We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Night's Sleep I've had for a long time...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Harlow Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Harlow
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worst Night's Sleep I've had for a long time...”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed here whilst on a business trip recently. It was a mid week stay in August.

Hotel is in a good location, next to the train Station.

The room was clean and simple. As you would expect from a Travelodge.

At the time of my stay is was very warm. The room had no comfort cooling and was very hot.

My nights sleep was interrupted by the boy racers using the adjacent multi-storey car park as a drag race strip and general wheel spinning area. This went on until the early hours.

This coupled with the unbearable room temperature made this possibly the worst nights sleep i've ever had in a hotel.

Breakfast the next day was also awful. I would avoid and head out or take your own.

In summary i would avoid if you are a fan of having a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: I wouldn't sleep on the Car Park/Train Station side of the hotel. The boy racers will keep you u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dj_ely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    100
    51
    18
    23
See reviews for
97
77
29
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

This is one of the revamped lodges and its a definate improvement on the usual run down lodges. Reception staff very pleasant and also informed me not to worry about parking as you can park between 4pm and 10am. Rooms are clean and very comfortable with the new beds and showers are good too. Booked 2 days on the saver which is great value! Needed an extra night so I thought I'd try a comparison hotel that is advertised by Lenny Henry. The Travelodge won easily and I'm now booked up for the next 5 weeks in the Travelodge. Toby carvery next door, hungry horse over the railway line and spoons 1 mile away. All in all its a grat value comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SecuretimeSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I have stayed a few times for business when visiting one of our offices. I tend to stay a day each week somewhere and have been here a few times now. Clean, everything works, un-fussy room, close parking, friendly staff. Toby Carvery next door will get you a carvery meal and desert for less than a tenner and also does breakfast buffet for £4. Overall its just what I look for. Company is paying so I could pay more but dont need to!

Room Tip: Road one side and station car park the other. Road can be noisy if you have the window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanLeeHooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

You get what you pay for. Stayed for one night with a partner. Bedrooms were clean and tidy. Receptionist was very helpful and general seemed interested in the customer's well being. The location is useful as it's next to the train station but it is a tad noisy as it's near a busy road. Would use again if needed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade-ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed one night and travelled to London the next morning on the train from the station which is effectively on-site. Not the most quiet of locations but OK. Toby Cavery next door which also does breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Chris-Sam-Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

very clean and tidy, good attention to detail. It seems they are really interested
in making your stay pleasant. Free parking first night.
Excellent Toby Inn next door, the breakfast buffet very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel last weeked as we were attending a wedding, the rooms over looking the main road were too hot with the windows closed and too noisy with the windows open. Receptionist very welcoming, rooms had been refurbished. We asked if they could recomend a taxi number and were given the number for ABC taxis. We pre-booked both ways to the wedding and charged £40.00 to travel to the event. We amended the time of the return taxi during the evening which was fine with them, but they did not collect us and indicated we didn't come out for the taxi so it returned, there were people at the front of the building and no taxi had arrived. We ended up being stranded for hours until another taxi company kindly agreed to take us. Seemingly Harlow taxi drivers don't like working outside Harlow, we tried quite a few other companies and they would not travel as far into the countryside. Make sure if you are staying and travelling outside Harlow you have some transport of your own.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy7789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harlow
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harlow
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Harlow Hotel
2.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Green Man Hotel
Green Man Hotel
#4 of 8 in Harlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Ware Hotel
4.7 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Harlow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Harlow Hotel

Property: Travelodge Harlow Hotel
Address: Edinburgh Gate, Harlow CM20 2JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Harlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Harlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Harlow Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Harlow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Harlow Central Hotel Harlow
Travel Lodge Harlow
Harlow Travel Lodge
Harlow Travelodge
Travelodge Harlow Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing