We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Newtown House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent wedding venue”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We decided to host our wedding reception at Newtown House Hotel in July 2013 and weren't disappointed. Carol and the team did a fabulous job of keeping our guests happy and we received lots of praise for the venue and service. Carol also promised (!) us sunshine and we ended up enjoying a 30 degree heatwave on the big day! We'd highly recommend. Mr & Mrs Best

Room Tip: We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was a very comfortable room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keithb209, Owner at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Best. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful wedding at the Newtown. We are equally pleased that you received lots of praise from your guests...which afterall is important in making the day special for everyone. I might need to talk to Carol to about bringing that sunshine back to the Newtown this month after all this dreadful weather we are having right now! Thank you again for taking time to rate us, we do hope we might see you again sometime...perhaps an anniversary meal in our new on site Italian Restaurant?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    65
    40
    18
    15
See reviews for
91
98
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The lovely Manor Suite was the perfect location for the celebration of the end of the old and the beginning of the New Year. Tickets were only £10, allowing participation in the party, No food was provided, but several people took advantage of the tremendous value special menu in Il Giardino, beforehand. Tables were provided for all in the function room and there was a well-staffed bar, in addition to the bar in the hotel. The disco was good and provided the ideal background for dancing and the midnight excitement. The event was well-attended by locals and visitors alike, with an en excellent atmosphere.

Room Tip: All rooms recently refurbished to a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulFisher_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keithb209, Owner at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear PaulFisher_12, we are delighted that you enjoyed and celebrated New Years Eve with us at the Newtown. It was fabulous to see so many locals and friends seeing 2014 in together. Equally pleasing was that many dined in Il Giardino before the party began. We hope you continue to visit. Our 2014 Events calendar is currently under construction for many more functions throughout the year so keep an eye on the website and advertising at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had our wedding at Newtown house 22nd dec 2013 .
It was the best day ever , Carol ( wedding planner)
Made sure that the day was just how we wanted it , had many meetings with us prior to our wedding and everything was fantastic ! We cannot thank her enough.
All of the staff were lovely from reception , to bar staff , to the lovely lady at breakfast the next day !
We could not have asked for a better venue!
Thank you to everyone at Newtown house hotel.
We will be back, to stay the night and visit everyone .
Lucy and Matt x

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucypage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keithb209, Owner at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Lucy and Matt, we are absolutely delighted that your Wedding Day was so special and that you were happy with the service you received. We hold many events in our function room and we always try our best to make sure that the clients have exactly what they want with every detail catered for. We would be thrilled to welcome you back again....your wedding made our Christmas time special too! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Was invited out for a meal at the new Italian restraunt that has opened in the hotel. The food was the best Italian meal I have had in a long time. The recent refurbishments has been done to add to the character.I cannot agree with one of your recent reviews, I found the staff well trained and very attentive.Well done will return again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnpayne889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keithb209, Owner at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Johnpayne889, thank you for your review. Its lovely to hear that you enjoyed your experience and meal at our new Italian Restaurant. Your comments regarding the service you received are very important to us. We hope we will see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Newtown house on Saturday the 21st September and was assured by the reviews on trip advisor that it was good and when I arrived awards including trip advisors were on the front door and the hotel looked fine.

There was a wedding taking place at the venue and I was advised this was the 160 this year a popular venue indeed I had hoped for a afternoon nap following my long journey but with he young bridesmaids and other children running round the garden this was not achievable so We headed for the beach, on my return the wedding was in full swing at the hotel so i dressed and left for a birthday party at another venue.
We returned tired just after midnight to a noisy reception people shouting and taking in the garden outside my room I thought I would give it to 1 o'clock to finish and it did but the party residents then moved to the bar where they continued to party at 1.30 I went to the reception to complain but that was not manned so I went o the bar to find customers holding each other up I spoke to a bar man who said he had told them but they were not listening ( not surprised as most were paralytic ) but suggested they would clear the bar soon. At 2am the noise subsided and I finally got to sleep only to be woken at 7.30 am by a car alarm in the car park out side my door ( I would have parked there but in the words of the receptionist you could normaly park outside your room but not today as we have a wedding). In a tired state I headed for breakfast to find the buffet demolished however I ordered a full English breakfast which was excellent breakfast completed I went to pay and complained to the receptionist about the lack of sleep, she spoke to the duty manager who suggested she take off the price of breakfast ( the only good bit ) so having paid £70 for 5hrs sleep I left to drive home and stopped at fleet services and slept in the car before I could finish my journey

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keithb209, Owner at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Geoff, thank you for taking the time to post a review (albeit 3 months after your stay with us). We can only apologise, once again, for your disturbed nights sleep. We are a busy little hotel which is very popular for weddings and functions. We try our best to accommodate non-function guests in the rooms furthest away from the bar/function room, however this is not always possible, so we advise on booking whether a function will be taking place during a guests stay.

However, on the very few occasions, if a guest does have reason to make a complaint, we always offer a gesture of good will, which during your stay with us was a complimentary full English breakfast. We are very pleased this was well received.

We have also reviewed our policy on bar serving after a function (which is only open to staying guests). The bar will subsequently be closed down at a reasonable time and guests requested to depart should the volume become disturbing to other guests.

We thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The building is beautiful, the car park is massive and free parking. The traditional pub bar serves food, you could proberbly get a meal and drink for about £15? We didn't eat here but went out to the barley mow pub 5min walk- roast for £5.

My friend had her wedding reception in the beautiful barn out the back. It was gorgeous and had its own bar, massive round tables and a dance area.

Breakfast was included with our stay, yummy full English.. I don't like bacon so let me have 2 sausages instead. Very accommodating. Nice fresh fruit too!

The room was a standard double, room 5. It was nice but the throw (blue one in hotel pic) was stained and was looking a bit old which is a shame as the bathroom is all new and the traditional style furniture is in excellent condition.

Nice plasma tv on wall and I had a lovely bubble bath :)

Would recommend for an easy romantic getaway for local couple and for wedding receptions ect

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keithb209, Owner at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear "Emma p", thank you for your review of your stay at the Newtown House Hotel. We are delighted you rated us highly and your comments of the wedding function room experience for your friends wedding is very pleasing.

Regarding the throw in the bedroom, this has been noted and will be dealt with immediately by our housekeeping staff.

We do hope we will have the chance to welcome you again at the hotel either as an overnight guest or to perhaps try out our brand new Italian Restaurant on site ... Il Giardino. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed here with a group of 22 people for 5 days
A lot of money has been spent on refurbishments recently, the appearance and feel of the place is good, however the staff are generally woefully badly trained and were unable to provide a 'joined up' service.
The breakfasts are excellent and the evening menu is OK, but be prepared to wait and wait if they are busy.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new block facing the enclosed garden are pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brettington-14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keithb209, Owner at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear "brettington-14", thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you rated us with 4&5 stars for value, location, sleep quality, rooms and cleanliness. With regards to your comments on service and our staff, we are left a little confused as another member of your party commented that our staff were very friendly.

We always take constructive criticism seriously and we will endeavour to ensure we work on offering a more "joined up" service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
2.7 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
1,652 reviews
4.0 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
497 reviews
6.2 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
829 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
4.0 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newtown House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newtown House Hotel

Property: Newtown House Hotel
Address: Manor Road, PO11 0QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Newtown House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old hotel with a warm feeling with superb accommodation.Restaurant open to non residence with full a la carte menu or bar snacks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Newtown House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newtown House Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing