We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs refurbished badly.”
Review of The Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Green Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
“Needs refurbished badly.”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I booked on 5pm.co,uk and paid £85 for bed, breakfast, a three course meal and wine in our room. When we drove up to the hotel we were very surprised! The official website for the hotel has very cleverly portrayed the hotel as a country club style retreat, with beautiful pictures of greenery and countryside. However the actual location is in the middle of a small town on a busy high street road.

Receptionist was very friendly and the down stairs of the hotel looked lovely and cosy. When we entered our room we were again disappointed by the general standards of decor and furnishings. The bedding didn't fit the bed (a double duvet was lost inside a king size duvet cover), there was no wine in our room (as was included in our deal) and the bathroom was mouldy and in terrible need of new tiles and suite.

The receptionist was very helpful and had our bedding sorted (a correct cover put on duvet, which was a double so not wide enough for large bed) and had our wine put in. We then ventured over to the spa and leisure club and were sad to see the continuation of run down decor here too. The pool itself was pleasant and had a nice jacuzzi. The sauna and steam room however, were very run down with peeling paint, old stained seats and a distinct lack of steam!

The saving grace to our night away was the three course dinner at one of the hotel's restaurants, Basil's. The little restaurant is very fresh and well decorated, with great staff who were very attentive and pleasant. The food was absolutely gorgeous! The dessert of sticky toffee pudding was particularly delicious! :) And we had a lovely coffee in the comfy lounge area afterwards. The only thing I could say that could do with a wee bit of improvement was the rate at which old coffee and tea cups in the lounge, were cleared away. Breakfast in the morning was good too with plenty of choice between cooked and continental. However, the cooked food was slow to be topped up so my husband didn't get to taste some of the cooked options e.g. black pudding and beans.

My husband had I had a terrible night's sleep in the bed which had a very old and lumpy mattress and lumpy pillows which left you scared to move once you'd found a small space to lie on that was bearable. The only reason I wasn't awake due to being cold was that the housemaid had kindly added a blanket over the top of our small duvet.

Generally, I was disappointed the with room standard but would be back in a heartbeat to sample the lovely food and fair priced drinks :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RES1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    311
    120
    74
    32
See reviews for
101
401
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Staff very friendly and food good! However our room was not looking at its best! Curtains all torn at bottom, carpet had several stains and cups not clean. No sleep from approx 430am due to noise from pipe work from toilets flushing to showers ! There are dogs allowed which is noisy too when owners leave them in room. When mentioned at reception in morning, it was a case of , oh we will look into it! Ye!! Would not recommend if your looking for a nice lie in away from kids ! Room 19 to be exact stay away from that side , maybe you can get a long lie at the opposite end! Not for me though!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The first time at this hotel and to say I was surprised and impressed is probably an understatement. From first arrival to our departure we were treated as good as anyone would want . The rooms were massive and the food and facilities were very high standard and quality

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a package deal, 3 rounds of golf/ bed/ breakfast/ dinner. Outstanding does not do it justice. The staff were outstanding, making me feel welcome. The room was spacious and comfortable.

The restaurant was fantastic, they even catered for my Gluten Allergy. Well cooked food, outstanding service.

Breakfast had a large selection on offer, they even has gluten free bread available to toast. Hot selection regularly refreshed from the kitchen. Wide continental selection available. Personal pots of jam on the table, changed with each guest.

Stunning!

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We received a Christmas gift of a night away at the Green Hotel so we had never stayed before . we received a warm and friendly welcome telling us all we needed to know and our bags were taken to our lovely , spacious room. The hotels decor is light and elegant styled with a country cottage feel , warm and welcoming which is a pleasant surprise to a lot of hotels who do similar colours and with little or no thought to atmosphere. The restaurant Basil's , is a treat, and I can honestly say one of the best meals we have had especially the risotto and my husband adored the steak.The staff were so friendly and on the ball so we were well looked after. There is no pool but there is a sister hotel across the road whose pool is available to use . We had a lovely stay and will be back soon!

Room Tip: I don't think there's a lift in the hotel so if you have lots of bags ask for a ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkilyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is one of those places where the Staff makes the difference-and well done! Good food with provisioning for vegetarians and gluten free requests. All meals with generous proportions. Elegant and comfortable public areas and lounges. Great heated pool for guests. Staff willing and able to assist-and make your stay more comfortable. Good pub. Nice wee shop in the hotel.

I hesitate saying this but our room was tired: very stained rug, scratchy thin towels in the bath-and the beds are REALLY hard. Bed was two twins pushed together. Upholstered chair in our room had a huge slash in it. The room was spacious and well lit in the evening. Rooms could also benefit with new flooring and with an (empty) small refrigerator for guests. If the rooms were refreshed, then it would make for a huge difference.

We are planning to go back.

Room Tip: There are two hotels with this Hotel Business so make sure of which one you book into. The rooms fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is the third time I have stayed in the Green Hotel in the past 12 months and there standards only seen to get better each time. The rooms are large, bright, warm and exceptionally clean, I would put the restaurant on line with many 5 star hotels I have stayed in and the staff all are a complement to the management, exceptionally polite, helpful and presented.

Well done Green very impressed will be back.

Room Tip: I have stayed in three different areas of the hotel and found all the rooms very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.1 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kinross
345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kinross
24 reviews
20.1 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
The Famous Bein Inn
The Famous Bein Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenfarg
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Hotel

Property: The Green Hotel
Address: 2 Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Hotel Golf & Leisure Resort has the benefit of 2 hotels which are located across the road from each other - The Green Hotel and the Windlestrae Hotel with our golf courses right on our doorstep. Our Resort, with two parkland golf courses, the Bruce & the Montgomery, 3 restaurants, leisure & spa which has a 20m indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna and the Boathouse on Loch Leven. Alternatively try fishing on Loch Leven, a boat trip to Castle Island or walk along the Natural Trail. Afterwards relax in our Jock's bar with a tasty dinner or a glass of chilled wine and watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Hotel Kinross
The Green Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing