We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
33
21
9
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
21
9
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspecials boardsteak piewell presented and very tastyservice was promptpuddingmy dadlovely mealpubstartersmenuportions
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 70 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

My partner and I had dinner on a beautiful sunny evening and the atmosphere was superb! We ordered 'haggis bites' and 'balgedie smokie' for starters and they were delicious!!! Main course was 'chicken supreme' and 'haddock and chips' and once again excellent food! The girls serving us were really friendly and made us feel really welcome! Only downside is the location, you need to know where to go!
Definitely going back and bringing as many of our friends as possible!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italoedinburghese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Found this place by accident - the barman was very helpful and attentive - even offered a free taste of the ale so I could make a choice! Great to see a traditional pub atmosphere - just a plain pub with wooden beams - not overdecorated with twee stuff - no chrome in sight, no tv or thumping music just a welcoming fire and a good choice of REAL ALE! The food was excellent - the quality of the meat in the steak pie was a real surprise - delicious. Just wish I had eaten less through the day so I could have sampled more on the menu! Well done folks, a country pub as it should be.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Small 16th century inn that produces great food. Had steak pie that was one of the best I have ever tatsted along with boiled potatoes and a selection of delicious veg. The gravy in the pie was delicious and the meat melted in your mouth. Service was by a young man who was very friendly and professional. Old interior with beams along the ceiiling and down the walls - nice ambience. If you like beers has a range of differing brews from some smaller brewers. Definately a place to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highteas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews