We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence is the norm”
Review of Kirklands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kirklands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I have stayed quite a few times at the Kirklands over the last few years and had another excellent stay last weekend. There is little if anything you can fault with the Kirklands. The decor in both public areas and the rooms/bathrooms is contemporary and in good order. The food is consistently good whether restaurant, bar meals or breakfast. The thing that sets it above many other places is the service, courteous, efficient and staff who seem to have bought into the owners philosophy of what they want to do. The owners are very much hands on and lead their staff by example and the end result is a consistently excellent all round experience.
I have reviewed the Kirklands before but am moved to do so again to confirm to any prospective guest that this place has a level of excellence that far exceeds the size and grading of the hotel and I have stayed in many fine hotels at home and abroad. There have been a couple of what I can only call astonishing negative reviews recently and I can only say that they do not reflect anything like the experience that we have had over the years and as can be seen from other reviews so have many others. I note that the reviews are first time attempts and the seriousness and the motivation for them has to be questioned when set against every other review.

Room Tip: Fairly steep and long stairs so elderly or infirm may want to ask fro first floor accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mackenzie478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Found by chance and what a good chance this turned out to be, a real gem. All the staff are attentive, service really means something to all of them. From the outside this looks like an old coaching inn, but inside it has been modernised. The rooms are modern and very comfortable, they have tried to think of all your needs. The bathroom in our room was small, but had a great power shower and toiletries were provided. Although our room overlooked the main road it wasn't noisy at all. Breakfast was great - all food cooked to order, fruit, yogurt, cereals etc served at the buffet. Scrambled eggs, kippers and the bacon roll are all to be recommended. We also had dinner here (do book, its a popular restaurant with locals) and again were very pleased with the food and service. There is a varied choice on the menu plus daily specials. The Arbroath Smokies was excellent as was the Crachan. This hotel was value for money both to stay and for a meal. The owners try so hard and deserve to be supported.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldieEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I travel throughout the UK for my job, staying in hotels of all sorts, from contractors B&B to four star, and quite simply this hotel outshines them all.

The food, service, comfort, location, and particularly the staff, are beyond compare, with service being to the fore at all times.

This is a home from home, and I never fail to enjoy my stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We went with family, 4 adults and one child. Food was delicious, the service was great and a nice atmosphere....everybody in our party had something different from the menu and were all very pleased with what we got. Freshly cooked and thought the bill for the food and drinks we had was very reasonable. Would definitely recommend it. The service was great too...no complaints whatsoever........Well Done

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank cgklinsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here for one night whilst on a business trip to Dunfermline. What a fabulous little hotel. Staff are very friendly and attentive, rooms are spotless, well equipped and very comfortable. The bathroom is compact and very modern - lovely powerful shower with lots of hot water.
The food, at both evening meal and breakfast, was freshly cooked and delicious, portion sizes were excellent. Ingredients are locally sourced which is great to see.
I would definitely recommend Kirklands Hotel for business or leisure

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank yollom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

From the moment we arrived Anthony, Shona and their staff were very attentive. Our room was perfect. The compact bathroom was surprisingly modern and very attractive. Beds were comfortable. Linens great. Definitely have dinner in their dining room. Meal was great. The atmosphere a pleasure.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Meade66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have stayed at the hotel several times and it seems to get better and better. Service is always excellent and the food seemed even more delicious than on our previous visit. We had arranged a small family celebration to celebrate my retirement and Antony and Shona made it really special for us. They have created a wonderful friendly atmosphere which is popular with travellers and locals alike.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.2 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kinross
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Famous Bein Inn
The Famous Bein Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenfarg
290 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirklands Hotel

Address: 20 High Street, Kinross KY13 8AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range: £74 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirklands Hotel makes an ideal base for leisure or business travellers. Fully refurbished in 2016, proprietors Anthony and Shona Clifford have restyled this original coaching inn to give the interior a contemporary and modern feel.With only nine bedrooms the Kirklands offers a friendly welcome and an attention to detail that bring guests back again and again.At the Kirklands we pride ourselves on quality food, drinks and service in stylish surroundings.Our kitchen team are particularly passionate about fresh ingredients and local produce so expect to be impressed with our seasonally changing menu.Our new drinks list will introduce you to a range of all Scottish gins, local craft beers, some exclusive malts and up and coming wine varieties that will soon become your old favourites. Combine all this with the beautiful Loch Leven area, a warm welcome and award winning service and you might just find yourself wanting to stay a while! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kirklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirklands Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing