We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Takes some beating!”
Review of Kelson Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kelson Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Kinross B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Takes some beating!”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed at Kelson Lodge for a few nights at the beginning of December and enjoyed the experience very much. Liz and George were perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble. As far as B&B goes, it was very good value for money and we would have no hesitation in recommending it to friends. More importantly - we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz S, Owner at Kelson Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Hello, great to hear from you and many thanks for your kind words. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Kelson Lodge and delighted you are returning in June for a few nights. Look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
43
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maghera, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed at Kelson Lodge recently and we had a brilliant relaxing holiday. We were made to feel very welcome by Liz and George. The house is absolutely beautiful and extremely comfortable, the bedrooms and bathrooms are bright and spotlessly clean. The homemade food was delicious with a wide variety for all tastes. Kinross is a beautiful area with easy access to other locations. We would highly recommend a stay at Kelson Lodge and we fully intend to return there in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz S, Owner at Kelson Lodge, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Hello Caroline & James
Thanks so much for the wonderful review you have posted of Kelson Lodge; we are delighted to hear you will be returning. We note you were impressed also with the Kinross area - we are so central and accessible - most of the country is do-able in a day trip.
Looking forward to meeting you again soon.
Very best wishes
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westhill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Stayed at Kelson lodge for a couple of nights when my girlfriend and I went for a baloon flight. It is in the perfect location with outstanding views over Loch Leven. The room was Lovely and bright and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. George and Liz were the very epitome of Scottish Hospitality and should be comended for their immaculate home and delicious breakfasts.
Hope to return again in the future.

Room Tip: We had room 1 and it was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chunkybuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz S, Owner at Kelson Lodge, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Hi Colin - thank you so much for your review - glad you and Jacqui enjoyed your couple of nights with us at Kelson Lodge and also that the balloon trip was a great success. We would very much like for you to return and look forward to your company again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Amazing is definetely the words to describe this B&B, we were welcomed by 2 lovely, welcoming hosts and guided up to our rooms which were clean, comfortable and spacious. The bathrooms were immaculate and finished beautifully. The views of the loch out of each bedroom window were breathtaking. Breakfast was also fabulous, full scottish breakfast, cooked to perfection. The location is just fantastic and very quiet. Overall, we had an amazing stay as a family and we will be back! Thankyou very much!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz S, Owner at Kelson Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Hello Molly - thank you kindly for the wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the fantastic location we have at Kelson Lodge. It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us, you are such a nice family and we look forward very much to you returning. Very best wishes on your placement at the stables and with your future career, I have no doubt you will excel at whatever you tackle. Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We have stayed in this B&B twice. The location, views, bedrooms, bathrooms, owners and breakfast are all fabulous. I would highly recommend you stay here if you are visiting this area. You will not be let down at all.

Room Tip: Both rooms are great but there is one room with an en suite. That's were I've stayed twice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawniemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz S, Owner at Kelson Lodge, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thanks Dawn for your very kind words. It was indeed a delight to have you all stay with us and we look forward to your company again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

This was a really lovely B&B. The rooms were really nice and had everything you could need. Lovely house, fantastic breakfast (gorgeous home made bread). The owners were really nice, helpful & welcoming. Great location on the loch with lovely views of the castle.

Convenient location just outside Kinross (1 min drive), & easy access to motorway. Couldn't hear anything from the main road inside the house though, which was great.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slackerscouse84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz S, Owner at Kelson Lodge, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thanks for taking time to give a review. It is always encouraging to receive compliments !! Glad you enjoyed the home made bread.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We were on our way home but everything about our one night stay was excellent. We had a friendly welcome and our room had the most fantastic view across the loch. The room was spacious and very comfortable and beautifully furnished. The breakfast menu was extensive and included salmon and scrambled egg, homemade bread and an excellent fruit salad. Our hostess was really helpful and suggested lots of places to visit when we return on another occasion. The Guest house is also easy to find and well situated if travelling up to the highlands and Inverness. We will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz S, Owner at Kelson Lodge, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Many thanks for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Kelson Lodge and we would be very happy to welcome you again !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
1.2 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kinross
351 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
767 reviews
1.5 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kinross
27 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
9.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelson Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelson Lodge

Property: Kelson Lodge
Address: Cavelstone | Cavelstone Farm, Kinross KY13 9JT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kinross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kelson Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior Bed & Breakfast with stunning views across Loch Leven to the Castle Island yet within minutes of M90 and easy access to all Scottish cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Kelson Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelson Lodge Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing