We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food at The Kirklands” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kirklands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kirklands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Certificate of Excellence
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food at The Kirklands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We went with family, 4 adults and one child. Food was delicious, the service was great and a nice atmosphere....everybody in our party had something different from the menu and were all very pleased with what we got. Freshly cooked and thought the bill for the food and drinks we had was very reasonable. Would definitely recommend it. The service was great too...no complaints whatsoever........Well Done

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cgklinsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    53
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
64
154
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here for one night whilst on a business trip to Dunfermline. What a fabulous little hotel. Staff are very friendly and attentive, rooms are spotless, well equipped and very comfortable. The bathroom is compact and very modern - lovely powerful shower with lots of hot water.
The food, at both evening meal and breakfast, was freshly cooked and delicious, portion sizes were excellent. Ingredients are locally sourced which is great to see.
I would definitely recommend Kirklands Hotel for business or leisure

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yollom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived Anthony, Shona and their staff were very attentive. Our room was perfect. The compact bathroom was surprisingly modern and very attractive. Beds were comfortable. Linens great. Definitely have dinner in their dining room. Meal was great. The atmosphere a pleasure.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Meade66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have stayed at the hotel several times and it seems to get better and better. Service is always excellent and the food seemed even more delicious than on our previous visit. We had arranged a small family celebration to celebrate my retirement and Antony and Shona made it really special for us. They have created a wonderful friendly atmosphere which is popular with travellers and locals alike.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We originally booked for five nights and finished staying for ten nights. It was ideal for golfing walking biking and even going to Glasgow for the Commonwealth Games. The owners Antony and Shona were excellent hosts and very helpful and welcoming. The food was very good. Someone previously commented on the flat iron steaks - they are to die for! Our bedroom( room 7 ) on the top floor was spacious and well decorated and furnished. All the staff were good. We did for the first few days have very minor issues with the servicing of the room but these disappeared without any complaint on our part - we suspect the normal cleaner was on holiday. Overall the cost was reasonable and we have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My Family booked a Funeral tea at the Kirklands hotel following the funeral of our mother.We Had booked for 30 people and can I say both food of which their was plenty and the service we recevied from the staff was nothing short of excellent we were very well looked after and everyone's coffee/tea cup was constantly refilled if required as were the alcoholic drinks.I would highly recommend this hotel and I look forward to returning there for a meal

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billyboy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Again stayed one night and this reinforced our great first impressions from last time. Lovely clean rooms well laid out with plenty of room. Friendly staff. Flat iron steak to die for and adequate parking - just.

Recommended and special mention to the young proprietors who always find time to spend chatting and getting to know their guests - even if it is only one nighters- but who could become regulars.

Looking forward to next time already. Keep doing what you're doing.

Downside is that Kinross itself needs to be regenerated- many high profile parts of the main thoroughfare are boarded up and derelict .What a shame.

Room Tip: Have been in 2 first floor rooms and both excellent, last one overlooking the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyeNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.2 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
12.1 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
14.7 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Famous Bein Inn
The Famous Bein Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenfarg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirklands Hotel

Property: Kirklands Hotel
Address: 20 High Street, Kinross KY13 8AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirklands Hotel makes an ideal base for leisure or business travellers. Fully refurbished in 2016, proprietors Anthony and Shona Clifford have restyled this original coaching inn to give the interior a contemporary and modern feel.With only nine bedrooms the Kirklands offers a friendly welcome and an attention to detail that bring guests back again and again.At the Kirklands we pride ourselves on quality food, drinks and service in stylish surroundings.Our kitchen team are particularly passionate about fresh ingredients and local produce so expect to be impressed with our seasonally changing menu.Our new drinks list will introduce you to a range of all Scottish gins, local craft beers, some exclusive malts and up and coming wine varieties that will soon become your old favourites. Combine all this with the beautiful Loch Leven area, a warm welcome and award winning service and you might just find yourself wanting to stay a while! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kirklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirklands Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing