We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Windlestrae Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Muirs Inn(Kinross)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Coach House Inn(Glenrothes)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmule House(Dunfermline)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveller rating
142
234
117
48
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
234
117
48
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitiessteam roomswimming poolspa treatmentssister hotelbeauty roomacross the roadpool tablegolfing weekendrelaxing breakbit datedsome tlcjocks barbuffet breakfastwaiting staffcouldn't faultgroupon voucher
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 578 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

A spacious older hotel, with lots of things to offer in a town that seems a bit of a golfers holiday place. Between this hotel & it's sister"Green Hotel" over the road, we had a once main meal at one & a great desert at the other. Room was a good size, bed a little hard for my liking, but no road noise as it is way back from the road. Excellent breakfast was included & the staff were great. Wifi didn't work in our room as the signal is pretty weak, but it worked in the common areas okay. It was free too.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank oldskool1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband and I are just back from 3dayd there we have stayed at the green hotel 2times before but 1st at windelstrae we normay take 1 dog but this time took our 3dogs (2small 1medium) some of the staff were from the greens so was nice to be greated by them. The room we were given was ideal out of the road but not to far from outside. The staff are so friendly and help full no mater what you need they will find it or help you. Breakfaffst staff and food execellant. They even put a bag of biscuits in the room for the dogs. What a lovely gesture. Even when we went for something to eat they offered to check on dogs if we were worried about them. we would certainly go back there again and recommend them to other friends. And famile .We need a relaxing and hassle free break. And that is certainly what we got. Thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just returned from a 3 day golfing weekend and was pleasantly surprised. I found the room I had very modern,clean and had everything you could want,large tv on the wall,tea and coffee,nice size bath and overall a very nice room. I could not fault any of the staff. All were very pleasant and could not help enough. Again I found the food at breakfast very acceptable with plenty of food to choose from. We ate at the Italian restaurant and jocks bar in the evening and could not fault the quality of the food or the service. For all you golfers I would recommend a stay here. We got a great deal with hotel golf and evening meal which cost about £240. This included 4 rounds of golf,3 nights bed breakfast and evening meals. Each evening meal was to the value of £20. Great value in my opinion

Room Tip: Stayed in room 210. Good size and modern and very quiet
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kuga10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenManager, Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent golfing trip. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and golf with us. Lyn our Golf Sales Executive will be in touch soon to get you booked in for 2015 (or for later on this year?) Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I originally wanted to stay at the green hotel, but it was fully booked and they gave me 2 nights in the windlestrae,
I was not keen as having stayed there before as part of a golfing party (12 guys) we had all decided not to return to this hotel because of poor service and bad food. But with nowhere else to go thought I would give it another go.
Arrived at reception only to wait 15 minutes to be checked in. Ok there was a queue 3 guys in front of me. But couldn't the receptionist have called for some help. There was another 3 guys behind me and they only wanted their room keys. The harassed receptionist did apologise for my wait, but try and make it convincing the next time. I was then checked in only to be sent in the wrong direction to my room. When I pointed this out to her, she told me I should have gone through a door marked private!!!!!
Food that night was not good. Chicken dry and tasteless. ( if you do have to stay here there is a great Indian 10 minute walk into town.)
On a plus the apart from the grumpy receptionist the rest of the staff were very nice. The rooms are good for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Having stayed at The sister Green Hotel we gave this a whirl .. Lots of positives ... large clean rooms ...relaxing gardens ...generally pleasant staff and given its a wee bit cheaper than across the road would have received high mark if not for the breakfast experience . Staff were two young girls. No welcome ... no enquiry if we wanted tea' /coffee ... no introduction to the buffet lay out or what was on offer (nothing much as it turned out) . The hot trays were half empty .. no eggs ..people waiting .. no yoghurts and lots of plates devoid of food ... at 9 am . We had to ask for coffee and the staff were too involved in clearing up .... and chatting to concern themselves with guests!!! ... A very poor example of Scottish hospitality and it would not have taken much for someone to sort out... Still ,overall it was a good experience and it was only the breakfast that let them down

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bowserd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews