We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country, pub-style food”

Balgedie Toll Tavern
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Balgedie Toll Tavern
Ranked #4 of 10 Kinross B&B and Inns
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely country, pub-style food”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Went here on Xmas eve and found a nice atmosphere. The staff were attentive and friendly and we didn't have to wait too long for our food or drinks. Considering it was busy I was impressed with the speed and organisation.

The food was lovely. I always have the smokie and it lived up to expectations. Everyone else in my group was happy with their food too.

The Balgedie Toll is a nice country pub, which serves. Traditional range of food.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank laurenzo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    21
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
22
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

After searching online for a restaurant in the area I came across good reviews for the Balgedie Toll Tavern so decided to give it a try. I was a bit worried as I was booking it for my Mum's 60th birthday lunch and I couldn't find a website to see what the menu was. I needn't have worried as there was a great choice of food, big portions and everything was delicious. It has a lovely cosy atmosphere and the staff were very nice and helpful too. We all said we will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cairdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

our intention was to lunch at Loch Leven's Larder, but as they were fully booked we headed up the road and stopped here on the off chance...no disappointments! as soon as we walked through the door the flames of the fire said 'welcome'! the staff were friendly, the soup and paninis were delicious and substantial... our first visit, won't be our last..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenofdunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We are fairly regulars here andonce again it didn't disappoint. Good food and good beer served by friendly staff. The starters are fairly substantial so don't go mad or the main course will be a struggle. Car parking is always a bit tight though and they could with extending the car park.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGoodShag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My wife and I visited the Balgedie Toll Tavern on Saturday evening and, despite it being busy and us not having a reservation, the charming member of staff kindly said that if we could perhaps wait for a bit she would get us a table as soon as one was free.
The service both at the bar and at our table was excellent as was the food...all in all a first class experience at a very reasonable price.
Great surroundings, lovely staff and wonderful food ..this may have been our first visit but it most certainly will not be our last...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonHendersonScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenfarg, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

I have been vegetarian for many years and read a review for the Balgeddie Toll where someone raved about the steak pie. I have now eaten steak pie at Balgeddie some 6 times this year!
My wife often has the Smokies and loves them - sadly today she had a number of bones in the fish and eventually had a problem finishing it.
All in all it is a lovely place with great service and would recommend anyone to make the trip

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife and I ofter pass the Balgedie Toll but until Saturday have never been in.
When deciding on where to go for lunch my wife suggested the Balgedie Toll as we have always noticed it always has people stopping at it when we pass.

Well the decision was great. The welcome and service was only surpassed by the food, although a word of warning - the Haggis balls starter is great but will leave little room for the main course. You know this as you're eating them but you can't help yourself, and I never even ordered them. I went for the mushrooms equally tasty and had finished them when my wife asked for help with the haggis. I knew it was a mistake but couldn't help myself.

The main arrived with me feeling fairly satisfied already. Luckily the rib-eye was fab and I had no trouble finishing it although the one Haggis ball my wife gave me had taken its toll and i couldn't finish the side veg.
All this washed down with an ice cold lemonade tops (pint of lemonade with a dash of larger).

My wife equally enjoyed her meal but if I was to describe her experience as equally as mine I'd need a double the character allowance.

Needless to say I wholeheartedly recommend this place and will returning on many whenever we can.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinross hotels
3.1 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kinross
349 reviews
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kinross
24 reviews
3.1 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
538 reviews
3.2 mi away
No photo provided
Roxburghe Guest House
#9 of 10 in Kinross
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balgedie Toll Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balgedie Toll Tavern

Property: Balgedie Toll Tavern
Address: Wester Balgedie, Kinross KY13 9HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kinross
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balgedie Toll Tavern, an old coaching inn has stood on this spot since 1534. It is a welcoming and comfortable country tavern which, like many others built at the time in Scotland, was situated at a road toll where travellers would break their journey and pay tolls before travelling on (the Tolls were abolished in 1872).Now much extended, the oldest part of the building (the toll house) is ...at the southern end. It has two restaurant seating areas, one upstairs and one downstairs in the main bar plus a small snug bar. The interior is traditional with low ceilings, oak beams, stone walls and open fire places, with wooden settles and works of art by a local painter. An extensive choice of meals and bar snacks are available 7 days per week, freshly prepared to order by an award winning chef and his team. A good selection of Real Ales, Malt Whiskies, Wines, freshly ground Italian coffees, and homebaking are also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balgedie Toll Tavern Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing