We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, charming pub and restaurant!”

Balgedie Toll Tavern
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Balgedie Toll Tavern
Ranked #4 of 10 Kinross B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 March 2013

we've been coming to the Balgedie Toll Tavern for years and the food and service is always excellent. The food is freshly prepared to order and it shows, way better than your average pub food and this is undoubtedly the best place to eat in the entire area. We've tried all the other establishments around about and have always been left disappointed so now the family always insist on coming here. Don't be put off by a couple of negative comments on here, there is clearly no pleasing some people! This place is great, and the desserts and home baking are to die for!! Great value and if you come in the afternoons they do a coffee and cake deal for £2.50. You can't even get a cake for that price in most places these days! Highly recommend a visit if you want a great meal in traditional surroundings with friendly and helpful staff that can't do enough for you.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teenylj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

This was our 6th time visiting the toll and previously had no complaints ! However on this occassion i left very dissapointed in the service ! firstly on arrival the downstairs was pretty empty and suprised to be taken upstairs via the storage room which smelt of damp! My wife two children aged 5 and 2 were taken into a room where it was so cold they had to keep their jackets on to keep warm! i complained about the cold and was told we couldnt be moved downstairs as it was too busy so a faulty looking electric heater was brought in which made no difference ! The food was tasty and arrived quick enough but we had to sit for 20 minutes after finishing before any staff appeared ! my complaint on leaving was met with no appology , very dissapointed in the sevice and treatment on offer and probably wont be back !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nmlne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillybean73, Owner at Balgedie Toll Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

I am sorry to learn of the disappointment that you had with the service you received on your recent visit.

We do try to accommodate our customers preferences for seating areas as much as possible but sometimes if we have a large booking or a function coming in that have requested a particular area, it is simply not possible and I'm sorry if this was not properly explained to you when you arrived. We are also currently undergoing some cosmetic renovations and improvements which has meant that we have had to move some furniture around etc in the short term to allow for these works to be carried out and I'm sorry that this also impacted on your visit. You were obviously taken through an area where we have some items temporarily stored and we are working very hard to have everything returned to normal just as quickly as possible and with the least disruption possible for our customers. Again my apologies if this was not explained as you were shown through this area to your seats.

With regards to the unusually low temperature, It has come to light this week that we do in fact have a fault with our heating system as all the radiators in the upstairs of the building are not heating properly and we have therefore booked our heating engineer to attend as a matter of urgency to investigate this fault and have it rectified prior to the weekend.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointing experience you had and for the subsequent way it was handled. As you have visited us several times before and always enjoyed it, I'm sure you will know that this is not normal for us. It would be helpful if you would be so kind as to email me with a little further information, in particular which date this incident occured on? (my personal email is gillianparsons@btopenworld.com) This will allow me to fully investigate this matter and also provide some further guidance and training for the staff who served you during your visit.

I hope that this isolated incident will not put you off visiting us again and I would like to offer you a gesture of goodwill for use on a future visit. Please do get in touch via email as soon as possible. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Gillian Anderson
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

The Balgeddie Toll Tavern is an old toll house converted to a pub and its very busy in summer with bikers,cyclists and tourers and its supported by local trade. A nice cosy lounge bar in Tudor style, where good meals are served. Menu is interesting with specialities like haggis fritters and home made Scotch beef hamburgers and smoked haddock in a cheese sauce are served. Some oriental dishes served occasionally. Good choice of beers and whiskies and parking available. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We were expecting a better meal than we got. The Tavern had been recommended to us but really this is only average pub grub, yes it is cooked fresh but it was just not very exciting. The place itself is old and full of charm and the most charming was the barman/waiter who was great to all his customers, old and new.
We might return to check if the chef was having an off day.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank GarryFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillybean73, Owner at Balgedie Toll Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your recent visit. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed on this occasion with your meal. It is very unusual for us to get any negative feedback concerning our food and I would therefore like the opportunity to investigate this matter fully. It is possible that your visit coincided with our Head Chef's day off but we strive to ensure that the same high quality continues at all times, so if you would be willing to provide me with a little bit more information regarding your visit, that would be very much appreciated. You can email me directly on gillianparsons@btopenworld.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Gillian Anderson
Proprietor
Balgedie Toll Tavern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

A busy evening when we visited the 'toll'. This did not affect the service one bit! Very mannerable staff, prompt service and a delicious meal...excellent all round.
P.s : this tavern does not have rooms but i couldn't submit the review without rating rooms???

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Have been here a few times now and it never disappoints. The menu is large but everything I have sampled has been well cooked. Lovely open fire and very cosy. Pub grub with a bit of flair. Will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littlebigfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

We had lunch there today in this very busy historic tavern. The food here never fails to disappoint. We opted for the soup and sandwiches, however the full menu was
available.

There were two members of staff on duty, and their service was superb considering the tavern was full. They could teach many establishments in the area a thing or two on how to be organised and professional in their work.

The soup was cream of pea which I have never had before, but would certainly have again.

Overall....an excellent, relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank fifediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
5.8 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kinross
359 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#4 of 6 in Kinross
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
561 reviews
3.2 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kinross
30 reviews
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balgedie Toll Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balgedie Toll Tavern

Address: Wester Balgedie, Kinross KY13 9HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kinross
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balgedie Toll Tavern, an old coaching inn has stood on this spot since 1534. It is a welcoming and comfortable country tavern which, like many others built at the time in Scotland, was situated at a road toll where travellers would break their journey and pay tolls before travelling on (the Tolls were abolished in 1872).Now much extended, the oldest part of the building (the toll house) is ...at the southern end. It has two restaurant seating areas, one upstairs and one downstairs in the main bar plus a small snug bar. The interior is traditional with low ceilings, oak beams, stone walls and open fire places, with wooden settles and works of art by a local painter. An extensive choice of meals and bar snacks are available 7 days per week, freshly prepared to order by an award winning chef and his team. A good selection of Real Ales, Malt Whiskies, Wines, freshly ground Italian coffees, and homebaking are also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balgedie Toll Tavern Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing