We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give it a wide berth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hinckley
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Give it a wide berth”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I cannot imagine why anyone would stay here more than once. Bedrooms tired and grubby, worn carpet and peeling wallpaper. Bathroom had mould around the edges. Shower temperature control not working so scalding hot - resorted to mixer tap over the bath. Most uncomfortable pillows ever. No iron in room. No air con. Will not return, apart from being on a quiet road this place has nothing going for it

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeburkitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSketchleyGrange, Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
I am very sorry to learn of your disappointment in your room choice at the Hotel, we do have several room types. We are commencing an upgrade of some of our older bedrooms in the not too distant future. However, readers of this website should know that the majority of our bedrooms have already undergone remedial work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    273
    200
    127
    93
See reviews for
158
385
23
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My partner and I stayed in this hotel in April 2014 and had a terrible experience, after complaining we were offered a complimentary stay from the manager. I assumed it was just a bad weekend for the hotel, but upon our return it was just as terrible.

We arrived at the hotel and had to wait 10 minutes to be checked in, we went to our room where we found a broken table, dirty bath and dirty table. We tried to look past these things as the bedroom was stylish and modern. However, later that evening we tried to order room service, but had no menu or information. After a 5 minute wait to speak to reception they begrudgingly came to our room with a menu, we ordered 2 portions of sesame chicken and when it arrived we had 3 small pieces each and it had cost £5.50 per portion. By this point we had just given up on this stay and it was made even worse when we checked out and had to wait over 5 minutes, even though there was a member of staff behind the desk not helping anyone.

Overall this stay was terrible, with shocking service and cleanliness not just of our supposed junior suite but of the whole hotel. We are very disappointed and would definitely not rate this hotel at a four star!!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay in any rooms... The junior suite is just a large room that is very unclean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hmugglestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSketchleyGrange, Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts - I have spoken to the receptionist concerned who wishes to be associated with my apology. However, I am confident that she would never begrudgingly deliver something to a guest. It was unfortunate that the receptionist was accepting a telephone call when you were checking out, I do hope this was not too much of a inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hinckley hotels

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a 'Junior Suite' online and pre-booked for a 3 course dinner in the restaurant, what we got was far from four star and was disappointing to say the least! The 'Junior suite' was a large double room but by no means a suite, no toiletries, no mini bar, no bathrobes, not even a room service menu or stationery! I get toiletries at Premier Inn - surely I shouldn't have to ask in a 4* spa hotel. The furniture in the room was broken and the veneer peeling off/missing, the shower soap holder was broken and the phone wouldn't dial reception! The 'Bistro' is an area of the bar with ripped seating taped up and nothing more than a bar menu. Our pre-booked dinner was £5 each cheaper on the menu and there is no way that menu was one fitting for an establishment that this purports to be. 5 choices per course including soup or pate to start, chicken and wedges as a main course and a pavlova that was really a meringue nest with frozen fruit and children's pink ice cream on top! The pate was supermaket 'best buy' and the Topside of Beef was dry even though it was supposed to have a sauce/jus and the 'marmalade root vegetables' were frozen diced carrot and suede served in a ring. The restaurant has no atmosphere at all and was staffed by teenagers! When we complained about the food we were just told "I'll tell the chef".The one young man who was in a suit and tie (didn't get his name) was extremely helpful and apologetic and seemed to be the only one who knew what he was doing! He deserves a medal!!
John, at reception when we checked out, offered us a discount on our 'next stay' but after this experience that isn't likely to ever happen!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mushies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSketchleyGrange, Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I have taken the time to look at your room occupied and to review the alleged standard, I can only apologise for the fact that we did not live up to your expectations.

We do receive many favourable comments about our food and service whilst I appreciate your feedback would suggest the opposite. I can understand John wanting to invite you back to the hotel as this is not the standard our customers have come to expect of us. Should you wish to discuss your recent stay with me in person please do not hesitate to get in touch with the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Refurbed rooms brilliant.
The older rooms are very tired hence hotel is undergoing refurb programme.

Nigel FOH Mgr had excellent approach to customers. Fixed our issues very quickly and efficiently, staff extremely helpful. A few issues with housekeeping not cleaning properly or replacing towels and bedding before new customers check in. all these are fixable. would book again. all staff very pleasant.

Room Tip: Avoind rooms on ground floor during wedding season, drunk people play postmans knock in the early ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geex360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSketchleyGrange, Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review which I have shared with the team here at the hotel. Please accept our apologies for any shortfalls with our housekeeping department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was the 2nd time we had stayed here the 1st being brilliant. What a difference a year makes.
The staff I cant fault extremely helpful the problems seem to be back of house, our 1st room had what appeared to be semen marks on the bedding and a steak and kidney pie in the draw (was almost laughable) room 2 should of been used as a fridge it was that cold also on the ground floor with the terrace from the bar outside the window lots of drunken cackling so no relaxing or sleep room 3 lovely and warm very quiet so I thought I would have a nice hot bath no chance no hot water oh and no tv in any of the rooms as it had crashed.
We did get some money back but not all of it which I feel we should have.

Room Tip: Ask for the old wing its quieter Check the draws for your late night nibbles!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queensway090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSketchleyGrange, Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Your comments and allegations have not been logged with our duty manager on site and as such I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your feedback in more detail over the telephone. Please could I ask you to make contact at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

As a family this is the third time we have booked on the stay play explore scheme, but the first visit to sketchley grange hotel. We had read the reviews prior to going and despite having read a few negative reviews we still decided to give this hotel a go as it may be that other reviewers were 'nit picking'. However, our experience from the start confirmed the reviewers to be right. On arrival, reception staff were friendly, but there was a family ahead in the queue who we're experiencing difficulties as their booking was not showing on the system and they were obviously upset and showing confirmation emails on their mobile phone to prove it.

We were given a family room in the old wing. The receptionist told us to access our room on the second floor via the lift. But this was still out of order, as noted on previous reviews. We hauled our luggage up to our room to find a cramped room with a double, single and a camp bed. The camp bed was placed at the bottom of the other beds giving no walk way. The toilet did not flush and the room was very warm despite open windows. Only towels and refreshment facilities were provided for two guests and the decor and furniture looked very tired and old. We went to complain and ask for a better room due to the heat as triggers daughters asthma. We were eventually given a family room in the new wing but initially told there would be a £40 upgrade fee. This was finally wavered. However, the television did not work. Unfortunately the whole satellite system for the hotel was not working so hence no TV at all for our stay. But you can appreciate that this should not reflect on the hotel as this is out of their their control. Here was no information in the room about meal times, numbers to call for reception etc etc. again, only facilities and towels provided for two guests, but was corrected when requested. Further two guests on the first evening complaining about the heat in the rooms and that the window was open but the children were unable to sleep due to the noise from guests drinking in the seated garden area. Two guests requesting refund as they were going home as it was substandard and one guest heard to compare the hotel to 'faulty


Pool and spa area very good, except for lots of couples petting each other in the pool despite the usual warnings being on display and no staff member on pool side to monitor. Not a good thing for younger children to witness.

Breakfast was adequate and the staff in the dining area were very smart, professional and courteous. A credit to the hotel and unfortunately, the highlight of our stay. Needless to say we will not return here and return to our previous hotel for future visits.

Room Tip: If staying at this hotel please request your family room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSketchleyGrange, Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

As explained during your stay with us the unexpected storms and loss of electricity, which was experienced in the whole town of Hinckley caused our lift and satellites to fail. I hope the complimentary upgrade went someway to ease your disappointment. Please accept my apologies for the unforeseen circumstances encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

First off, the staff are GREAT, polite and professional.

I stayed here recently while working away, in what can only be described as the smallest hotel room I've ever been in, it was very tired, peeling paper, worn through carpet, mold around the bath etc.

The WIFI is free but does not work. There is no 3G here, in case you might need it, which you would do, if you needed to work.

Some money needs to be spent on this place.

If you want a leisure break its probably OK, but for anything work related, look around.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ondnkasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSketchleyGrange, Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We have many styles of rooms and enough to cater for every taste, the Wi-Fi has been upgraded to fibre optic and I am told very reliable, please let our reservations team know your requirements and room type should you stay again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinckley
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Hinckley Island
7.1 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,102 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Ullesthorpe Court Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hinkley
Premier Inn Hinkley
#1 of 3 in Hinckley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 40 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa

Property: Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
Address: Sketchley Lane, Hinckley LE10 3HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Hinckley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hinckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sketchley Grange Hotel And Spa
Sketchley Grange Hotel Hinckley
Best Western Hinckley
Sketchley Grange Hinckley
Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa Hinckley, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing