We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and customer service but don't go in Summer”
Review of Green Man Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Green Man Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Harlow
Reviewed 17 June 2009

There are lots of good things about this hotel, including the relaxed adjoining pub restaurant with chain-type menu and exposed beams, the good value for money, the friendly and helpful staff etc.

The interior is tired but not shabby. I would only stay there in the winter as my room was unacceptably hot.

Although the heating was off there was no air conditioning and I believe that the hot watering through pipes around the place (especially the bathroom's towel rail) was the main factor in keeping the room's temperature up.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gusset25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2009

Stayed on the top floor. Room was basically ok (clean and tidy) although carpets were getting a little threadbare. When we arrived back at night the room was boiling hot despite the window being left open. We could honestly not sleep properly as a result of this and the same problem was verified by the couple next door to us. I did toy with taking a quick shower but was very relieved I didn't as in the morning it took about 10 minutes to get the shower to switch off! Having nodded off for a while we were then awoken at around 7.30 by the sound of the pub's bottles being emptied into a recycle bin/skip! We found the staff to be not particularly welcoming and were not made aware of closing time for breakfast (despite looking at the menu in our room there was nothing stating this) When we asked about breakfast at 10.30 we were curtly told it was "finished already" and were not forthcoming about alternative places to eat.

The pub looked very nice and I understand that the hotel is undergoing refurbishment. May I recommend if nothing else a ceiling fan of some kind if they are not going to install air conditioning! Nice location so hopefully things will improve. In the meantime we have no intention of going back!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoxyStoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of a avent we were attending. The staff were very helpfull and friendly, good food and clean, practical rooms. The hotel is under going a re-fit, which was explained to us on our arrival, so a few problems, but these were delt with by the staff very quickly. Will recommend this hotel for a group due to stay in September.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleybNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2008

Basically the hotel is as you would expect at any Travel Lodge/Premier Inn. No bad thing really, the price was reasonable and the breakfast pretty decent too. If you go expecting this sort of thing you won't be disappointed. The attached pub was pretty reasonable too, I did not eat in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MSRQW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2008

Truly the worst hotel I have ever stayed in in my life! It looked charming on the travelocity website but the photos are very deceiving! We arrived after our transatlantic flight and I nearly burst into tears when I saw the room. The manager flat out refused to let us out of our three-night pre-paid stay. I was too exhausted to argue so I laid down for a nap and woke 45 minutes later to find that my face was covered in bug bites. It was truly disgusting! The paint was peeling on the walls, the bathroom wallpaper was moldy and there were about 20 construction workers sitting idly in the courtyard smoking cigarettes and cursing at each other in Polish. We promptly left and checked into the Waltham Abbey Marriott where I wanted to stay to begin with. You can always count on Marriott to save the day!

Stayed: September 2007
4  Thank OffWeGo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Όχι στον δεύτερο όροφο
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mixmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank wilmsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophie m, Team Leader at Green Man Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harlow
2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harlow
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Harlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ware Hotel
3 mi away
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
1,723 reviews
3.5 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Man Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Man Hotel

Address: Apartment 2 Mulberry Green House Mulberry Green, Harlow CM17 0ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Harlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Harlow
Price Range: £55 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Man Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Green Man Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Man Hotel Harlow
Green Man Harlow
Green Man Hotel Harlow, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing