We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit let down this time!!”
Review of The Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Green Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

After being at this hotel on numerous occasions, I felt really let down by the changes this time. Firstly on arrival we got the wrong room given to us. (The kids beds were missing,) I had to go back to reception an hour after checking in to see what was happening and basically saw myself that we had been given the wrong room. Beds were really uncomfortable and there was no extra pillows in our room. Kids bunk beds squeaked with every movement they had, usually we get a family room with single beds (we paid the same this time as last so not sure why this happened).

Breakfast rules had changed from previous visits, now we had to make our own toast, which involved us waiting in line, which is not what we expected. The choice of food was same as normal, although like another reviewer said fresh food was put on top of old food, and was greasy.

We went into Jocks bar for dinner and waited an hour for the main course to come. We got two excuses from staff as to why there was the delay, one that it was a new chef and he had been chucked into the deep end and another to say that only one frier was working. We also heard the bar staff using foul language which is unacceptable when you are sitting a few feet away from the bar with a five year old.

We used the facilities in the Windlestrae which is only five minutes away, but the pool is in serious need of sorting, there are tiles missing off the bottom and little stones are coming away from it and my daughter complained about having something jag her feet more than once.

When we checked out the girl behind the counter just asked if we were checking out fro behind the second desk and said, ok that's fine, just leave the key there. So unprofessional.

Honestly we felt so let down this time and I have started looking at other hotels to go to in the future. Sorry but really disappointed this visit.....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (803)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 803 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here an Sunday 13th April,really enjoyed it.food good, room huge and clean and had plenty of toiletries available.We did not use the spa at their sister hotel so can't comment on that.staff are friendly and happy to help.would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happychick2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was our third stay at the hotel and will probably be our last. We have seen it steadily deteriorate over the past 2 years. The notable exception to this was the front of house staff who were always polite and eager to try and help. But they are let down by obvious deficiencies in process and procedure that should be second nature to a hotelier business and this can only be attributed to a failure of leadership and ownership from senior management. The problems started at check-in when the hotel could not provide us with a ground floor room even although we had specifically requested one at the time of booking (although the girl taking the booking said it was only her second day and 'she wasn't really sure what she was doing'). My wife uses a scooter for mobility and as the hotel doesn't have a lift we were close to having to find another hotel. The solution the hotel found was to eject two guests from their twin room (we had requested a double) on the ground floor (upgrading them) and giving us their room. It turns out that this room (No.47) is a sort of 'overflow' room and its quality leaves a lot to be desired. Circa 1970s heavy wooden furniture, tired bathroom and exceptionally noisy being next to staff cleaning cupboards and a busy corridor. A good nights sleep was not forthcoming. We ate in the attached 'Jocks Bar'. The food was acceptable but the staff were under obvious pressure. The lady charged with seating guests was a little brusque possibly due to the fact that a reservation for six people at 18:30 (which had been made through the Green Hotel several days previously) had only just made its way to her at 18:15. After our meal I went to one of the small bars and ordered a drink. After searching the bar for a few minutes the girl advised me that "she didn't normally work behind this bar" and would go to another bar to get the drink. This she did and when I gave her the money to pay she said she didn't know how to work the cash till and so off she went to the other bar to get my change. Later on in the evening I found myself at a different bar, different girl but same excuse "I don't normally work behind this bar" when she couldn't find the drink I wanted (it was Tia Maria...nothing too exotic or unusual!). I also ordered a pint of beer which came out the pump so slowly and looked so dreadful I changed my order to a bottled beer (which came from the fridge but was decidedly warm). Breakfast was quite good and passed without incident. There are obvious staff training issues here and a lack of managerial organisation. It's a pity because these issues could be easily and inexpensively addressed e.g. use staff behind bars with which they are familiar or train them so they become familiar with the bar, stock the bars ahead of time etc but it seems management can't be bothered putting in the small effort required to rectify these issues. NB The "I don't normally work behind this bar" excuse was given the previous time we stayed at the hotel 9 months earlier so it's not a one off. And despite being given an inferior room to the one we had booked and paid for there was no offer of compensation or refund. There seems to be an abdication of management responsibility at this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid room 47
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Somnus11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

stayed at this hotel this weekend on a buy a gift voucher received at Christmas. Reading the reviews was a wee bit worried about the room. However the room was okay but there was no toiletries which is usually standard these days in hotels. We ate in the main dining room at night and although the food was delicious the service was a bit haphazard. Some of the staff did not really know what they were doing. We were asked twice what wine we had ordered. Breakfast the next morning was chaotic to say the least. I waited 5 minutes at the toaster for bread only to be told by the staff member that she could not find it. The food at the buffet was greasy and fresh food was replaced on top of the existing food. I had an accident with the coffee pot pouring coffee all over my hand and had to rush to the toilet to put cold water on it. On my return nobody had cleared it up and nobody asked me how I was. I had a swim in the sister hotel the next day and we ate there at night. This was better and there seemed to be more organisation at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The staff really make the hotel, which is a little tired. Food in the restaurants and bars very good and reasonably priced as are the bar prices. Excellent value for money. Dog friendly and although quite a few there, there were no problems and good for getting to talk to others

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed at the Green Hotel on an Itison deal given as a christmas present, often you don't know what to expect with these hotels but this one was a very pleasant surprise.

The spa was an excellent facility although it wasn't attached to the hotel, it was a 2 minute walk across the road to their sister hotel.

The staff were friendly, the food was delicious and the atmosphere was relaxed. What more could you want.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC60Dundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Nearly 20 of us stayed overnight for a family birthday party. The welcome at reception was excellent, the staff were all attentive, helpful and patient, food in the Basil restaurant was very good. Could with a bit of a refurbishment, especially the outside which could do with a lick of paint! All in all, highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be large with superking beds. Well equipped. Could do with some re-decoration...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMEHighlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.1 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kinross
368 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
811 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
20.1 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Hotel

Address: 2 Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range: £55 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Hotel Golf & Leisure Resort has the benefit of 2 hotels which are located across the road from each other - The Green Hotel and the Windlestrae Hotel with our golf courses right on our doorstep. Our Resort, with two parkland golf courses, the Bruce & the Montgomery, 3 restaurants, leisure & spa which has a 20m indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna and the Boathouse on Loch Leven. Alternatively try fishing on Loch Leven, a boat trip to Castle Island or walk along the Natural Trail. Afterwards relax in our Jock's bar with a tasty dinner or a glass of chilled wine and watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Hotel Kinross
The Green Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing