We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Balgedie Lodge, the old Gate Lodge, recently refurbished, with the magnificent Lomond Hills behind.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balgedie Lodge, the old Gate Lodge, recently refurbished, with the magnificent Lomond Hills behind.
Many hours can be lost enjoying the view of the Loch from the garden. The view of Loch Leven from the Lodge  is simply stunning!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Balgedie Lodge, the old Gate Lodge, recently refurbished, with the magnificent Lomond Hills behind.
Many hours can be lost enjoying the view of the Loch from the garden.
The view of Loch Leven from the Lodge  is simply stunning!
The pretty garden is idyllic all year round and fully enclosed.
The pretty sunroom with it's panoramic and uninterrupted views of Loch Leven.
The kitchen was recently refurbished and has all you need for making great meals away from home.
There is a large dinning table in the kitchen which seats 6 comfortably
There are lots of mod cons in the kitchen including a Nespresso machine and milk frother.
The lovely cosy sitting room is a perfect place to relax in after days out.
There is a piano and a guitar for guests to use and enjoy! As well as a flat screen TV & DVD.
Prices include a welcome basket, cupboard basics, fire wood, all linens, electricity and heating
The lovely open fire is a great feature and a central focus of the sitting room.
The master bedroom looks out on to the pretty enclosed garden.
The master bedroom can be set up as a twin if required.
Our twin room with pretty tartan. Can be a double & also take an additional bed if requested.
The cosy single, a sweet little hideaway!
The garden is a lovely pretty space that is enclosed so safe for pets and children
Our keep snug blankets are lovely for wrapping up in when outside star gazing or enjoying the view!
The seating area in the garden is great for Loch views by day and the stars at night!
The pretty garden path leads round the Lodge from the front door to the drive.
In the Autumn, looking from the garden over the fields to Loch Leven's Castle Island.
The fields around the Lodge catch the light in beautiful ways, thoughout the year.
A beautiful winter's day with snow pilled high on the garden hedge!
If you are lucky enough to get snow, get cosy inside & enjoy the magical views out.
One of the many spectacular sunsets you might see at the Lodge.
The sunsets are wonderful! This was taken in February from the garden.
The wild flowers all around are gorgeous, not forgetting the beautiful garden ones  too!
Floor plan
Balgedie Lodge was originally the Gate Lodge to Balgedie House.
Looking up the drive that leads to Balgedie House.
The sunset reflecting on Loch Leven, from the sunroom with a drink in hand!
There are so many great places for dogs to roam!
The beautiful city of Perth is only 25 mins away
Stirling Castle is a wonderful day out for the whole family and is only 30 mins away.
There are lots of fabulous golf courses in the area.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kinross, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Finnish first
Any
English first
143Alison
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Great location, wonderful views. Cottage very comfortable and had everything we needed. Could not have asked for more. Friends looking to go to Scotland , try this one, you wont be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for such a lovely review! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I do hope you'll be able to come and visit us again and enjoy more of the area, the views and the Lodge. Hopefully you'll be able to enjoy the garden extension too, rather than just see it being created! Best, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrel52
Marton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic views”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely comfortable accommodation. It has everything that we needed for a perfect relaxing week in Scotland. The views across the Loch must be seen. Location ideal for walking and cycling. Excellent pub just 10 minutes walk.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
I'm so pleased you had a lovely time at Balgedie Lodge and enjoyed the views of Loch Leven. Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. Best, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisybell...
2 reviews
“Fantastic, well worth a visit.”
Reviewed 16 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a lovely time. views were amazing, lots of local attractions. Spend most of our time in the conservatory. The Toll pub just 5 minutes along the road has the best food I have ever tasted. Would highly recommend.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for such a lovely review! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the views of the Loch! Please do come and stay again! Best, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macchaz
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Captivating cottage with marvellous view - and in a convenient location”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This comfy and inviting cottage is ideally situated for anybody wanting to see and/or tour around Central Scotland. The view of Loch Leven from the sunroom is just lovely, and you could spend the whole week in there relaxing, reading and looking up at the view, but if you like a slightly more active holiday, the Loch Leven Heritage trail is so close by, and, or you can walk up the hill at the the back of Kinesswood, or take the path up from the Woodland Trust land near Scotlandwell - or go further afield, of course. If you like cycling, there are lovely country roads around nearby Bishop's Hill and East & West Lomond. Perth is half an hour's drive in one direction, and Edinburgh is half an hour in the other direction. The East Neuk of Fife, and St Andrews are 45 minutes away. There is no shortage of lovely scenery and interesting places to see in easy striking distance. There's a Co-op and Sainsburys in Kinross, just ten minutes drive away, and there other local shops in the villages and towns round about, including a small one in Kinesswood with newspapers and milk - a nice morning walk! The Balgedie Toll Tavern, serving lunches and evening meals, is a short walk away, as is Loch Leven's Larder, which is a lovely place for lunch, overlooking the loch, and with a path down to join the Heritage Trail close to the loch side. The cottage changed hands in 2016 and decor has been brightened and freshened up inside, it all has a very cosy feel and the changes have only further enhanced the house's appeal. The beds and bedding are comfortable, and the kitchen is well kitted out, including a dishwasher and washing machine. There's an undercover seating area outside in the lovely enclosed garden, and although parking space is tight, you can definitely get two cars in beside the house. The owner and housekeeper are very friendly and helpful and welcoming on arrival. It's a place you would want to return to, and we have - more than a few times - and we will again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review of the cottage - I am so pleased you enjoyed your week and that you like all the changes we've made recently! Thank you too for a brilliant write up of so many of the things you can do in the area. I am sure it will be of much interest and value to others who come and stay with us too. Looking forward to having you again next year! Best, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie D
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A fantastic cottage in a perfect setting”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

What a lovely cottage. So nice and peaceful. Never felt so relaxed. Perfect location with great views over Loch Leven and so quick to get to Edinburgh or Perth. Thanks Shona and Mary!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review, Jamie! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure having you and we do hope we can welcome you back again soon! Best, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarrieGla...
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Superb Holiday Accommodation”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This a fantastic place to stay for a holiday. The Lodge is beautifully equipped and very comfortable - the view from the Lodge across Loch Leven are just amazing ending ending each day with a beautiful sunset. There is plenty to do in the area with Kinross nearby and a range of activities including walking and cycling. Anyone with an interest in Mary Queen of Scots will enjoy a visit to Loch Leven Castle and Falkland Palace.There is an excellent traditional pub within walking distance.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for a lovely review! I'm so pleased you had a lovely time and enjoyed our wonderful view while also able to enjoy so much of what the area has to offer. It is quite a treasure trove for Mary Queen of Scots fans, as well as all the outdoor activities on our door step! I look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Best, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polaris19...
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We hired this lodge for a family break and found the facilities to be amazing. This property has absolutely everything you could need for a self catering break, and the view across Loch Leven is stunning. The cottage was cosy, stylish and spotlessly clean. It has a lovely conservatory to enjoy the sunny days as well as a log fire in the sitting room to keep you warm on colder nights. The beds are comfortable and the bedrooms bright and airy. The owners were brilliant throughout the whole booking process and kept in touch regularly to ensure everything was okay. I would recommend this cottage to anyone and we will certainly be returning to enjoy a break in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
Doug, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Lodge! And thank you so much for giving us such a glowing review! I'm delighted to hear you had some lovely sunny days and could soak up the view, but were warm and cosy around the open fire at night too. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again! Best, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;