We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, from the first second we stepped in the door..”
Review of Kirklands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kirklands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stumbled upon this fantasic find, totally by accident. While drive through out Scotland we needed to stop and rest for the night. So glad we found the Kirkland. From the kind warm greeting, absolutely AMAZING dinner, our cozy room, to the delicious breakfast the next morning, everything was perfect. I only wish I could have stayed longer. Amazing, wish I had better words to describe.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

How great it is to find a young professional couple living their dream, working very hard, standing by their training and values, greeting and serving clients and making every customer welcome.

Great reception, service and tasty food served in an attractive manner at reasonable prices.

Knowledgeably, pleasant and willing staff create a good atmosphere in bar with locals and visitors plus restaurant at rear.

A real gem of a pub with restaurant and rooms - going to, understandably, become very popular.

Room Tip: A real gem of a pub with restaurant and rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roninspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Bit late in writing as we stayed at the Kirland in July. It was our first time in Scotland and from the moment we arrived in the pouring rain Anthony & Shona made us feel really welcome, offering us a spare room to change in while ours was being prepared. The hotel does excactly what is says on the tin, clean, affordable, excellent breakfast an evening meal. The staff were always courteous and with Anthony & Shona's knowledge of the area it made our stay all the better. Anthony asked me not to write a review like it was written by his mother,sorry.... but this little gem of a hotel deserves all the plaudits it gets. - Rob & Theresa

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, at the start of a brief tour of Scotland. Staff and facilities were excellent, as was the breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. Further words are not necessary; if only all small hotels were this good!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Stayed here for one night on business - staff all very helpful - the breakfast was exquisite! Will definitely stay here again - next time I'll try and arrived early enough to eat in the restaurant but even thought I did not arrive until after 22:00 I was still offered some food

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moffmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Visiting family in Kinross I was advised to book here and I am very glad I did. There as free parking and an excellent breakfast was included. The rooms were newly and tastefully appointed and the staff were all great.

It was so good that I decided to take the family there for dinner because the menu looked excellent.

The only thing I would suggest is that bed I had was a bit soft and lumpy but I still had a very good sleep.

Room Tip: Room number 2 was a little noisy because it was above the lively bar downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

En route John O'Groats - doing a mental 10 day end to end cycle from Land's End (LeJog). Cycled almost 130 miles today and rolled up with hope and no booking. Great rate, great room, awesome dinner. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Would recommend this to anyone for any occasion. I travel the world for a living - sometimes nice surprises like Kirklands pop up out of the blue. I don't often write reviews on anything but was taken by this experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.2 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
814 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
570 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
589 reviews
14.7 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#1 of 18 in Perth
981 reviews
12.1 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirklands Hotel

Address: 20 High Street, Kinross KY13 8AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range: £72 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirklands Hotel makes an ideal base for leisure or business travellers. Fully refurbished in 2016, proprietors Anthony and Shona Clifford have restyled this original coaching inn to give the interior a contemporary and modern feel.With only nine bedrooms the Kirklands offers a friendly welcome and an attention to detail that bring guests back again and again.At the Kirklands we pride ourselves on quality food, drinks and service in stylish surroundings.Our kitchen team are particularly passionate about fresh ingredients and local produce so expect to be impressed with our seasonally changing menu.Our new drinks list will introduce you to a range of all Scottish gins, local craft beers, some exclusive malts and up and coming wine varieties that will soon become your old favourites. Combine all this with the beautiful Loch Leven area, a warm welcome and award winning service and you might just find yourself wanting to stay a while! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kirklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirklands Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing