We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value - good food and great pool”
Review of Windlestrae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windlestrae Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Dunfermline
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value - good food and great pool”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Just leaving windlestrae after a short two night break with wife and child. Stayed in room 400 which had a lovely firm double bed and a single for child- and room was still big enough.

Had use of the great 20m pool which during late afternoon was quiet. Used the jocks bar in the Green hotel for food which was of good quality and decent service.

Stayed here quite a few times over the years and makes for a easy break in relaxing environment- good choice of eateries in the resort that cater for children through the day. Also great value very reasonable for what is on offer- highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bhunter1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    224
    110
    43
    32
See reviews for
86
258
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have just returned from a 3 night stay in the Wyndlestrae along with 9 other Lady golfers. We had a fantastic time, playing both courses at the hotel then travelling to Thornton on our 3rd day. The courses are very well established and the mature shrubs and trees lining the fairways give a secluded feeling, very relaxing. Food in every respect was of good quality and the breakfast selection was excellent. The club storage facility was particularly appreciated, not having to haul them upstairs or risk leaving them in the car. Staff very pleasant and welcoming. Prices very reasonable and rooms of a good standard, although very warm! We would certainly come back.

Room Tip: Ask about air con, we didnt have any and it was v warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alnwick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here in February and I wrote a glowing report. On the strength of that, we have booked 4 rooms in June for our family visiting from Australia.On our way home from Edinburgh Airport on May 18th, we stopped for a quick meal and went to the bar. No complaints about food or service but there was a large tear in one of the sofas and the exit door near the toilets is in a disgraceful state and badly needs painting. We knew that some areas of the hotel are a little tired but this was a big disappointment. The refurbishment of the bedrooms is excellent so hopefully these details will be dealt with soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A nice hotel and lovey rooms. Perfect for a quiet trip away. The spa facilities were great but you have to take your own robe. The restaurants in both hotels were good and not too pricey.
Breakfast was lovely and a great variety of food.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double room 203 which was nice but the view wasn't great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just returned from golfing weekend with friends. Good venue with 2 excellent courses to play on. Last time we stayed at the sister hotel, The Green. Both are good value, rooms comfortable and meals of good quality, especially dinner with wide choice to suit all tastes. This hotel is a popular venue for golfing parties so bar and restaurant can be busy and boisterous on occasions. However, still good for non-golfers interested in exploring that part of Central Scotland. Staff very helpful and the young lady in charge of the restaurant on our nights was particularly pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer block are advised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaytee41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A good hotel in a great location, the hotel is a lovely relaxing hotel, the room was spacious and clean, the breakfasts were excellent and the leisure centre is fantastic, lovely big pool
The hotel is set in lovely gardens and the golf gourse is only a 100 mts walk away

The town has lots to offer, walking trips, cycling, golf , lovely bars and great restaurants

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mellorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

a large group of noisy golfers where in room next to ours and across from us, kept us awake till 4 am, tried to phone night porter or secrurity but no one would answer had to confront then at 4 am on my own not nice, should not have to be doing this. in morning was told they knew about the golfers and had had complaintes but no one did any thing about them looks like this happens every weekend .

Room Tip: ask to avoid large groups of golfers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trixiesatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.1 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
767 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kinross
351 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kinross
27 reviews
20.1 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
8.7 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windlestrae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windlestrae Hotel

Property: Windlestrae Hotel
Address: Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windlestrae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Windlestrae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windlestrae Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing