We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Wonderful holiday breaks so far this year at Mill Rythe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mill Rythe Holiday Village
Ranked #1 of 15 Hayling Island B&B and Inns
Isle of Sheppey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“5 Wonderful holiday breaks so far this year at Mill Rythe”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I have visited Mill Rythe holday village 5 times this year and always found it to have a warm and friendly atmosphere. We cannot fault the staff team who are so kind and helpful. The chalets that we have are always very clean and well maintained. The food is excellent with many choices. There are plenty of activities, and two very good swimming pools. The band and the entertainment staff are in a class of their own. All so very talented. West End comes to mind The shows which they produce are exceptional, with a standard rarely seen at holiday villages.
We just can't wait for our next visit .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daphne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Rythe Holiday Village, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Wow Daphne 5 visits already this year & we are only just into August. Your review clearly shows we are doing something right so thanks for taking the time to post it & also for your continued support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    338
    130
    54
    72
See reviews for
373
240
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Have just returned from yet another wonderful break at Mill Rythe. The acommodation, food and entertainment, are all A1, and the staff are all so helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them.Can't wait till our next visit in a few weeks time.
S & P..

Room Tip: Book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandS234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Rythe Holiday Village, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks for your lovely appraisal & also for your Top Tip. We have found that we have had to turn guests away more than ever this year due to being full booked so booking well in advance is a good idea!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferring, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Once again we enjoyed our break at Mill Rythe, brilliant evening entertainment. The Frankie Valli tribute was so much better than the one we saw last year!!!
The entertainment team are all very good and very professional, as entertainment they took their duties very seriously and made sure everyone had a good time. Running quizzes and events during our stay. Well done!
Chalet very tired but assume this will be sorted in the future, at least it was clean and the beds very comfortable.
Restaurant was very hot, we found we were finishing our meals and getting out as quickly as possible and skipped coffee as it was just too hot to sit in, air conditioning would be a great improvement, even ceiling fans would help. However I fully understand weather was brilliant and I don't think anyone expected it to be so hot.

Room Tip: Book the best accommodation chalet the site offers, it's not very much more, but well worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Rythe Holiday Village, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks for your kind comments Eileen & so pleased to learn that you found this particular tribute even better than last year. I really do feel that our entertainment offering has stepped up a notch, if that was at all possible, & we have been receiving fantastic reviews from our guests. The temperature in the restaurant did become very hot indeed due to the unexpected heatwave that occurred but we will look into air conditioning or ceiling fans in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Everybody loved the entertainment which is excellent and better than Warners. The dining room is spacious but very hot and could do with air conditioning.The food was nice and you could always find something you liked.Breakfast was excellent but could do with some hash browns please. Bingo very good ( few games with good payout).
The rooms were 50/50. Some of my people loved their rooms and others positively hated them. Most complaints were from the two storey buildings which were dated hot and not cleaned properly.In fairness the owners have only had the site a couple of years and are gradually improving whole site.Some of the standard plus chalets were in worse condition than the standards that have been refurbished and cost more.
If you can afford a suite they are faultless and the Ambassadors were lovely although some found the bathrooms a little small.
The site is enormous with an outdoor pool and also an inddor pool which is the warmest I have been in.
To give you some idea 50 of my people have already re-booked for the Summer Breeze next year. It is excellent value and the garden party was great.
As I have already said the staff shows are out of this world although changed from the ones advertised which disappointed some people.
I am one of the ones who have re-booked for next year and intend going back to site before then.
A big thankyou to Helen and Katy from groups who were a brilliant help and changed whichever rooms they could. It was difficult as site was full.
I am sure next year will be even better than this as improvements are ongoing.
It is a very very long walk to bus stop would be good if there were a minibus few times a day I am sure people wouldn't mind paying.Or one of those train things pulled by a tractor.

Room Tip: Speak to staff before you go about what type of room you require as they are all so very different
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank lfcwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Rythe Holiday Village, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks for your positive appraisal of the park & also for your suggestion regarding a train for those guests needing to get to the bus stop. I will certainly put that suggestion forward though we do have a pretty full program of improvements that we are slowly ploughing our way through. As you have rightly noticed, we have already made massive strides with regards to what we have achieved already however there are still plans for more to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fareham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Like the previous reviewer we stayed at Kingstone. We always try to get this block as its recently refurbished and has an ample sized bathroom with walk in showers. This must be visit eight for us and its the value for money by far. Never found any problems with the rooms and its only in recent years all new matresses and pillows were purchased. Food as always is excellent and so much choice. If anything the shows are getting better. Congratulations to the entertainment team. Like the rest of the staff they really go out of there way to make your stay memorable. Only one grouse and that is the chap that reserved three tables and twelve chairs every evening.for the shows. Perhaps he thought they were sunbeds as never more than half were occupied.at any time. Still as long as he enjoyed it and I don't suppose he give a thought for those people that could not get a seat. Looking forward to coming again for Turkey and Tinsel and the Summer Breeze in July 2015

Room Tip: Some rooms have been refurbished and have walk in showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 195ollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Rythe Holiday Village, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks for your 5 star review ollie & all of the positive things you have mentioned. As always, it's great for me to read these reviews though I din't know whether to laugh or cry about the way one visitor saved seats. If this were to happen again I would advise you to let one of our team members know & then they will have a quiet word with anyone doing this
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTSMOUTH
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My wife and I with 2 friends had a 3 night break last week-end and stayed in "Kingston Block", which is quite near the main buildings. Both rooms had been recently refurbished and were clean and ideal for a short stay. They also came with Fruit, Sweets and Champagne !!.
The food in the restaurant was very good, although at Dinner being good weather is was extremely hot inside.
We went because it was a "Tribute" week-end and boy was it FIRST CLASS.
On the Friday we had Jimmy Jermain as Cliff Richard and he was Excellent, especially as he did most of Cliff's earlier songs which had all the guests doing the "Hand Jive".
Saturday we had what I really booked for the......"Bobby Darin Songbook". and words can't describe how good is was. The man who did Bobby whose name I did not get was unbelievable, and with a 9 Piece " Nelson Riddle Orchestra" backing him did a nearly 2 Hour Show.
Sunday gave us Buzz D'Angelo as "Ray Charles" and was also First Rate, and ended his set by changing into "Little Richard" and had the place "Rockin". Then to finish we had a lady called "Makuini" with a stunningly powerful voice who gave us a tribute to "Etta James".
I could honestly say you wouldn't had had a better week-end of entertainment if you've gone to Las Vagas !!.
In conclusion, we had a fantastic time and will be back.
Ian from Portsmouth.
p.s. like all these venues these days, the Bar prices are a bit of a shock.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CANTY30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Rythe Holiday Village, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
And what a lovely review, especially as you've described the weekend and all of the acts as first class & of the same standard as those you would find in Las Vegas! I would have to say in our defence that the bar prices are comparable to those charged at other venues such as ours & you do have the entertainment thrown in as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Booked a three night stay, could only get a standard room as the place was full- first mistake!
The room was old, dated but also dirty. The bathroom was mouldy with sanitary ware that was stained and should have been replaced years ago. The towels supplied (2 x bath towels + 1 x Hand towel) were so old & thin they barely dried you.
No decent room facilities except a TV & a kettle.
Mattresses were old & dirty with no mattress protectors fitted, to top it all the room smelt of urine.
Consequently we spent one night at the place and checked out immediately the following morning.
An expensive mistake but such is life!
I would never go back to this place again.

Room Tip: If you do go ask for their highest spec rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hecate2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Rythe Holiday Village, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion & as these comments are for the same couple I would now ask that you write to our Customer Services Executive at our Main Office so that your complaint can be investigated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
2.1 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
1,706 reviews
3.7 mi away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#34 of 39 in Portsmouth
413 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#4 of 4 in Havant
608 reviews
3.3 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
524 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#4 of 4 in Emsworth
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Rythe Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Rythe Holiday Village

Property: Mill Rythe Holiday Village
Address: Mill Rythe Holiday Village 16 Havant Road, PO11 0PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mill Rythe Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mill Rythe is nestled away on the western side of Chichester Harbour on Hayling Island. Our intimate Holiday Village offers something for everyone.We know how important your leisure time is and so you can be sure that we work hard to deliver just what you are looking for. That's why you can enjoy a wide array of experiences at Mill Rythe Holiday Village. It's perfectly located, easy to find and has everything you need for a great getaway.Ideal For EveryoneWe have many breaks throughout the year that are perfect for everyone to enjoy. Adults, children, groups, couples and families will find something ideal for everyone to enjoy.Lovely Food We have an excellent Head Chef called Steve Steere. He and his team work hard to provide you with a wide variety of great tasting dining options.Holiday Accommodation A good selection of accommodation is available to suit your needs and budget. We have 4 ranges available from Budget right up to Celebration Suites. Plus we have interconnecting rooms available for families.Great for Groups We play host to many special events, large groups, product launches, conferences, associations, social clubs etc. If you are looking for a great destination for your group we may well be what you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Mill Rythe Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Rythe Holiday Village Hotel Hayling Island
Mill Rythe Holiday Village Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing