We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Green Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just back from a two night stay very disappointing,rooms in need of repair and a good clean.The bathroom tiles where mouldy and the bath dirty all in need of a good make over. Been to this hotel before a few years ago and had a lovely time the place was clean and well maintained so it was a shame to visit and see it so run down.The food left a lot to be desired,i certainly would not call it fine dining in Basils Restaurant the food wasn't nice and the place lacked any atmosphere even the breakfast was disgusting.However the staff where very pleasant,polite and helpful which was a plus we wont be back unless there is huge improvements made to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly9021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    305
    118
    71
    32
See reviews for
100
393
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed at the Green last week and had a lovely stay. Agree with others about the bedding, quilt a bit lumpy. Leisure facilities very good. Food lovely , again agree that breakfast not replenished very well. I would go back, staff lovely and a nice area.
went to see a band which was good but very few people attended which was a shame as they were very good. Grounds lovely.
I think overall it was a good break and the price we paid was excellent so I would definately return.

Room Tip: We were in room 18 which was at the middle of the corridor. A nice position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evangeline44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balfron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Picked up a two night stay at the end of February for £20.50 per person per night including good breakfast. Paid extra for excellent service and bar meal in Jock's bar but were disappointed with poor service in Basil's Restaurant on our second night. We were in the modern extension where the bedrooms are large with good bathrooms and our room had no problems with nice decoration and furnishings.
The Green Hotel is run with The Windlestrae Hotel across the road where B&B rates were even cheaper at £72 for 2people, 2nights (instead of £82). Two 18 hole golf courses are still part of the set up but the 4 sheet curling rink is now separately run.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHB711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My partner and I stayed here last year and had a very enjoyable stay. We stayed again last weekend, but standards seem to have slipped somewhat. The room was lovely, clean and exactly what we expected. Dinner on the Friday night in Basils Restaurant was busy but the staff were pleasant and attentive. The food was also very good. We then decided to book Basils for a second night. The Saturday dining experience was completely different and not ''fine dining'' at all. We felt the experience was rushed, impersonal and we were even made to get our own coffee from the lounge. This resembled the self service coffee I encountered at a work meeting during the week at a Holiday Inn!!! (This again was different to the coffee being served to us at our table on the Fri night). The younger staff that served our dinner were very polite and helpful. The breakfast both mornings was enjoyable and the staff couldn't do enough for us. We used the leisure facilities and like the year before were very good and clean.
Overall, our stay was good but let down by Saturday's dinner. Doubt we will return.

Room Tip: Rooms with view of fountain are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I booked on 5pm.co,uk and paid £85 for bed, breakfast, a three course meal and wine in our room. When we drove up to the hotel we were very surprised! The official website for the hotel has very cleverly portrayed the hotel as a country club style retreat, with beautiful pictures of greenery and countryside. However the actual location is in the middle of a small town on a busy high street road.

Receptionist was very friendly and the down stairs of the hotel looked lovely and cosy. When we entered our room we were again disappointed by the general standards of decor and furnishings. The bedding didn't fit the bed (a double duvet was lost inside a king size duvet cover), there was no wine in our room (as was included in our deal) and the bathroom was mouldy and in terrible need of new tiles and suite.

The receptionist was very helpful and had our bedding sorted (a correct cover put on duvet, which was a double so not wide enough for large bed) and had our wine put in. We then ventured over to the spa and leisure club and were sad to see the continuation of run down decor here too. The pool itself was pleasant and had a nice jacuzzi. The sauna and steam room however, were very run down with peeling paint, old stained seats and a distinct lack of steam!

The saving grace to our night away was the three course dinner at one of the hotel's restaurants, Basil's. The little restaurant is very fresh and well decorated, with great staff who were very attentive and pleasant. The food was absolutely gorgeous! The dessert of sticky toffee pudding was particularly delicious! :) And we had a lovely coffee in the comfy lounge area afterwards. The only thing I could say that could do with a wee bit of improvement was the rate at which old coffee and tea cups in the lounge, were cleared away. Breakfast in the morning was good too with plenty of choice between cooked and continental. However, the cooked food was slow to be topped up so my husband didn't get to taste some of the cooked options e.g. black pudding and beans.

My husband had I had a terrible night's sleep in the bed which had a very old and lumpy mattress and lumpy pillows which left you scared to move once you'd found a small space to lie on that was bearable. The only reason I wasn't awake due to being cold was that the housemaid had kindly added a blanket over the top of our small duvet.

Generally, I was disappointed the with room standard but would be back in a heartbeat to sample the lovely food and fair priced drinks :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RES1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Staff very friendly and food good! However our room was not looking at its best! Curtains all torn at bottom, carpet had several stains and cups not clean. No sleep from approx 430am due to noise from pipe work from toilets flushing to showers ! There are dogs allowed which is noisy too when owners leave them in room. When mentioned at reception in morning, it was a case of , oh we will look into it! Ye!! Would not recommend if your looking for a nice lie in away from kids ! Room 19 to be exact stay away from that side , maybe you can get a long lie at the opposite end! Not for me though!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The first time at this hotel and to say I was surprised and impressed is probably an understatement. From first arrival to our departure we were treated as good as anyone would want . The rooms were massive and the food and facilities were very high standard and quality

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.1 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kinross
337 reviews
12.0 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
722 reviews
20.1 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Hotel

Property: The Green Hotel
Address: 2 Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Hotel Golf & Leisure Resort has the benefit of 2 hotels which are located across the road from each other - The Green Hotel and the Windlestrae Hotel with our golf courses right on our doorstep. Our Resort, with two parkland golf courses, the Bruce & the Montgomery, 3 restaurants, leisure & spa which has a 20m indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna and the Boathouse on Loch Leven. Alternatively try fishing on Loch Leven, a boat trip to Castle Island or walk along the Natural Trail. Afterwards relax in our Jock's bar with a tasty dinner or a glass of chilled wine and watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Hotel Kinross
The Green Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing