We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant”

34 Windsor St Restaurant & Cocktail Bar
Ranked #11 of 102 Restaurants in Hinckley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$51
Cuisines: British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A contemporary restaurant and cocktail bar nestled in the heart of the beautiful village of Burbage, a suburb of Hinckley and Bosworth, 34W is the destination to experience creative modern British food, carefully selected wines, cheeky cocktails and vintage afternoon tea. Enjoy the company of friends, family and loved ones in relaxed, warm and intimate surroundings. 34W caters for everyone especially at the weekend, the perfect venue for a romantic date night, special occasion dinner or relax with the Saturday papers over Chef's homemade breakfast pastries and legendary eggs benedict, treat yourself to lunch or prosecco afternoon tea or simply gather friends and family together for a delicious Sunday lunch. As a venue we can host the smallest to the largest of celebrations and can cater to a wide range of private events & meetings. We have a dedicated events team, state of the art audio and visual facilities and a brigade who will design a bespoke menu around your personal preferences and seasonal ingredients that will match the mood of any occasion.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We have eaten at the restaurant a number of times. Every visit has been a pleasure
Lovely menu options and tasty food. One of our favourite places to eat. Just what Burbage needs, locals should offer support by eating at this great restaurant

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    115
    49
    35
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“As good as it gets.”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We took friends from Kansas City. Their rating was high, as was ours. We are looking forward to our second visit. The food, wine and service would challenge many good city restaurants. The fact that it has such high standards in a Leicestershire village is remarkable. Our only criticism is that the piped music was a little loud.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedworth
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ladies and Gentlemens afternoon tea”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The location has been tastefully refurbished since the previous ownership, and it was good to see a comfortable holding area whist waiting to be seated.
Staff were attentive and anxious to please.
The Gentlemens tea was ample and thoughtfully prepared, athough the beef in the sandwiches was tough and required a large amount of chewing. The remainder of items were well presented, tasty and ample.
The Ladies had no complaints and the dainty sandwiches, pastries, cakes were well received.
Tea was served in delicate china cups, and the defusers made the tea very good and most pleasant.

All in all the experience was most enjoyable even though there was little atmosphere as we were the only party there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank micknmarg55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food was awful! Trying to be too clever so missed the basics! Flavour!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Night started badly when I received a call asking where I was at 6.50pm my table was booked for 7.30pm. Service very good. Cocktails nice. Wine good. Food awful! Bland! Trying to be too clever and missing the basics of flavour! Starters were poor. The mains were unimpressive. Lamb fatty and bland. My fellow diner's gnocchi was over cooked and bland. No sauce so very dry! The sea bass was good. I had high expectations so left very disappointed. Will not be returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Hayp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, Public Relations Manager at 34 Windsor St Restaurant & Cocktail Bar, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Hayley

We would like to thank you for taking the time to speak with our restaurant manager John and discuss your issues. As you are aware all of your comments have been taken on board and and we are very pleased that you have accepted our offer to return to 34 Windsor St.

Our 1st anniversary celebrations commence on 6th May and our chef has created a delicious new menu comprising of our most popular classic dishes, alongside a few kitchen favourites all of which have been enjoyed by guests since we opened in May 2013.

We look forward to welcoming you back to 34 soon.

Many thanks & kindest regards

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Local restaurant gets even better!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Our previous visit to this restaurant was for lunch and we were impressed. This time we went for dinner on a Saturday and it was even better.

Booking by their website was quick and simple. A confirmatory email arrived within minutes.

On arrival we were met, welcomed and our initial drink order taken. Menus arrived with the drinks and our questions about some dishes were answered sensibly. It was clear that our server was familiar with the dishes on offer.

Service was pleasant and unobtrusive. Our food was excellent and the choice of wine by the glass quite extensive. Our bill, including three courses, service and drinks, came to £105.

We shall return!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColinFergusson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 34 Windsor St Restaurant & Cocktail Bar also viewed

 
Hinckley, Leicestershire
Hinckley, Leicestershire
 
Hinckley, Leicestershire
Hinckley, Leicestershire
 

Been to 34 Windsor St Restaurant & Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing