We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conference venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jurys Inn Hinckley Island
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hinckley
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Conference venue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed here for a conference. Everything was ok. The room for our evening meal,Lakeside was characterless, sterile and dull. The beer at the bar took forever to run through clear. The food was ok but uninspiring. My room was ok ,but had ancient bathroom fittings with an off-white plastic toilet seat which was in need of modernising. This is a very y large hotel ,but managed to only have 2 gents toilets, miles from the meeting rooms we were using and at one point one was out of action.So overall it was just ok....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_D61_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Hinckley Isl... H, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear John_D61_13

It is disappointing to read that your stay was unsatisfactory to you. I have brought your comments to the attention of the Bars Manager, Maintenance team and our Head Chef so that improvements can be made where possible. We do have toilets located outside of our Paris Suite and outside of our Mayfair/London suite, I can only think that unfortunately the other set of toilets were not pointed out to you whilst one set were being cleaned, I would therefore like to offer my apologises for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Tony Hill, Executive General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    644
    387
    216
    140
See reviews for
498
443
41
683
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

My sister in law was staying at the hotel and invited me and the wife to dinner and a chat. Food was ok but very bland, and the bar prices were on the expensive side and having stayed before that day I noticed that standards had slipped overall.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Hinckley Isl... H, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Discs

Thank you for your review, I have passed your comments on to our Head Chef who was disappointed to hear that your meal was unsatisfactory to you. We will use your comments to improve on our standards and service.

Kind regards

Tony Hill, Executive General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I have just had the most marvellous experience at this hotel and would recommend it highly. It was my special 80th birthday and my family booked a dinner for 28 of us which I can only call superb. The food was excellent (and believe me, we are very fussy about our food), the service was equally so being conducted by 3 young ladies and drinks were reasonable for a hotel. We also booked 4 rooms for guests travelling a long way including Finland. These were excellent also with everything provided e.g toiletries, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities and a very comfortable bed. All in all a very enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: the 4 rooms we booked were all good and no problem with noise. My son and his wife and 3 children w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trev and Reenie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Hinckley Isl... H, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Trev and Reenie H

I am so happy to hear that your 80th Birthday celebration was rounded of in style and so delighted that my team here at the Hinckley Island Hotel were able to provide you with the service and quality that you so deserve for such a special occasion. It is also lovely to see that my team members upgraded your son and his family to one of executive suites as these are ideal for larger families.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Hinckley Island Hotel again in the future, if I can be of any assistance at all please do not hesitate to contact me at hinckelyisland.gm@pumahotels.co.uk.

Kind regards

Tony Hill, Executive General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I chose to stay DDB because there are no other restaurants in the vicinity. Main course I had cod with roast potatoes, onions, parsnip...The vegetables were all rubbery on the outside - making them horrible to eat. And the cod had no taste at all - clearly overcooked.
I then opted for sticky toffee pudding for dessert, thinking that having complained about the main course, the pudding would surely be of a reasonable standard. I was wrong. Again it had been in the microwave far too long.
When I'm visiting Hinckley next, without a doubt I'll be trying the Sketchley Grange.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Hinckley Isl... H, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Mark D

I am very disappointed to learn that your food was not to your satisfaction during your recent stay. I have forwarded your comments to our Head Chef so that improvements can be made, where possible.

Should you wish to discuss your stay in more detail please do not hesitate to contact me directly on hinckleyisland.gm@pumahotels.co.uk.

I do hope that in time you will come back and try us again.

Kind regards

Tony Hill, Executive General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hinckley hotels

Hinckley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Met up with friends using a Groupon deal which was excellent value for money. Hotel interesting/unusual in layout but good bar services with good quality food although slightly limited in dinner options.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Hinckley Isl... H, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear John P

It is great to see that you received such good service during your stay and found the hotel of interest to you. I will pass you compliments to the Chef and his team.

Hinckley Island Hotel is part of the puma hotels collection, 21 hotels across the UK ranging from coastal resorts, city centre getaway destinations to country retreats. We often run promotions for all our hotels on Groupon and through other agents. Check our website for further details on all our hotels and available offers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Tony Hill, Executive General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

The hotel itself is a fair size. The food was good. The rooms are spacious. I stayed in an Exec room. Nice large comfortable bed. Good size bathroom. Tea and coffee making facilities (not topped up next day). Hair dryer was ok but not brilliant and I'm glad I'd brought my own. There was an iron but no ironing board. No safe or fridge.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GracieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Hinckley Isl... H, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear GracieD

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, it is great to see that you enjoyed the meals and that your room was to your approval. Your comments regarding the room have been passed to our housekeeping department, so that improvements can be made where possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Tony Hill, Executive General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I cannot believe this is a 4 star hotel I have been here since 11th November and am appalled at the state of the place..
It is in desperate need of a lick of paint, the ceiling in the dining room is smoke yellow and there are clean patches around the loft access.
The first week we had a carvery every night because it was "easier on the kitchen when they were busy".
The loo roll holder was hanging off the wall,
The trouser press along with the mini fridge had been removed,
The lighting in the room was too dull to do any work by,
My associate could not get a shower cap and she had to change rooms 4 times because of a lack of hot water, flooding through the ceiling and the 3rd room being filthy and nothing worked.

The most annoying thing was having to walk along a corridor that stank of cigarette smoke cause Dreams bedrooms were having their annual convention here and some people were smoking in the entrances, management should ensure they do not do this.

If I was paying myself I would refuse to pay

Room Tip: Ensure you have a room away from the rotunda as it can be very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomAOConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM Hinckley Isl... H, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Mr TomAOConnor

It is very disappointing to hear that your stay was not to your satisfaction. I would welcome the opportunity of discussing your comments in more detail, when it is convenient please contact me at hinckleyisland.gm@pumahotels.co.uk.

In the mean time I have highlighted your comments with all the relevant departments so that improvements can be made, where possible.

I look forward to hearing from you and I do hope that in time you will come back and try us again.

Kind regards

Tony Hill, Executive General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinckley
1.2 mi away
Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hinkley
Premier Inn Hinkley
#1 of 3 in Hinckley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ullesthorpe Court Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
8.0 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
3.7 mi away
Badgers Mount Hotel
Badgers Mount Hotel
#1 of 1 in Elmesthorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Hinckley Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Hinckley Island

Property: Jurys Inn Hinckley Island
Address: Watling Street, Hinckley LE10 3JA, England (Formerly Hinckley Island Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Hinckley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hinckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jurys Inn Hinckley Island 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently undergone a £11 million refurbishment, Jurys Inn Hinckley Island Hotel and Conference Venue has 362 stylish bedrooms perfectly designed to offer guests all the comforts of home. With 24 hour room service and free WiFi, our spacious hotel bedrooms come fully equipped with large, comfortable beds, en-suite bathrooms, flat screen TVs with Freeview, hairdryers, trouser presses and more. The hotel also boasts an all-day Costa Coffee bar, an on-site Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill, Juvenate Health and Leisure Club with indoor pool, and extensive meeting, function and events spaces with 26 rooms accommodating up to 650 guests. Complimentary parking is also available for up to 600 cars. Nestled in the heart of Leicestershire and surrounded by beautiful countryside, our four star hotel is perfect for a romantic weekend getaway, family adventure, a wedding haven, or a business base. Situated short drives from two golf courses, Bosworth Battlefield, Twycross Zoo, Drayton Manor Theme Park, and the two picturesque cities of Coventry and Leicester, Jurys Inn Hinckley Island Hotel and Conference Venue offers a central location to explore local attractions. Please note, to facilitate the final stages of this refurbishment, our Juvenate Health and Leisure club will be closed from Monday the 10th of February until the of 5th of June for a complete renovation. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Hinckley Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hinckley Island Hotel
Barcelo Hinckley
Island Hinckley
Jurys Inn Hinckley Island Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing