We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Updated review of the Coach House”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coach House
Ranked #6 of 16 Hayling Island B&B and Inns
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Updated review of the Coach House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

It's been over four years since our last visited here so my wife decided to book a night here for my birthday.

It's changed a little over the years, it has some kitchen units now providing a little more in the way of self catering options, no oven or anything...but there is a toaster, kettle, microwave, fridge and plenty of cutlery and crockery.

Cooked breakfast is no longer included in the room rate, it's strictly continental now.....this is fine with me though....not just because the selection provided is extensive but because the price has not changed in 5 years. As well as breakfast, there was tins of soup, beans etc. so there is even enough for a bit of lunch if you're staying a couple of nights or more.

The Coach House retains it's picturesque unique quaintness and is a great escape from the hustle and bustle of life.

There is a flat screen TV but no DVD player now.

The Stennings (owners who live in the Old House next door) are a lovely couple and we would very much like to return for another visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

We've just arrived back from a wonderful weekend with Mick and Jenny Stenning at the Coach House. I can honestly say that this is the best B & B we have ever stayed in and far exceeds any hotel accommodation we have found. The room is amazing - enormous, clean and warm, with beautiful rural views. The breakfasts were of excellent quality (veggie sausages bought specially) and piping hot., brought to an immaculate table in the main house with silverware, linen napkins and fresh flowers on an antique refectory table. The room has a good-sized fridge, so we were able to buy food, a range of cutlery and crockery, fresh coffee, fruit, biscuits, fluffy bath towels, a huge bed, large tv...the list of comforts and kindnesses go on and on.
Do go and stay there. It really is very special indeed and you will meet a lovely couple who go out of their way to make your stay very, very special.
Oh, did I mention that it is completely detached, very private, wonderfully quiet and you have use of their gorgeous garden?

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank RosySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2008

We arrived late afternoon to find the hosts waiting for us but ready to head off ito the pub in their electric blue Aston Martin DB6.
We had imagined from photos that the room would be half of the building, it was the whole building.
Unfortunately the shower is small and light on pressure, apart from that everything is a delight. Tea & Coffee facilities,TV, refrigerator, everything you need.
The small village is very quaint with straw roof buildings and wonderful scenery.
The room overlooks the rest of the buildings and through backwindows you can see the apple orchard and Chichester Harbour.
Breakfast was a delight and a great start to our english adventure. The story behind the B&B is interesting and we spent some time with the hosts chatting about all sorts of things. We left them with the feedback that they had set a very high bar for the others to meet.
A magical B&B in a magical setting, thoroughly recommended, an easy drive from the city.

  • Liked — Setting and ambience
  • Disliked — shower too small
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bruhaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2008

The Coach House is a very unique bed & breakfast property. It doesn't cost much more than a double room in a B&B property on Hayling Island but offers so much more.

It's located in the village of Northney in the north east corner of the island in a very quiet rural location, next to the owners main property. It's raised up above some storage unit / garages with it's own private entrance accesible by a staircase.

The loft is very well decorated and worthy of it's 4 start rating inside, it's full of character while providing all the modern conveniences.

Unlike many B&B's you also get an extendable dining table with chairs, placements and cutlery as well as a standard size fridge and microwave. There are also glasses, full tea & coffee making facilities (including hot chocolate, cappucino etc etc!).

Out of two of the windows you can see Chichester harbour accross the fields and it's only a short walk if you want to check out the sand banks a bit closer.

The owners are extremely friendly and offer very good levels of services not to mention an excellent breakfast.

In the room is also a large TV and a trouser press!, the floors are hardwood with some lovelly large rugs. Shower and toilet/sink area all in very good working order with Dove toiletries provided.

The coach house is number one on our list for the next weekend away.

  • Liked — High quality spacious accomodation with character, quiet rural location
  • Disliked — Woodlice!...as it's a converted barn they invaded a little bit but are harmless
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheCorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
2.3 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Havant South (Langstone/A27)
0.9 mi away
Waratah Lodge
Waratah Lodge
#5 of 16 in Hayling Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Property: The Coach House
Address: The Old House Church Lane, PO11 0SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing