We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - and very dog friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jurys Inn Hinckley Island
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hinckley
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Fantastic - and very dog friendly!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great hotel, only half an hour from Stratford Upon Avon. Its a beautiful hotel, the rotunda is just gorgeous. Outside there is a small lake with fountain, and hundreds of fish! There is a drop off point at reception and luggage trolleys. We had a double executive room, it was spacious with a king size bed, sofa, desk & chair, tv, drawers and wardrobe.
There are several places to eat, the brasserie; which is a bit pricey but you get what you pay for. The Piazza, which is more informal and mainly lighter meals, indoor and outdoor seating. The Triumph Bar, a traditional bar that also serves food. The Conservatory.
There is also several comfortable chairs and tables in reception, ideal for coffee or drinks.
The leisure club is a little disappointing, the gym is small and the equipment is pretty outdated but its fine for a holiday workout. The pool is not really a fitness pool, more one for the kids. There is a spa pool, sauna and steam room.
There is a games room signposted but it would be more accurate to say its a kids play room. A few toys for under 5's, colouring pads and a few boardgames.
Staff are very helpful; nothing is too much trouble. Being July the bedroom got very warm & stuffy, so I asked for a fan. One was brought up to the room within an hour, made the world of difference! They also made and decorated a birthday cake for my mums 60th.

DOG OWNERS: many hotels advertise as being dog friendly but its usually just a rouse to add an extra charge to your bill. This hotel is genuinely dog friendly, everytime we ate we were offered water for the dogs, staff took the time to greet the dogs and chat about them. They were also very accommodating about letting us sit outside whilst dining from the brasserie menu. Its just £15 per dog per stay which is very reasonable.
Can't wait to come back soon!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Nikki F

It is very pleasing to see that all elements of your stay were to your satisfaction with our variety of different areas; to relax, to enjoy a quick coffee, light snack or a full 3 course meal in comfort. Our aim is to please all our guests and to make them feel at home, I am delighted to see that this was achieved during your stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Tony Hill, Executive General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    680
    401
    226
    143
See reviews for
517
466
44
735
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed the 24th and 25 th July with our two grandchildren and had a wonderful stay , hotel very organised from check in to check out beautiful room with two double beds very clean . Breakfast was lovely with excellent choice for all four of us . We did the play stay explore deal which is excellent value . Made good use of the pool which was lovely returning from a day out in the heat can't fault the stay great value

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugerplum68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear sugarplum68

Pleased to see that your break with the grandchildren was of such great value for money and that everything from food, rooms and our leisure facilities were to your satisfaction and enjoyment. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Tony Hill, Executive General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This was my third stay at the Hinckley Island Hotel, and all I can say is that the standards have got steadily worse on every visit. On my first visit with my family 4 years ago we were warmly greeted at reception, fun packs were handed out to my children and we were all thoroughly impressed, and left feeling we'd had a 4 star stay at a 4 star hotel.

On the second visit with my family 2 years ago (we take advantage of Leicestershire's excellent 'Stay, Play, Explore' offers), the hotel had been taken over by the Puma Group and we were saddened to see that cost cutting seemed to be having a detrimental affect on the quality of the hotel. The staff were now mostly eastern European, the rooms weren't quite so clean, and the quality of the food had dropped. We left after this visit feeling we'd had a 3 star visit at a 4 star hotel.

For our recent little family break, we decided to try the Hinckley Island Hotel again, as it was now part of the 'Hotel Collection Group', and we thought that the hotel may have returned to the high standards of our first visit. Sadly, this wasn't the case. In fact, the opposite has happened. The rooms are still reasonably comfortable, although the fixtures and fittings are showing serious signs of wear. The buffet breakfast, which was so impressive on our first visit 4 years ago was a massive disappointment, as the choice of items was minimal and the quality of the food seems to be the cheapest that could be bought. Even the teabags were so weak we resorted to putting 2 bags in our cup to try and get some flavour!

We will not be returning to the Hinckley Island Hotel, which is a shame as we were so impressed with our stay on our first visit, but it seems like the new owners have no interest in keeping those high standards, and our final stay only confirmed our fears that this is now a hotel that is a shadow of its former self, and now prioritises cutting costs over customer satisfaction. This hotel may have 4 stars, but the quality of the stay is now 2 stars at best, which is a great shame as we know it has been so much better in the past.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear S B

Very disappointed to read about your experience and would like to offer my apologies for any disappointment that was experienced. The hotel is still in a transient stage of ownership and I can assure you that our aim is to provide all our guests with the highest level of service and quality.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be discussed in more detail with our management team. I do hope that in the future we can welcome you back to the hotel for a four star treatment.

Regards

Tony Hill, Executive General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hinckley hotels

Widnes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I had a five star check in ,in fact all my stay was five star except for the fact that there was no air conditioning ,which affected me due to the fact it was one of the hottest weeks of the year and i am a night shift worker therefore affected my sleep. The bar and restaurant was excellent ,the staff gave 100% at all times ,organised everything that was asked from booking a taxi to supplying a forgotten toothbrush.great job by everyone

Room Tip: Ask for rear wings of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Peter B

Delighted to see that your stay with us was to your satisfaction we have a variety of room types with different facilities please ask when booking for more information.

Regards

Tony Hill, Executive General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

For a year we have heard nothing but glowing reports from our fellow travellers about The Hinckley Island Hotel. Even on the coach on the way to the hotel some were still praising it. On arrival we were met by a member of staff who gave us our key card for our room , staff directed us to our rooms. Our room was a good size,well furnished with large bed, table and easy chairs , wardrobe and dressing table, flat screen t.v, and good sized bathroom. Everything was as good as we had heard until we went in for evening meal, what a disappointment. Previously waiter service was now buffet style , not much room between tables, staff on hand to remove used plates etc. Soup was cold and lumpy, salad alternative was better but not much. Choice of lamb, chicken legs, pasta dish or salad, with choice of vegetables. Sounds good but quality not the best. Sweets were no better, usual cheese cakes etc. The food quality only improved after our holiday company complained to the hotel owners.Over priced drinks in the bar did nothing to help. Good points . The beds were very comfortable and quiet, the breakfasts very good and most of the staff very helpful. The main downside to this hotel is the amount of companies having conferences and staying over night, certain members of staff were crawling over them and ignoring others. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Ken W

Thank you for the taking the time to share your thoughts with us. It is pleasing to hear that your room was ideal for you in size and comfort and that a good nights sleep was had along with a full filing breakfast.

Please except my apologies for any disappointment that you may have experienced, the customer care issues you experienced will be looked into in more detail. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to demonstrate to you our usual standards and service.

Regards

Tony Hill, Executive General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with our dog , it was nice but the staff were a bit condescending, we were the guests and paying to stay there, but some of the staff tried to look down their noses at us and other guests, the food was nice though, please remember that when guests are there that they are paying you your wages and do not approve being treated poorly!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Lee D

Really pleased to see that you enjoyed your meals, yet extremely disappointed to hear of your experience. Our team members are usually very friendly and welcoming to all our guests, I can only apologise to you for feeling this way.

Regards

Tony Hill, Executive General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Have you ever wished that you had never left home. Today was one of those days. Booking in was good we were early so we decided to go to find a local pub for a bite to eat. Had to travel several miles to find one open. Eventually found one. Arrived back at the hotel and got our room. Decided to go to the leisure centre and have a swim and sauna. This area really needs a re vamp and updating. We booked in for evening meal at 7 30. Service was appalling we eventually finished our meal at 9 15. I could have done better myself. There were a number of guests that like us were not impressed. Decided to go to thr bar for a drink they had no Jamesons and no Tia Maria not a good start. We then decided to have special liquor coffee. Ordered two special coffees with liquor. We got latte with liquor. Sent them back. We then got special coffees in cups, they had run out of the glasses to put them in. We were not charged for the liquors. I should think not we had to wait 30 mins for 2 coffees. We have not gone to bed yet so I cannot comment on breakfast . Might have to add to this tomorrow. If you are thinking of staying here at the Hinckley Island Hotel think again. We will definitely not come again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H, General Manager at Jurys Inn Hinckley Island, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Ian K

I am very sorry to hear about your disappointing evening with us. I do hope that other elements of your stay were to your satisfaction and that you took the opportunity to discuss this with our duty manager during your stay. We thank you for the taking the time to share your thoughts with us and I will be discussing this further with our heads of department.

Regards

Tony Hill, Executive General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinckley
1.2 mi away
Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
8.0 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
4,144 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ullesthorpe Court Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
3.7 mi away
Badgers Mount Hotel
Badgers Mount Hotel
#1 of 1 in Elmesthorpe
367 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 40 in Leicester
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Hinckley Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Hinckley Island

Property: Jurys Inn Hinckley Island
Address: Watling Street, Hinckley LE10 3JA, England (Formerly Hinckley Island Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Hinckley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hinckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jurys Inn Hinckley Island 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently undergone a £11 million refurbishment, Jurys Inn Hinckley Island Hotel and Conference Venue has 362 stylish bedrooms perfectly designed to offer guests all the comforts of home. With 24 hour room service and free WiFi, our spacious hotel bedrooms come fully equipped with large, comfortable beds, en-suite bathrooms, flat screen TVs with Freeview, hairdryers, trouser presses and more. The hotel also boasts an all-day Costa Coffee bar, an on-site Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill, Juvenate Health and Leisure Club with indoor pool, and extensive meeting, function and events spaces with 26 rooms accommodating up to 650 guests. Complimentary parking is also available for up to 600 cars. Nestled in the heart of Leicestershire and surrounded by beautiful countryside, our four star hotel is perfect for a romantic weekend getaway, family adventure, a wedding haven, or a business base. Situated short drives from two golf courses, Bosworth Battlefield, Twycross Zoo, Drayton Manor Theme Park, and the two picturesque cities of Coventry and Leicester, Jurys Inn Hinckley Island Hotel and Conference Venue offers a central location to explore local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jurys Inn Hinckley Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hinckley Island Hotel
Barcelo Hinckley
Island Hinckley
Jurys Inn Hinckley Island Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing