We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jurys Inn Hinckley Island
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hinckley
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Reasonable business hotel”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is a great conference centre, and as a business hotel it is fine. The hotel is large and impersonal. The rooms have recently been refurbished and the main reception, public area's and corridors are all newly carpeted. The hotel was very clean, some slightly dated furniture in bedrooms, however very spacious and comfortable rooms. Spotless linen and well equipped bathrooms. The car park is vast and there are no parking worries. The rates are reasonable and I would stay at this hotel again for business use.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank culshaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear culshaws

Really pleased to see that your recent stay was as expected; clean, tidy, comfortable, spacious with well equipped facilities. We have a variety of offers through out the year please visit our website for details, see you again soon.

Kind regards

Tony Hill, Executive General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    680
    401
    226
    143
See reviews for
518
467
44
735
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here for two night at the weekend with friends and I can't say I'll ever return.

The hotel is well staffed and all of them work hard. However, how this place has been awarded 4*, I fail to understand.

The lobby area is clean and well maintained, with a couple of nice bars, at reasonable prices. However, the rooms are starting to become a little dated and could do with a little update (especially the carpets & curtains!) - bathrooms are more up to date and are very clean and serviceable.

The restaurant is the huge downfall of this place. We had our first night's dinner included in our booking which was extremely poor. Choice was limited, two courses arrived and were served differently to how they were described on the menu. Having said this, staff were attentive when we picked them up on this and changed our meals, without hesitation. However, the food was very bland and not really satisfactory at all. The waitress, though young and polite, tried to charge us for our meal, but was apologetic when we pointed out that the meal was included in the rate.

Breakfast is tragic. Only half of the hotplate was in use on both Saturday & Sunday mornings. If you're vegetarian, you will struggle to get anything past egg and mushroom + cereal. There was no vegetarian alternatives available. The breakfast room was like a cattle market; not a pleasant atmosphere at all.

Unfortunately, this place is like most other Puma/Hotel Collection hotels - cheap and kind of cheerful. I wouldn't recommend this place as a 'treat' of any kind - you can get much more bang for your buck elsewhere.

Having said that - I slept like a baby on both nights, so they're doing something right!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the kitchen extractor fans, as they are on and noisy 24/7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcarbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear mcarbl

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is great to see that you slept well on both nights and that our team members work very hard to ensure our guests are comfortable and welcomed during their stay.

Your feedback will be discussed with my senior management team and shared with all of our heads of department to ensure that every guest experience is as expected and to the required four star standards that we are renowned for. I do hope that in time, despite your disappointing stay that you will return so that we can demonstrate our usual four star standards to you.

Regards

Tony Hill, Executive General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hinckley hotels

Northampton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Have driven by this hotel a few times and had made promise to myself id stay one day. Hotel is part of Leicestershires stay play explore deal and advertised as family friendly...yes i thought...stay at the hotel and kids will be welcome. Well at check in my excited children caused a stir with the posh older generation and we overheard a couple tut "oh great, screaming kids". Room was very spacious, clean, well presented, tea/coffee facilities provided. Bathroom clean. However kettle doesnt fit under tap so used the glasses by sink to fill it up each time. Not the end of the world though. Warm summer weekend, 5 in a room, and no AC, window (on ground floor) bearly opens more than a couple of inchs, not enough fresh air/ventilation. Better lighting needed in bedroom, bedwall lamps not adequate in my opinion. Breakfast was lovely, lots of choice, conservatory lovely feature. But as advertised as family friendly i expected family facilities. A highchair seemed a tall order, no full cream milk available for our under 2 year old. Pool was fab and older child enjoyed it, for a heated pool it could have been warmer. Unfortunately Couldnt use sauna/steam room because of supervising children but looked alright. Didnt eat lunch/dinner at hotel as despite menu saying childrens menu available, staff all looked oblivious when we asked for it. The first highchair we were bought had a broken safety harness and the second one was filthy. Other guests starring and tutting as we had disturbed their quiet drinks time. We left and went out into town for dinner both nights of our stay. This is a lovely hotel but if it is going to continue offering deals on a family friendly basis, it needs to consider its facilities/amenities. I would not recommend it to friends with young family.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumof3girls82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear mumof3girls82

So sorry to hear that your family stay was not to your expectations, your feedback will be passed to our operations team for further investigation as the family friendly items such as high chairs and children’s menu should be readily available, I apologise that they were not.
We have a lot of families stay with us due to the family friendly atmosphere and I am sorry that your experience has not mirrored theirs. I do hope that you will give us another go at some point in the future to show you what a wonderful hotel we are.

Kind regards

Tony Hill, Executive General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Have just spent one night at hotel celebrating a wedding. Friendly courteous staff on check in, room spotless, very comfy beds and powerful hot shower. Good choice at breakfast, the bacon and scrambled egg lovely, and I am very fussy!!! All staff very helpful, friendly and very professional.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Shirley D

Very pleased to see that your stay was enjoyable and everything to your satisfaction, look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Tony Hill, Executive General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My Daughter recently married in the Hinkley Island Hotel - wow, is all I can say. The wedding was amazing, the staff fell over them selves to support with everything. The setting in the hotel was stunning and gave some great photo oppotunities. I would definatley recommend this hotel for anyone getting married and I would use it as a base for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear joanne M

We are absolutely delighted to see that your daughters wedding went so well and that everything was as expected if not more. The hotel does give some great photo opportunities with the lake, rotunda and its long, wide corridors making it an ideal venue.
We too look forward to welcoming you back in the future for a weekend getaway please visit our website for offers.

Kind regards

Tony Hill, Executive General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The other negative reviews about this hotel should be noted as they are very true. I stayed for one night, not the best experience of my life. Lets start with check in, there are least five check-in terminals, only one was in use, 10 minute delay. The layout of the hotel feeds from a hub, rotunda, with corridors containing the bedrooms leading off this. This rotunda is used for conference drinks areas, not good when you're trying to find your room with bags, avoiding drunken DPD staff enjoying themselves.

This is a four star hotel and at £141 per night should be better, two other points to note, luke warm shower in the morning and soup spoons on the breakfast table. All in all , poor service, too busy and no attention to detail expected at a four star hotel. One star.. must improve, its only the location of being next to Magna Park and Triumph that keeps this hotel going

Room Tip: Avoid room 532
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear jim g

Very disappointed to read that your recent stay with us, was not to your satisfaction. The customer care issues that you have mentioned will be looked into and I apologise for any dissatisfaction that you may have experienced.

Regards

Tony Hill, Executive General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I was at the Hinckley Island Hotel with a business group and I should point out that the hotel was busy with 2 conference groups and a wedding. That said it is a big hotel, very big with conference facilities for up to 650 so it doesn't take Einstein to figure out staffing levels.

It is not acceptable to have to wait 20 minutes for a drink in the lounge/bar, equally it is not acceptable to have to wait 2 hours for food in the lounge/bar

The breakfast food in the Brasserie was very good.

The room was spacious and comfortable, however only one window opened and then only by 3 inches so without and A/C on a warm summer's day, as it was, it was inadequate.

Now, go figure this! The room is equipped with tea and coffee facilities, excellent! However, if the kettle won't fit under the tap in the bathroom's hand basin how the hell are you supposed to make a cup of tea? You tip the kettle so it will go under the tap partially fill it and then when you try and extricate the kettle you lose half the water because you have to tip it to get it out!! Fortunately I had a length of rubber hose so I filled the sink, and syphoned the water from the sink into the kettle !!!! NO, of course I didnt!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Alan B

Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your recent experience with us. I am a little disappointed to read some elements of this review and do hope that you took the time to discuss your stay with our duty manager prior to departure. We will of course, share your feedback and where at all possible use it to further enhance our guests experiences.

Regards

Tony Hill, Executive General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinckley
1.2 mi away
Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
8.0 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
4,145 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ullesthorpe Court Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
3.7 mi away
Badgers Mount Hotel
Badgers Mount Hotel
#1 of 1 in Elmesthorpe
367 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 40 in Leicester
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Hinckley Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Hinckley Island

Property: Jurys Inn Hinckley Island
Address: Watling Street, Hinckley LE10 3JA, England (Formerly Hinckley Island Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Hinckley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hinckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jurys Inn Hinckley Island 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently undergone a £11 million refurbishment, Jurys Inn Hinckley Island Hotel and Conference Venue has 362 stylish bedrooms perfectly designed to offer guests all the comforts of home. With 24 hour room service and free WiFi, our spacious hotel bedrooms come fully equipped with large, comfortable beds, en-suite bathrooms, flat screen TVs with Freeview, hairdryers, trouser presses and more. The hotel also boasts an all-day Costa Coffee bar, an on-site Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill, Juvenate Health and Leisure Club with indoor pool, and extensive meeting, function and events spaces with 26 rooms accommodating up to 650 guests. Complimentary parking is also available for up to 600 cars. Nestled in the heart of Leicestershire and surrounded by beautiful countryside, our four star hotel is perfect for a romantic weekend getaway, family adventure, a wedding haven, or a business base. Situated short drives from two golf courses, Bosworth Battlefield, Twycross Zoo, Drayton Manor Theme Park, and the two picturesque cities of Coventry and Leicester, Jurys Inn Hinckley Island Hotel and Conference Venue offers a central location to explore local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Lastminute, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jurys Inn Hinckley Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hinckley Island Hotel
Barcelo Hinckley
Island Hinckley
Jurys Inn Hinckley Island Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing