We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar lunch”
Review of The Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Green Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Stopped off for bar lunch and it was very disapointing ordered scampi, 8 over cooked pieces of scampi and lots of peas and chips for £8.95 . Service was ok and bar was nice, was not asked how the meal was which is a first ! Over priced , won't be back

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Deryck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

My wife and I have just retuned from a short break at the Green Hotel (We were celebrating a special anniversary).This hotel came highly rated by Trip Advisor and we were not in the least disappointed. Our room was large and very comortable,Staff were excellent,but I think that the best part of our break was dining in Basil's restaurant,where the Staff went out of their way to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. The jewel in the crown at Basil's has to be the Head waiter whose attention to us was truly impeccable.....The food served in Basil's and food from the menu at Jock's Bar was of the best.we have eaten and just completed our break.I would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel.It definately deserves its Rating.

Room Tip: We were in room 18 which was spacious,top marks for cleanliness,and an extremely comfortabe double b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewRenfrewshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel when the hotel we booked had made an error with our booking. The staff were very friendly and we were greeted with excellent customer service.
The rooms were very big and very clean with tea and coffee making facilities.
There were a choice of eating places from bar meals to a sit down restaurant and also room service.
There were leisure facilities a shop and games rooms/quiet rooms and bars within the complex.
All staff we encountered throughout the whole of our stay were courteous and always had a smile which was lovely.

Would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be of the same standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murray192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

just back, had short break for my wife turning 50, staff were superb, couldn't do enough,food was great everywhere but especially in Basil's....head waiter was great, but so was everyone..wife,son and friend went over sister hotel for swim and were given guided tour...they too were so impressed,we upgraded to room with 4 poster bed....room very big,if you are thinking about booking it...do it..assure you...you won't be disappointed....p.s. don't for one minute believe Dylan's review.....something wrong there....competitor maybe..???

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flecky24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenManager, Manager at The Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are delighted to hear your feedback and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Went for a couple of nights as a surprise for friends 50th. Staff absolutely fantastic especially in Basil's but all were great. Food excellent in Jock's bar and nothing fawlty about Basil's. Would recommend both. Hotel a bit dated but don't let it put you off we'll be going back!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat-g75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenManager, Manager at The Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent stay. It is very much appreciated and has been passed on to the relevant teams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We were going to be on our own at Christmas, so my husband suggested that we should go to a hotel for 3 days from Christmas Eve. We chose the Green Hotel in Kinross, where we could share the facilities of the sister Hotel the Windlestrae nearby.
We were very impressed with all the friendly staff, who worked hard to make sure that we enjoyed our stay with them. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
The food was very good on the whole. Our only slightly disappointment was the main course on Christmas Day. All the other courses were excellent. I missed the home-cooked & carved turkey.
We enjoyed a lovely circular walk on Boxing Day to Loch Leven & back.
Our family called us on Skype which was lovely.
All in all we had a lovely 3 days away & will probably try this holiday again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenManager, Manager at The Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your Christmas experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourself with us. We are sorry to learn that the Turkey let the meal down and have passed your comments on to the Chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

4 of us went to Jock's Bar for lunch on New Year Eve. It has a good reputation locally for good food.. It has a good menu. We were not disappointed and we all enjoyed our well cooked meal. The one slight complaint was that the portions we rather small. The staff were efficient and friendly and we will definitely return

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenManager, Manager at The Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback concerning your recent lunch with us. We are pleased to hear that you will return to us and have passed on your comments to the Chef concerning the portion size.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.1 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kinross
361 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kinross
32 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Hotel

Address: 2 Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range: £50 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Hotel Golf & Leisure Resort has the benefit of 2 hotels which are located across the road from each other - The Green Hotel and the Windlestrae Hotel with our golf courses right on our doorstep. Our Resort, with two parkland golf courses, the Bruce & the Montgomery, 3 restaurants, leisure & spa which has a 20m indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna and the Boathouse on Loch Leven. Alternatively try fishing on Loch Leven, a boat trip to Castle Island or walk along the Natural Trail. Afterwards relax in our Jock's bar with a tasty dinner or a glass of chilled wine and watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Hotel Kinross
The Green Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing