We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great thai food after a day at the beach!”
Review of Niyom Thai

Niyom Thai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
havant
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great thai food after a day at the beach!”
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Niyom Thai is a very welcoming, almost hidden Thai restaurant in west Town, Hayling Island. We called in after being at the beach, we were hungry and were not disappointed. They didn't mind that we were a little under dressed or our daughter running around a bit after our tasty starters. The Pad thai noodles are amazing (you can ask to have it more spicey). We also had Sea bass with ginger and spring onions; delicious , they have good that beers too.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank axelb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    34
    14
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If its a take away check it first!”
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We had a really rough deal here this week. Ordered a takeaway in the icy weather for a birthday celebration. Bill was nearly £80 for six of us, we went to collect and asked for the meal to be checked. When meal unpacked on the birthday table half was missing. I telephoned the restaurant and was told they had found missing meals and would deliver (we live 4 mins from the restaurant)an hour later and two more phone calls was told they couldn't find my house??
I went to restaurant and asked for a complete refund which was denied. Just refunded the food they forgot to pack initially. Complained to manager the following day, but got no compensation for an awful birthday celebration evening. Food (that we actually got) was very tasty, however portions very small and the food was cold. A rubbish experience - I would not reccommend it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank taryn029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nt51, Manager at Niyom Thai, responded to this review, 21 December 2010
Dear Mrs taryn029,

We sincerely apologise for the incident which happened merely out of a good intention on our part. However, on a fair note, we instantly compensated you with a partial refund of £23 while you had picked up the missing bag. On the following day, you called to ask for a full refund or a free dine-in meal (after having a complimentary bottle of wine, had collected the full meal and accepted a partial refund) we believe we could not have done more.

With the best of intentions, we had put one of the bag (in it had rice, a noodle, and two other dishes) in a warmer bag to keep them hot while finishing off the other dishes. Unfortunately, we forgot to hand them to you along with the rest of the order. When you rang we immediately sent our staff to deliver the food but was unable to find the house due to the poor weather condition. We would like to explain that despite receiving many requests for home deliveries, we have not been able to offer such service as our staff are not local and are still not familiar with the Island.

Once again we apologise for your inconvenience. Please be assured that we will endeavour to provide staff with better training to make sure that it will not happen again.

Kind regards,
Niyom Thai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Thai Restaurant nr the former Hayling Railway Station”
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Good Thai menu - toned down somewhat for western taste - need to ask for extra hot or 'Prik Nahm Pla' - Chilli Fish Sauce if you like it Thai style. Good selection. Staff are friendly - especially if you practice speaking Thai with them. Take out service available as well.I don't know any other Thai restaurant on the Island that comes up to this.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Rawai48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Thai jewel on Hayling Island”
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Almost loathed to share this lovely secret with the rest of the world - but feel credit should be given where it's due.
We frequent the Niyom Thai at least once a month and have not, in all that time, had a single sub-standard dish.
The Panag Kai is of particular note and the plain noodles; which my daughter manages to devour in copious quantities.
Also do a takeaway service - handy if you want to savour the delights of their wonderful food, but are unlucky enough to get a table.
So enjoy - but don't pass on the secret too widely!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank haylingchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Niyom Thai also viewed

Hayling Island, Hampshire
Hayling Island, Hampshire
 
Hayling Island, Hampshire
 
Hayling Island, Hampshire
 

Been to Niyom Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing