We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Kirklands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kirklands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Having returned from the british superbikes at knockhill, we stayed at the kirklands have been here a few years now and each time we return I would say that its just better and better each time. Shona and Anthony are great hosts and all the staff are lovely. food is as always excellent. so if anyones ever thinking off visiting Kinross this is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    55
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
63
157
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Suttons Bay, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

We stopped at the Kirklands Hotel for lunch on our way south. Had a great menu with lots of variety. Food and decor were top notch. The owners are exceptionally friendly and very eager to please. The customer is first at this great establishment.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our way to Edinburgh from the Orkney Islands. This hotel was very accommodating to our needs. I wished I remembered that guy and gal who helped us. They were both very sociable and helpful. Dinner and breakfast was good. We could easily walk to Loch Leven from the hotel. The floor in the room was very warped, but made room fun. I wish there was a ranking between 'excellent' and 'very good.'

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ganderandgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Had a lovely meal here this evening with my son. Excellent food and great service. The restaurant was busy but the staff were very attentive. The atmosphere was relaxed. Although we only live about 13miles away this was the first time either of us had been. My son is working in Kinross at the moment and one of his colleagues recommended it. We were certainly not disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret56_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh Lancs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Hotel is approx. 25 miles north of Edinburgh. We stayed here for two nights over the recent bank holiday weekend. What a great stay , the rooms are bright, clean, modern décor, beds spot on and comfy. Free Wi-Fi access in the bar and the food is to die for :). We had to be up very very early to travel back into Edinburgh for the races and the owners Anthony and Shona couldn't do enough for us ie putting icepacks in the freezer for our cool box for the long day out in the city, the bikes in the garage or even getting up early to prep some porridge or on the Sunday as we were out a lot early, left out some breakfast for me. These guys should be proud of their hotel and business, one of the best places I have stayed for a long while. keep it up :)

Room Tip: We had room 8 right at the top of the building. Quite a few steep stairs so ask for a room on a low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nutty1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocklawaha, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have stayed in several hotels in the Kinross area and Kirklands is by far the best. Shona and Anthony are wonderful hosts and their staff do a terrific job. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable and breakfast is always delicious. The restaurant serves a great meal and has a very nice menu. We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dullpurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Husband and I live near kinross so we eat regularly at Kirklands. We have never been disappointed, great food and atmosphere, service, choice of food and drink and value for money. Have also been with our kids and they also love it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007Michelle007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.2 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
12.2 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kinross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Famous Bein Inn
The Famous Bein Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenfarg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirklands Hotel

Property: Kirklands Hotel
Address: 20 High Street, Kinross KY13 8AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirklands Hotel makes an ideal base for leisure or business travellers. Fully refurbished in 2016, proprietors Anthony and Shona Clifford have restyled this original coaching inn to give the interior a contemporary and modern feel.With only nine bedrooms the Kirklands offers a friendly welcome and an attention to detail that bring guests back again and again.At the Kirklands we pride ourselves on quality food, drinks and service in stylish surroundings.Our kitchen team are particularly passionate about fresh ingredients and local produce so expect to be impressed with our seasonally changing menu.Our new drinks list will introduce you to a range of all Scottish gins, local craft beers, some exclusive malts and up and coming wine varieties that will soon become your old favourites. Combine all this with the beautiful Loch Leven area, a warm welcome and award winning service and you might just find yourself wanting to stay a while! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kirklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirklands Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing