We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Green Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Was a bit of a last minute booking as we had been given tickets for a gig at the Backstage by a friend who could not attend. Being a Friday we didn't fancy leaving work, going to the gig and then driving home again so enquired about a room.

After a prompt and polite check in we were given room 39 which was very spacious and had everything we could need and also an extremely comfortable bed.

We had something to eat in Jocks bar which is part of the hotel. The food was excellent and the service swift despite it being quite busy with locals who filled the other tables. There is also another restaurant available and two others in the sister hotel across the road so plenty of choice.

The gig was well attended and hats off to Mundell Music who organise these events. It was really good to go for a night cap before climbing up the stairs and relax in our cosy room. There was no other noise from the hotel so a very good nights sleep ensued.

The only one slight fault i found was the shower was a little lacking in pressure but there was plenty of hot water so no real grumbles.

The breakfast is buffet style with a good choice of cereals, juices, fruit, cold meats, cheese etc and also hot food which was still piping hot despite us arriving near the end of service. Plenty of tea, coffee and toast was available from the friendly and helpful staff.

The cost was very reasonable and we have paid a lot more for hotels that no where near match the standard of The Green. If we ever have cause to return to Kinross we shall not hesitate to book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Our room looked onto the garden/courtyard and was very quiet. Possibly rooms looking onto the main r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drumdmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    303
    117
    72
    32
See reviews for
98
387
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braemar
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

We spent two nights at the Green Hotel in Kinross. What a charming place. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful at all times. The rooms were very spacious, clean, comfortable and with all the little details...soap, shampoo, tea, coffee, freely available. There were several restaurants to choose from. We ate in Jock's Bar one night and the Basil Restaurant the next. Both served tasty, generous meals, good variety of choices, pleasant efficient staff and more than reasonable prices. Breakfast choices were excellent, lots of fruit, a variety of cereals, yoghurts, continental choices of ham, cheese etc, plus a full Scottish breakfast buffet. We'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed overnight for Hogmany to attend the gig at the Backstage venue in the Hotel and had a great time. We ate in Jocks bar and had a very good meal with prompt friendly service. We expected the Hotel to be really busy and noisy as we knew that there was a ceilidh
organised but it turned out to be in the Windelstrae across the road so the hotel was really quiet which suited us fine. This was our second stay here so we knew what to expect and were not disappointed. Same friendly service comfortable room and good food. Having read some of the more negative reviews I have concluded that if the hotel itself is the purpose of your trip then you may be a bit disappointed as it is in need of refurbishment but if you have another purpose for your trip such as a gig at backstage then the hotel is perfect as overnight accommodation

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ethrell2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Hi was given this 1 night break as a xmas gift. Booked 03.01.2013. Reception check in went well was informed that a bottle of wine would be sent up to our room. We unpacked and went over to leisure centre which was very nice but Sauna was faulty. Went back for a snack at bar, the table we sat at had just been wiped with a cloth as soon as it dried it was really sticky. Ordered drinks when they came brought Irn Bru instead of Diet not a big deal you may say but i am diabetic. Took food order and it came very quick, food was top class 5***** to the chef and there team. We went to our room only to find still no wine in room so called reception and they said they will get this to us asap this was at 5pm. We went for dinner at 7.15pm and was greeted and shown to table by the hostess for the evening, was given TDH menu which had 4 main course selection only to be told the Sea bass was off and red mullet as a replacement, we then heard this to every party that arrived, I thought it would have been better to add a new menu for the one evening it was only a sheet of paper. Dinner was again 5***** we ordered coffee to the lounge only for them to forget it waited 15 minutes and then asked the bar if it was coming. We retired to our room around 10.30 only to find still no wine again called down reception, again told the same thing. To no avail. We were awoken around 6am with a lot of glasses being gathered from the night before which were left in corridor following a busy night before. The room was spacious but could have done with a good hoover and in 2013 netting curtains which were torn and dirty looking, we were in room 35, we had a nice breakfast again food 5*****, we checked out and told them about our issue with not receiving the wine which was ordered at time of booking, we were told to wait and she would arrange this for us now, we waited 15-20 minutes for this to arrive no apologies or anything else said. They also had another complaint re dirty coffee cups while we were waiting.

Room Tip: We only stayed in room 35 very spacious not much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamie260960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Spent 2 nights at hotel.
Room was spacious and pleasant. Staff were friendly and afficient. Food was fine.
Very reasonably priced. (we had purchased a groupon voucher deal) Other deals were available at the hotel.
Nice and clean.
Thank you

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilder3wj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Saw a lovely offer for £60pp for a dinner, b&b and spa treatment deal and decided to go for it especially as The Green Hotel is rated 4 stars.

The room: This was my favourite part of the stay as the room was lovely, spacious, nice flat screen TV on a table right in front of the bed. Most of the main freeview channels. However I would have expected something more than a handsoap, two bottles of shampoo, a shower cap and moisturiser. A girl needs conditioner and shower gel, what about some toothpaste? Also found quite a few hairs in bathroom which wasn't pleasant.

The hotel: The outside was quite confusing as they seem to have a new logo which looks quite cheap but I was expecting a sign to be how it looks on their website. It looks like quite an old establishment but it's nice what they have done with it. Staff are very friendly and approachable.

The meal: We dined at 'Basil's' which looked really nice from outside and as we checked in, we were told it was fully booked except for late so we opted for an 8:30pm table booking. It must be good if it's fully booked right? Wrong, we were sat down by a lovely staff member and told we would have our order and drink options taken soon, after quite a while and having chosen what we want to eat, little chat, noone came. I had to ask a staff member who was clearing a table if we could order drinks, or at least get a bottle of water. He said he would get someone for us and after a little while, she came and took our food and drink orders and our water came. Our starters came but still no drink, and after a while I asked if they were coming, he went to check and came back to say that it was just being 'made'. After finishing our starters and sitting for a while, our drinks arrived just to find that our rum and coke is actually just rum in a glass and a can of coke.. How it takes a while to 'make' a glass and a can, I don't quite understand. The food seemed to come quick enough but drinks may not be what I would go for. Glad we opted not to pop to the bar for some drinks before the meal, we may have never got to the meal in time.

The spa: Lovely treatment however it smelt quite fishy by the door whilst we waited to be called in. I assume because of the fish pedicure inside.

The health & leisure facilities: Lovely staff and only used the pool, stream room and jacuzzi. The sauna was out of order sadly and it was a bit busy but still enjoyable. Supplied towel but there was no shampoo/shower gel and the hair dryer was awful and barely dried my hair.

The breakfast: Awful, just awful. Lack of options and it was just horrible. Warm orange juice and left still being hungry.

I would come back but avoid the food and just have a spa day and nights sleep. Also wish it was more clear where the spa and health facilities would be as none of the leaflets given to us told us and we had to ask to find out, it's across the road.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMY_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

Staff were first class with service. Food was brilliant and I am very fussy. Spa treatment fantastic cannot fault this break apart from creaky floorboards but these things happen. Owners of this establishment should be very proud of their staff. Would totally recommend this hotel and sister hotel.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Catke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.2 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kinross
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
12.0 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
20.1 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Balgeddie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Hotel

Property: The Green Hotel
Address: 2 Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Hotel Golf & Leisure Resort has the benefit of 2 hotels which are located across the road from each other - The Green Hotel and the Windlestrae Hotel with our golf courses right on our doorstep. Our Resort, with two parkland golf courses, the Bruce & the Montgomery, 3 restaurants, leisure & spa which has a 20m indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna and the Boathouse on Loch Leven. Alternatively try fishing on Loch Leven, a boat trip to Castle Island or walk along the Natural Trail. Afterwards relax in our Jock's bar with a tasty dinner or a glass of chilled wine and watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Hotel Kinross
The Green Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing