff were just piling up dirty glasses all across the bar, must mean something. Oh yes there was a chap in a suit constantly hovering around, seemed to be checking on the staff??
At the end of the evening we asked to have our coffee in the very nice library,,,, after 20 minuets we had to ask again....... Next morning they ran out of eggs and bacon.......... we had to wait...... for more to be cooked..........

Room Tip: Rooms were very good, recently refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was our first visit to this hotel. What a wee gem. The room itself was massive. refurbished with a massive bed.We had dinner in the hotel and it was very good. reasonably priced aswell.
we used spa at the hotel and this was one of the highlights of the trip. Mark the spa manager was brilliant,. explaining everything nothing was too much trouble for him his smile and eagerness told us he loved his job. more hotels should employ staff like mark. We will be back

Room Tip: room 330. was massive . looked newly refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Lovely hotel with staff to match. Really enjoyed our weekend break with fabulous spa facilities. Mark the Spa Manager really went that extra mile to make sure we were made welcome. He really is an asset to the company. Dinner was fab and Sandra really goes out of her way to make you feel very welcome. Just love this hotel for relaxation and value for money. Recommended for a great break.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delboyandhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.1 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
757 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kinross
349 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kinross
24 reviews
20.1 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
8.7 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windlestrae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windlestrae Hotel

Property: Windlestrae Hotel
Address: Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windlestrae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windlestrae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windlestrae Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing