We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy once again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mill Rythe Holiday Village
Ranked #1 of 15 Hayling Island B&B and Inns
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Happy once again”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Just had a 4 night break, what a brilliant time, We relaxed in the lovely well lit reception area. Our room was spacious & comfortable. The resident entertainment team put on some outstanding shows, with some excellent voices. The visiting acts were brilliant and entertaining. The food as always was outstanding with waiter/ waitress service who all couldn't have done enough. The pool was lovely & warm, the grounds & complex were kept immaculately clean. The staff were attentive and friendly, we wasn't forced to do anything we didn't want to do, plenty of daytime activities if you wanted them. A lovely relaxing holiday with good value for money. We're already booked from last year to go back in July and can't wait. Thank you Mill Rythe for distressing myself & my family with such a lovely break.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms are good, but there are a number upstairs so if somebody had disabilities i would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellowfairy133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Rythe Holiday Village, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Ooh, you had me really worried there for a minute with your last sentence. I'm sure you meant de-stressing & not distressing given the glowing review you gave the park! Looking forward to your return in July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    330
    125
    52
    67
See reviews for
356
235
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just come back from 3 night break at Mill Rythe, our first visit, and had a wonderful time. The village itself was clean, well kept and the gardens were attractive. For the price we paid for the break, we were very impressed by the quality and quantity of the food and the excellent service. The entertainment was of a good standard and we really enjoyed the daily quizzes. The chalets and the pool were a bit dated, but this added to the charm and they were kept clean and warm. Had a wonderfully relaxing and very professional massage. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Rythe Holiday Village, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
And another 5 star review full of all of the things I love to hear Sarah! Really pleased that your first visit won't be your last and that we can have the pleasure of your company again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

just returned from a 4 night break (musicals them) fantastic holiday, entertainment fantastic, especially the resident shows, visiting artists also very good. excellent value for money, food excellent. have already booked to take family whitsun bankholiday week, prices do not go up for school holidays.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janjobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Rythe Holiday Village, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Glad you enjoyed the Musical themed break Jan which certainly received rave reviews from lots of our guests. Also happy to read that like the previous reviewer, you too are coming back to the park to enjoy it all over again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camridges
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

just came back today from mill rythe holiday village we attended grand u. k. holiday reunion the break was truley fantastic the chalet was very good & clean very warm and comfertable the meals were very good and hot the choice was very good the staff went out of there way to please us the entertainment was as good as any where you could find we was so pleased we have booked for 2015 and would advise anyone wanting a good time try it

Room Tip: we went in chalet alton 1 and was very pleased with it so we booked for next feb
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ganderbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Rythe Holiday Village, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Lovely 5 star review from someone who was clever enough to book again for next year! Glad you had a fantastic time & looking forward to providing you with another one next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had a nice stay at Mill Rythe but unfortunately they let themselves down by not getting the small things right. Our room was adequate but the fact that the electrics kept tripping out and the flush on our toilet broke 5 times during our stay left us with a sour taste in our mouths. The evening entertainment is outstanding and there is plenty to do for kids aged 4 and above. However, we had our 13 month old daughter with us and there was very little to keep her entertained during the day. Other resorts that we have visited put on a show or do a story time during the day for the younger kids but there was nothing like this at Mill Rythe. They had a bear character and two other puppets on show for the first evening which our daughter was fixated with so we bought all three teddy bears of the characters from the resort shop for her but unfortunately the bear didn't make another appearance for the rest of our stay and the puppets only once more. At no cost to themselves Mill Rythe could have paraded the bear and the puppets around for just 10 minutes every night and every day for the kids sake but this never happened. I do feel a bit conned by this as the idea was that the bears might remind her of her holiday but as she barely saw them i imagine that they will now just be like any other teddy bear.

Room Tip: Don't book one of the older rooms as the toilets don't flush and the electric trips out if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Rythe Holiday Village, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thanks for your review Gary and your kind comments regarding our evening entertainment. Adrian, the General Manager at the park, has advised that a faulty hairdryer was the cause of the electricity tripping & that you only reported the faulty flush once which was when our Maintenance team attended. I will pass on your comments regarding Bear in the Woods to our Entertainments Manager & I would like to thank you for this feedback. I'm sorry you were disappointed that we did not provide daytime entertainment for your baby daughter however our brochure & website both fully advise what entertainment is available on park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Well, booked this as an adults only valentines weekend at the last minute after looking for something with entertainment for us for a break. Never heard of this place before but it appealed with the top entertainment. Turned out that the Saturday night one, I can't name him for fear of being sued hadn't put on a show for 5 years and couldn't put one on now either, he was the same age as the park.. 75 years. Then the Sunday night star, a former member of the drifters was suddenly taken ill so that was that. The 'standard upgraded' accommodation made pontins look like the ritz, the heating pipes banged all night every night, paid extra for a birthday table decoration and cake. Got 2 balloons and a streamer, no cake, no explanation. Drinks prices different every night even though we had the same all the time. Storm blew down a chalet. etc. etc.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere if you don't get the top room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Rythe Holiday Village, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
I was so disappointed to read your review especially given that the reviews that follow yours on this page have all been excellent and our overall score for customer satisfaction for TripAdvisor reviews is 79%. I would also like to point out that you stayed in one of our Standard rooms and not Standard Plus as per your review. Entertainment is purely down to a matter of taste & as you can see from this page, most of our guests enjoyed themselves however we were all disappointed that Ray could not join us as planned. Our Entertainments Manager did manage to book 2 other acts, within extremely short notice, and both of whom were very well received. I can only apologise that you did not receive the birthday cake as arranged and am unsure as to whether you complained on the night however our General Manager is arranging a refund of the sum paid to be sent to you. As we experienced one of the worst storms ever during your break with us, naturally we did suffer some damage however we were lucky in that the chalet that was lifted was only used as a bike store
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was our first visit to the holiday village.
Must admit the reason that we booked was to see the singer P.J.Proby.
We booked for a 3 night weekend break and had a great time.
With nice accomodation,good food and top class entertainment what more can you want?
We were very impressed with the very talented entertainment team who worked so hard to make sure that everbody enjoyed themselves. On the Friday night they put on an excellent show "Old Time Music Hall" which would not have been out of place in London's West End. On Saturday night the star turn was P.J.Proby. He was amazing, singing as good as ever and backed by the resident band "JetSet". PJ has been backed by some of the best musicians in the world and "JetSet" were as good as any. On the Sunday night we were looking forward to seeing Ray Lewis of the Drifters. Unfortunately Ray pulled out at the last minute due to illness?
At short notice the team at Mill Rythe managed to replace him with 2 top class acts. Arnold Gutbucket (comedian/entertainer) and Audley Anderson (tamla motown show). Must mention Arnold Gutbucket,one of the funniest acts that we have ever seen. I even bought his DVD.
So overall a great weekend break and we will be back for more.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodleyviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Rythe Holiday Village, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thanks for the 5 stars you have awarded us and what makes this review so special is that you were appraising the holiday village for the first time. PJ did go down a storm and everyone I spoke to was very impressed so I was pleased that you were amongst those guests who really enjoyed seeing him again. It was very disappointing that Ray took ill on his way to us but the replacement entertainment was terrific!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
2.1 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
1,652 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
269 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
497 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#4 of 4 in Havant
593 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Rythe Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Rythe Holiday Village

Property: Mill Rythe Holiday Village
Address: Mill Rythe Holiday Village 16 Havant Road, PO11 0PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hayling Island
Hotel Class:4 star — Mill Rythe Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mill Rythe is nestled away on the western side of Chichester Harbour on Hayling Island. Our intimate Holiday Village offers something for everyone.We know how important your leisure time is and so you can be sure that we work hard to deliver just what you are looking for. That's why you can enjoy a wide array of experiences at Mill Rythe Holiday Village. It's perfectly located, easy to find and has everything you need for a great getaway.Ideal For EveryoneWe have many breaks throughout the year that are perfect for everyone to enjoy. Adults, children, groups, couples and families will find something ideal for everyone to enjoy.Lovely Food We have an excellent Head Chef called Steve Steere. He and his team work hard to provide you with a wide variety of great tasting dining options.Holiday Accommodation A good selection of accommodation is available to suit your needs and budget. We have 4 ranges available from Budget right up to Celebration Suites. Plus we have interconnecting rooms available for families.Great for Groups We play host to many special events, large groups, product launches, conferences, associations, social clubs etc. If you are looking for a great destination for your group we may well be what you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Mill Rythe Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Rythe Holiday Village Hotel Hayling Island
Mill Rythe Holiday Village Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing