We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor stay”
Review of The Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Green Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“poor stay”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Hi was given this 1 night break as a xmas gift. Booked 03.01.2013. Reception check in went well was informed that a bottle of wine would be sent up to our room. We unpacked and went over to leisure centre which was very nice but Sauna was faulty. Went back for a snack at bar, the table we sat at had just been wiped with a cloth as soon as it dried it was really sticky. Ordered drinks when they came brought Irn Bru instead of Diet not a big deal you may say but i am diabetic. Took food order and it came very quick, food was top class 5***** to the chef and there team. We went to our room only to find still no wine in room so called reception and they said they will get this to us asap this was at 5pm. We went for dinner at 7.15pm and was greeted and shown to table by the hostess for the evening, was given TDH menu which had 4 main course selection only to be told the Sea bass was off and red mullet as a replacement, we then heard this to every party that arrived, I thought it would have been better to add a new menu for the one evening it was only a sheet of paper. Dinner was again 5***** we ordered coffee to the lounge only for them to forget it waited 15 minutes and then asked the bar if it was coming. We retired to our room around 10.30 only to find still no wine again called down reception, again told the same thing. To no avail. We were awoken around 6am with a lot of glasses being gathered from the night before which were left in corridor following a busy night before. The room was spacious but could have done with a good hoover and in 2013 netting curtains which were torn and dirty looking, we were in room 35, we had a nice breakfast again food 5*****, we checked out and told them about our issue with not receiving the wine which was ordered at time of booking, we were told to wait and she would arrange this for us now, we waited 15-20 minutes for this to arrive no apologies or anything else said. They also had another complaint re dirty coffee cups while we were waiting.

Room Tip: We only stayed in room 35 very spacious not much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamie260960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    310
    118
    72
    32
See reviews for
101
398
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Spent 2 nights at hotel.
Room was spacious and pleasant. Staff were friendly and afficient. Food was fine.
Very reasonably priced. (we had purchased a groupon voucher deal) Other deals were available at the hotel.
Nice and clean.
Thank you

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilder3wj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Saw a lovely offer for £60pp for a dinner, b&b and spa treatment deal and decided to go for it especially as The Green Hotel is rated 4 stars.

The room: This was my favourite part of the stay as the room was lovely, spacious, nice flat screen TV on a table right in front of the bed. Most of the main freeview channels. However I would have expected something more than a handsoap, two bottles of shampoo, a shower cap and moisturiser. A girl needs conditioner and shower gel, what about some toothpaste? Also found quite a few hairs in bathroom which wasn't pleasant.

The hotel: The outside was quite confusing as they seem to have a new logo which looks quite cheap but I was expecting a sign to be how it looks on their website. It looks like quite an old establishment but it's nice what they have done with it. Staff are very friendly and approachable.

The meal: We dined at 'Basil's' which looked really nice from outside and as we checked in, we were told it was fully booked except for late so we opted for an 8:30pm table booking. It must be good if it's fully booked right? Wrong, we were sat down by a lovely staff member and told we would have our order and drink options taken soon, after quite a while and having chosen what we want to eat, little chat, noone came. I had to ask a staff member who was clearing a table if we could order drinks, or at least get a bottle of water. He said he would get someone for us and after a little while, she came and took our food and drink orders and our water came. Our starters came but still no drink, and after a while I asked if they were coming, he went to check and came back to say that it was just being 'made'. After finishing our starters and sitting for a while, our drinks arrived just to find that our rum and coke is actually just rum in a glass and a can of coke.. How it takes a while to 'make' a glass and a can, I don't quite understand. The food seemed to come quick enough but drinks may not be what I would go for. Glad we opted not to pop to the bar for some drinks before the meal, we may have never got to the meal in time.

The spa: Lovely treatment however it smelt quite fishy by the door whilst we waited to be called in. I assume because of the fish pedicure inside.

The health & leisure facilities: Lovely staff and only used the pool, stream room and jacuzzi. The sauna was out of order sadly and it was a bit busy but still enjoyable. Supplied towel but there was no shampoo/shower gel and the hair dryer was awful and barely dried my hair.

The breakfast: Awful, just awful. Lack of options and it was just horrible. Warm orange juice and left still being hungry.

I would come back but avoid the food and just have a spa day and nights sleep. Also wish it was more clear where the spa and health facilities would be as none of the leaflets given to us told us and we had to ask to find out, it's across the road.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMY_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

Staff were first class with service. Food was brilliant and I am very fussy. Spa treatment fantastic cannot fault this break apart from creaky floorboards but these things happen. Owners of this establishment should be very proud of their staff. Would totally recommend this hotel and sister hotel.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Catke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Just returned from a family 3 day Hogmanay break at the Green Hotel.
Comfortable hotel, lots of nice areas to sit and chat, and pleasant friendly staff. On New Years Eve we opted for the 7 course Gala Dinner in Basil's restaurant which was excellent - food was well presented and tasted great - a really enjoyable evening. Most of the other guests opted for the Dinner/Ceilidh at the Windlestrae which from the reports we heard was also excellent. .
In general all the meals were of a high standard.
A lot cheaper than many other Hogmanay packages I looked at and I would say excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alijoy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We visited The Green Hotel with a couple of friends yesterday afternoon for coffee/tea, after a walk by Loch Leven. We found seats for four in the sitting room amongst other groups who were already enjoying tea, and all indications were that someone would come round to take our order. Having sat for around 15 minutes with no staff present, two of us walked to Reception to enquire how best to make our order, to be advised this had to be done at the bar. Having stood at the bar for over 5 minutes to watch the only barman serving everyone but ourselves, I took the opportunity to ask a member of staff who had just completed a credit card transaction for a bar meal, how we could order our coffee/teas. He asked where we were sitting, and told us someone would come through to find us. On returning to the lounge and sitting for a further 15 minutes (as we patient Brits do), with the exception of two waitresses who asked if the order they were carrying was for us (which neither was - they hadn't a clue) my chum in frustration returned to the bar again to ask what was happening. During a further 5 minute stand, the chap who had earlier advised us to return to the lounge appeared, but very quickly disappeared before any contact could be made (as if he was hiding), so again - more frustration. Alan managed to find someone in the bar who after all this time, finally took our order, and he returned to join us in the lounge. After a further 15-20 minutes of seeing no-one, we gave up, and decided to leave the hotel in total disbelief that such a well known establishment could not organise a simple couple of afternoon teas and coffee, even after all our efforts in line with staff instructions.

Having sat for almost an hour, the cold empty pot of coffee, cups and plates from a previous group were still on our table, with no attempt from staff to clear this away, or ask if we were being served. The only good news is we enjoyed our chat in comfortable chairs and a warm enviroment, though the afternoon could have been so much more enjoyable had we managed to sip cups of tea/coffee, which of course was the reason we visited the hotel in the first place. It appeared nobody was in charge of managing the bar, linked to customers within the lounge area, which led to a fruitless vist. So, if you are looking for a warming cup of tea some cold afternoon the the future, if time is a consideration, I suggest you avoid The Green Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graeme m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on the three night Christmas package. The food throughout our stay was of a very high quality and plenty of it. The staff were very pleasant and even though they had to work on Christmas day they were all very cheery. We had room 5 on the ground floor which was spacious with good facilities with the exception of an adequate amount of flat pin sockets. The ones they had were of the old round pin type. The hotel also advertises wifi but we could only get online while sitting at reception. Would definitely return.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christineboyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.1 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kinross
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
12.0 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
20.1 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kinross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Hotel

Property: The Green Hotel
Address: 2 Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Hotel Golf & Leisure Resort has the benefit of 2 hotels which are located across the road from each other - The Green Hotel and the Windlestrae Hotel with our golf courses right on our doorstep. Our Resort, with two parkland golf courses, the Bruce & the Montgomery, 3 restaurants, leisure & spa which has a 20m indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna and the Boathouse on Loch Leven. Alternatively try fishing on Loch Leven, a boat trip to Castle Island or walk along the Natural Trail. Afterwards relax in our Jock's bar with a tasty dinner or a glass of chilled wine and watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Hotel Kinross
The Green Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing