We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never taking a group of pupils here again!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill Rythe Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mill Rythe Holiday Village
Ranked #1 of 16 Hayling Island B&B and Inns
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Never taking a group of pupils here again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Having been told that the centre was hot on allergies etc, we found nuts in cereal that wasn't labelled. Pupils had to stay in rooms with leaky ceilings that were not fixed properly so kept occurring. Emergency keys to get into pupils' rooms did not work! The worst bit is the way the management staff dealt with my issues: rude, lacked empathy and treated me as if I had done something wrong. My teaching staff had a very stressed week on top of dealing with 30 children away from home. Never again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Rythe Holiday Village, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Naturally I am sorry that you experienced some maintenance & food issues during your school's break with us however I understand that these are being dealt with by the JCA Customer Services team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    309
    117
    50
    61
See reviews for
332
221
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This place is fully packed with activites for kids, chalets are cosy and clean and the restaurant is very clean and the food very well cooked. They made a good choice of food and the waiters were very kind. I went with Year Six (I am a year six) on a week holiday from 7-11th July 2014 and I didn't want to leave! I nearly cried when we boarded the coach and had to say goodbye to the instructors.
All the equipment is safe, fun and helpful. They always try and make you do something, but if you REALLY don't want to, you don't have to.

Some skills are really helpful.

Room Tip: Choose Alton, Bath, Chard, Weston, Deal or York chalets. They are best and quite near the first fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Da S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

What an amazing weekend arrived early and was allowed to check in the staff were amazing whole weekend food good service good would definetley recommend this place for a weekend away cant wait till the next soul weekender well done Mill Rythe

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank peterpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Rythe Holiday Village, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Amazing short review Peter of what turned out to be a really BIG weekend! Pleased we were able to let you check in early which is always something we try to do if we are able. Thanks also for your recommendations to others & we look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

second time here for the soul weekender, rooms basic but clean, staff very friendly and helpful, food excellent couldn't fault the quality or the service of the staff, only bad point is the price of the drinks apart from that I couldn't fault it, already looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Rythe Holiday Village, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
And another hort but sweet review Candy & thrilled to learn that you are coming back again next year for a 3rd visit. I would just mention that the price you pay for drinks on park also includes the fact that you have entertainment as well as the drink
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Our first visit here for the Summer Jazz Party organised by Peter Lay. We had six bands to enjoy and they were all most enjoyable in fact we have already booked for next year. Real Ale was on tap until they ran out on the last day! Food was excellent with several choices. Our room was standard, no frills but satisfactory. Lovely sunshine and coastal path walks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a_stow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Rythe Holiday Village, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
I'm so pleased you enjoyed the Summer Jazz Party & that you are coming back next year to enjoy it all over again! Our standard rooms are exactly that - no frills but more than good enough if you're on a budget! Can I ask was it you that drank the bar dry? Seriously though there was an awfully large amount of real ale drunk during this event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The 6 bands playing for the weekend were very good and the food and service was upto its usual standard. Weekend was let down by the running out of real ale several times. As this was the 13th weekend I would have thought they would have been prepared by now.

Room Tip: Probably worth upgrading to a better room with more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Rythe Holiday Village, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
I'm sorry there was a problem with our supply of real ale however this was more to do with the suppliers rather than a fault of the park. I'm happy to see you still gave us 4 out of 5 stars which indicates to me that you still had a good holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Visited Mill Rythe for May half term travelling from Liverpool in a party of four adults three children. I had read in reviews it was a good British holiday and in many respects it was. The emphasis being on fun rather than perceived enjoyment by looking at trendy furnishings etc. The food was excellent and always hot and service good. Chalets and public places were lovely and clean. Daytime activities for adults and children enjoyable and sports facilities good (except for indoor pool which should be knocked down and rebuilt). However what we and the children were looking forward to most turned out to be a complete disaster. The evening entertainment!!!! or the lack of it.

Myself and many other holiday makers I spoke to on site were looking forward to early evening games the children could understand and join in, family party dances, family competitions some good adult dancing (in fact the opportunity to dance at all would have been good) and a couple of earlier shows we could watch as a family.

Alas what were we subjected to for most of the time:
A pair of children's entertainers who were far more interested in their performance and the sound of their own voices than relating to the children. They stayed on the stage instead of interacting with the children on the ballroom floor. It was no better when the female entertainer took the children out while bingo was being played. She didn't have any skills in how to relate to the children. The staff member who did the cheer leading in the day was so much better. At the early children's disco there was not a staff member to be seen, just kids running round bored.
We were then every night subjected to a singer who was dire along with her choice of songs most of which were repeated nightly. There were a couple of staff on the dance floor but no organisation and no appropriate music so most of the time they were on their own. The shows were ok but on too late for families. Such a let down, I can only imagine there has been a change of entertainments manager since the previous reviews.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
0.7 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
2.2 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Havant South (Langstone/A27)
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel
3.5 mi away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#33 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Rythe Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Rythe Holiday Village

Property: Mill Rythe Holiday Village
Address: Mill Rythe Holiday Village 16 Havant Road, PO11 0PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mill Rythe Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mill Rythe is nestled away on the western side of Chichester Harbour on Hayling Island. Our intimate Holiday Village offers something for everyone.We know how important your leisure time is and so you can be sure that we work hard to deliver just what you are looking for. That's why you can enjoy a wide array of experiences at Mill Rythe Holiday Village. It's perfectly located, easy to find and has everything you need for a great getaway.Ideal For EveryoneWe have many breaks throughout the year that are perfect for everyone to enjoy. Adults, children, groups, couples and families will find something ideal for everyone to enjoy.Lovely Food We have an excellent Head Chef called Steve Steere. He and his team work hard to provide you with a wide variety of great tasting dining options.Holiday Accommodation A good selection of accommodation is available to suit your needs and budget. We have 4 ranges available from Budget right up to Celebration Suites. Plus we have interconnecting rooms available for families.Great for Groups We play host to many special events, large groups, product launches, conferences, associations, social clubs etc. If you are looking for a great destination for your group we may well be what you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mill Rythe Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Rythe Holiday Village Hotel Hayling Island
Mill Rythe Holiday Village Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing