We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
33
21
9
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
21
9
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspecials boardsteak piewell presented and very tastyservice was promptpuddingmy dadlovely mealpubstartersmenuportions
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2013

The Balgeddie Toll Tavern is an old toll house converted to a pub and its very busy in summer with bikers,cyclists and tourers and its supported by local trade. A nice cosy lounge bar in Tudor style, where good meals are served. Menu is interesting with specialities like haggis fritters and home made Scotch beef hamburgers and smoked haddock in a cheese sauce are served. Some oriental dishes served occasionally. Good choice of beers and whiskies and parking available. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We were expecting a better meal than we got. The Tavern had been recommended to us but really this is only average pub grub, yes it is cooked fresh but it was just not very exciting. The place itself is old and full of charm and the most charming was the barman/waiter who was great to all his customers, old and new.
We might return to check if the chef was having an off day.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank GarryFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillybean73, Owner at Balgedie Toll Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your recent visit. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed on this occasion with your meal. It is very unusual for us to get any negative feedback concerning our food and I would therefore like the opportunity to investigate this matter fully. It is possible that your visit coincided with our Head Chef's day off but we strive to ensure that the same high quality continues at all times, so if you would be willing to provide me with a little bit more information regarding your visit, that would be very much appreciated. You can email me directly on gillianparsons@btopenworld.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Gillian Anderson
Proprietor
Balgedie Toll Tavern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

A busy evening when we visited the 'toll'. This did not affect the service one bit! Very mannerable staff, prompt service and a delicious meal...excellent all round.
P.s : this tavern does not have rooms but i couldn't submit the review without rating rooms???

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Have been here a few times now and it never disappoints. The menu is large but everything I have sampled has been well cooked. Lovely open fire and very cosy. Pub grub with a bit of flair. Will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littlebigfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

We had lunch there today in this very busy historic tavern. The food here never fails to disappoint. We opted for the soup and sandwiches, however the full menu was
available.

There were two members of staff on duty, and their service was superb considering the tavern was full. They could teach many establishments in the area a thing or two on how to be organised and professional in their work.

The soup was cream of pea which I have never had before, but would certainly have again.

Overall....an excellent, relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank fifediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews