We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vast improvement since 2010!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill Rythe Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mill Rythe Holiday Village
Ranked #1 of 16 Hayling Island B&B and Inns
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vast improvement since 2010!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I visited Mill Rythe in Aug 2010 and was not impressed, however, four years on and reading reviews on here, we decided to give it another go and this time the difference was notable.
Firstly, all the staff are really friendly, from the receptionist, the waitress and cleaners and maintenance men and entertainers.
The children loved both the outdoor and indoor pool, in fact the indoor pool was so warm it was like a bath, plus they all enjoyed the extra activities that we booked, the zorbing in the pool was a hit.
The breakfast and evening meals were always a good variety and enjoyed.
The evening entertainment was really good if you are into that, in fact the last night Musical production was fantastic.
The accommodation on the whole was ok, we stayed in Alton, it was clean and the beds were very comfortable and it was close to all the amenities.
Ok, now for the slight negatives....
Accommodation, there were 5 of us in the chalet, I was sharing a bed with my daughter and the teenagers were in the separate room, it was very small really for our party! Also, although I can see that the room has been upgraded, the bathroom was awful, there was black mould on the tiles and most were chipped and broken, just not nice however I am sure that in time the bathrooms will be refurbished.
The restaurant was extremely hot, and felt a bit over crowded.
Some activities for the kids incur a charge which is fine however I had to queue for over half an hour to get the kids booked in, maybe a better system could be looked into, plus worth noting that they only accept cash not cards!
However these are all quite minor and I can see that the new owners are on the right track, my kids want to come back. If you are expecting something like Centre Parcs, you might be a tad disappointed however you are not paying Centre Parc prices, all in all a great holiday, good value, well done!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jolinSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Rythe Holiday Village, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thanks for the 4 stars you have awarded us Jo & also for noticing all of our hard work & investment since we bought the park out of administration late 2010. I will discuss your comments regarding the bathroom with the General Manager of the park so that he can ensure this is dealt with immediately otherwise this was a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    309
    117
    50
    61
See reviews for
332
221
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just back from a super duper weekend at mill rythe !! This time we took the grand kiddies and they loved it just as much as we do !!!! Always enjoy our stays at mill rythe love love love it !!! We will be coming back very soon everything about mill rythe is fab !!!! the food gets better every time x

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Rythe Holiday Village, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you Mrs S for your further review and all of the lovely things you have said about us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st albans
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Have visited here 10 times now and it is getting better, the grounds are clean and there seems to be lot more to do for the kids during the day. The staff are always polite and it gives it a family atmosphere. Its was a shame to see the coffee shop by the crazy golf had closed down as this used to be nice place to relax away from the main centre, The boathouse bar seems to be a waste maybe this could be used for an indoor cinema or a teenagers area??also the salad bar in the restaurant has a lot less selection however on the plus side the main menu's has a lot more choice this year, could maybe do with a few more waiters though. We did notice that the eveing quiz that used to be in the foyer has gone and as such this leaves a big gap between dinner and the evening entertainment unless you like bingo! We were impressed this is the best i have seen the site since 2001 and i hope it carries on getting better, with the right investment this could be one of the top family venues in the south. We had an ambassader room which we paid extra for and would have been nice to have had a proper bed for the extra money paid rather then the linked twin beds!. We are going back in October and have booked again for next summer same room and hopefully with a proper double bed!.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Rythe Holiday Village, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Wow Bill, 10 visits is a lot of time spent at our park & you're coming back again in October so we must be doing something right! Thanks for noticing the huge amount of investment we have made thus far and we haven't finished yet. Inevitably money will be spent in places where others would not have spent it & sometimes this has meant withdrawing a facility or two in order to add something else but we have listened to the majority of our guests & are happy that we are on the right path!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

A massive thanks to Mill Rythe for another great VALUE FOR MONEY holiday – it really was very much appreciated. I have been to Mill Rythe numerous times, and this occasion it was again three generations, only with a touch of sadness as my father was missing as his Alzheimers made it impossible to bring him with us as he would not have been able to cope.

We stayed in standard accommodation – yes the rooms were basic, clean, but totally functional had everything we needed, and more importantly we all slept well (if you are expecting accommodation to a luxurious level looking BRAND NEW and unused, then perhaps the basic rooms are not for you) – In addition my mother is disabled and we requested rooms close to the centre – having read some of the reviews and the way people score perhaps I should give Mill Rythe just one star for putting us in Harrow 2 and 3 and not room 1 which was probably 5m closer? Seriously we could not have got closer had they tried – again thank you.

Dinner on the first night – our table was on the elevated section – big problem as could not get the mobility aid up there easily. So on walking in I explained the situation to the person in charge who apologised and said he was not aware, (and in the SAME BREATH) said please swap to table XX – so sorted in less than a second – fantastic efficiency.

The food is GOOD, and if you rate it against the price paid it is FANTASTIC. The choice is considerable and has increased since the previous year – it was most welcome to see the additional starter back on the menu. If you don’t like the choice of three main courses on the menu then there is a salad bar, with an unbelievable amount of ham (and not Tesco value range – but a reasonable quality) an omelette bar, Pizza, and a ‘curry’/’food of the world’ option. Breakfast has also seen the addition of mushrooms to compliment an already good choice.

What has always puzzled me (and still does) is that although there is an hour or so slot for breakfast/dinner everyone seems to go at once – how do they manage to get everyone served incredibly quickly AND with hot food? Many a hotel could learn a lesson or two about getting hot fried eggs for breakfast………..

The later evening entertainment – was good, very entertaining – and very varied. If you are going to compare it against a multi-million pound West End production at £100+ per ticket then you may be disappointed. (I hasten to add NOT with the quality of the performers, all of whom could easily fit in on a West End stage) The resident band is highly competent, and is very proficient at covering popular songs spanning the 60s to up to date. The addition of a late night comedian (Kevin Kaye) was also very much enjoyed. With regard to the earlier young children’s entertainment I feel it would be unfair to comment as my daughter has now out grown these.

My only disappointment was that there were no toilets by the outside pool. (there were last year) – perhaps too providing outside bar/refreshments would be good? Also having read several other reviews could I perhaps suggest that mattress protectors may be a very cheap but good investment for the park too?

Finally the staff – I have seen the same faces for many years and they really do their very best for all the guests – to have all happy, and always willing to help is a real asset – something many other places could learn from. One sentence in a Trip Advisor review really does not do the amount of work and dedication they put in justice. If they were replaced with rude surly uncaring staff then it would be very hard to write such a review as above.

So to sum up Mill Rythe is GREAT VALUE and I have never found anywhere else which is able to offer so much for the price paid (and also a reasonably priced bar) - this is why I keep going back, and if you read the majority of reviews you will see this is a very common theme!

Room Tip: The basic rooms are basic (for me they were fine - all I wanted was somewhere to sleep, shower etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisW41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Rythe Holiday Village, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
And another fantastic review Chris from a Mill Rythe regular who has recognised our VFM offering! I'm sorry your Father couldn't make it this time however I do know how challenging Alzheimer's is. Thanks for pointing out that our basic range of accommodation is more than suitable for those guests who may be on a bit of a budget & of course we do have lots of other accommodation available for those who want a little more luxury. Mattress protectors are supplied if requested however the toilets at the outdoor pool will not be replaced - given that the indoor pool facilities are quite close, it was felt unnecessary to keep both sets open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Came here for an adult weekend featuring a Rat Pack tribute with a view to booking to come with our 4 children in the summer if we liked it. The show was fantastic and the bar is ridiculously cheap. However, the room stank of stale smoke, the bed was two twins pushed together so there was a line separating us which was not very nice. The rooms/resort complex has the feel of an old peoples home and is in desperate need of modernisation. At each breakfast and dinner we were seated with the same couple we did not know which although they were very nice when you're on a romantic break you don't want to sit and make polite conversation with strangers. The breakfast was ok but the dinner was quite a limited menu choice although I suppose at the price it was good value. Would not stay again or bring the kids based on this experience.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Rythe Holiday Village, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
I was saddened to read your review Jo especially given that the holiday village has an overall rating of 4/5. It is very difficult for us to police our policy of no smoking in our rooms & clearly the guest before you disrespected that rule however our Housekeeping team would have attended if you had asked them to. Likewise we do use some zip & lock beds to attach 2 singles which then make a larger size double bed but we would have exchanged this if you had requested for us to do so & if a spare double was available. When our guests call to make a booking it is our policy to always ask if there are any table requirements & it is at this point that they can request a separate table for meals subject to availability. If guests book online then this should be added in the special requirements section. As you can see from other reviews on TA our food, & especially the choice we offer, is normally given high praise indeed however it could be that the menu was slightly varied given that you came out of season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Here we are again, we've just had another lovely week at Mill Rythe. Where do i start? Firstly the welcome, friendliness and helpful staff on the reception desk starts the holiday off nicely. and they continue like that right through the week, with nothing to much trouble. The reception area is lovely and airy with lots of squashy chairs and sofas to while away your time, with large tv's with the news showing. Also in the reception area is free wifi. The grounds are kept immaculate and litter free you can always see a member of the grounds team either sweeping the paths, emptying the bins, tidying the beds or cutting back the shrubs, there are ducks wandering around, which is lovely and a machine with duck food in for a minimal amount so you and the children are able to feed them safely. When we entered our accommodation it was spotlessly clean with invitingly fresh bedding on and white clean towels on the bed ready for a welcome shower. All through the week the standard didn't drop and the young lady that looked after us was spotless. One of the windows didn't open so we reported it to the reception desk and by the time we went back to our room the repair man was there dealing with it. (lovely & quick). The dining room was clean and the waiting staff faultless, our delicious food arrived speedily & hot. The variety of dishes on offer were outstanding and you never go hungry, breakfast is equally as good, with cereals, fresh fruit and full English again there are more to offer but can't name them all here. The entertainment is outstanding with the shows put on by the entertainments staff equaling those in the west end, the singing voices are amazing, we went from Rock during the week to the greatest musicals ever, all done totally professionally and extremely entertaining. There was lots of daytime activities to do if you wanted to for adults and children. From axe throwing to archery and water sports to name but a few. The little ones had a soft foam climbing area to play in or little parks or a craft area for messy play and creation set aside in the ballroom, with staff running it.The indoor pool is lovely and clean and the outdoor pool very Mediterranean with many families enjoying lots of sunbathing and playing around the pool area, there was plenty of pool attendance around both pools making you feel safe. The bar prices are good and the staff are efficient and speedy, you never wait long to be served. There is always management wandering around who are very approachable & friendly and any problem is explained and solved instantly and the guests mind put at ease. The camp is set up for the disabled and wheelchair users. All in all another fabulous holiday... Who wants to go abroad when we've got fantastic places like this on offer. Thoroughly recommend for families, or just adults alike everybody is catered for.

Room Tip: If you are unable to climb stairs it would be good to mention this when booking as some accommodati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yellowfairy133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Rythe Holiday Village, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks again for another outstanding review & for all of the great things you have said about the park & the teams that keep it ticking over. I found it interesting that you described the Reception area as a place with squashy chairs to while away your time when the review before yours did not find it so inviting. I guess it's just a case of horses for courses....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

As it was our wedding anniversary, we decided to have a family break at M R, so booked 3 rooms.
The weekend programme was good, but a lot of people did not like the prices charged for each activity or the day tickets. The evening entertainment we well arranged but as usual, the volume too loud, so that the sound reflected off the walls caused distortion.
The food was excellent and our waiter is super, anticipated all our requirements and has a good rapport with children.
However, as with all our previous stays in M R, we had problems with the rooms, to the extent that I get seriously fed up with having to get things done. For example,
> the bedding in my daughter's room was found to be soiled before retiring, and that was eventually changed.
> we ordered a fridge for an extra £10, and that was faulty so had to be changed
> the entry door to one of the rooms was dangerously faulty, so that had to be fixed before one of our boys was injured.
> the door lock to one of the rooms was difficult to operate because it was loose in the frame
> plus at least 3 other faults reported.
We spoke to many other guests, some of whom had similar problems but did not report them.
There still seems to be a lack of room inspections to catch all the minor and sometimes dangerous faults and is left up to guests to report and ask for the handyman's attention. This system reflects badly on the management and causes extra work and stress for the Ops Manager who is very good and gets on with k-a to get problems resolved.
The indoor swimming pool /facilities are still lacking! The showers were cold and generally scruffy. The most annoying thing was that the jacuzzi was not bubbling. We asked one of the staff to switch it on but she said it had been out of order for a year. However, we know that's incorrect because it was ok on our last visit earlier this year.
Some comments that we heard from guests were that the lounge area had been a place to sit, read a paper, talk to people, watch large screen tv, but now it has gaming machines in it with the associated noise etc.
Overall, the weekend was good, but we are not rushing to go back there again for about 6 months. The place could be a lot better if somebody just put a bit more effort into the maintenance of the place.

Room Tip: Check the room out and report any faults to get them fixed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NIGEL E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Guest Relations Manager at Mill Rythe Holiday Village, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
I'm glad that overall you had a good Anniversary weekend Nigel & that you will be coming back to us again albeit in 6 months time! I did take the time to check our maintenance book but I could only find 2 minor entries regarding the accommodation you were allocated throughout the whole course of your holiday across all 3 rooms. We do rely heavily on our guests to advise us of any problems within their accommodation so that they can be resolved immediately & will also be fixed ready for the next guests. I will now speak to our full time Sound and Light Technician to see if there is a problem with the volume levels & will monitor the situation on your behalf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
0.7 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
2.2 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Havant South (Langstone/A27)
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel
3.5 mi away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#33 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Rythe Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Rythe Holiday Village

Property: Mill Rythe Holiday Village
Address: Mill Rythe Holiday Village 16 Havant Road, PO11 0PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mill Rythe Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mill Rythe is nestled away on the western side of Chichester Harbour on Hayling Island. Our intimate Holiday Village offers something for everyone.We know how important your leisure time is and so you can be sure that we work hard to deliver just what you are looking for. That's why you can enjoy a wide array of experiences at Mill Rythe Holiday Village. It's perfectly located, easy to find and has everything you need for a great getaway.Ideal For EveryoneWe have many breaks throughout the year that are perfect for everyone to enjoy. Adults, children, groups, couples and families will find something ideal for everyone to enjoy.Lovely Food We have an excellent Head Chef called Steve Steere. He and his team work hard to provide you with a wide variety of great tasting dining options.Holiday Accommodation A good selection of accommodation is available to suit your needs and budget. We have 4 ranges available from Budget right up to Celebration Suites. Plus we have interconnecting rooms available for families.Great for Groups We play host to many special events, large groups, product launches, conferences, associations, social clubs etc. If you are looking for a great destination for your group we may well be what you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mill Rythe Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Rythe Holiday Village Hotel Hayling Island
Mill Rythe Holiday Village Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing