We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay for wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Newtown House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Stay for wedding”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Fantastic venue with some fantastic rooms. Our room was great. Plenty of space with the only downside was the size of the double bed.
Other family members had different sizes of room. But standards were always high.
The building itself is old so does lend itself to individualised rooms rather that all being the same, which does add character to the hotel but does mean that room sizes can vary greatly.
The breakfast was great and nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    66
    41
    18
    15
See reviews for
92
99
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We were married at the Newtown House Hotel on the 14th June 2014 and it was the best choice we ever made. The venue was beautiful and very practical - the patio area and garden all made for a wonderful experience. We were lucky with the weather it only rained just as we were going inside for the wedding breakfast. The staff were helpful and very friendly and could not do enough to help make our day special. We had several friends and family stay overnight at the hotel and some even longer and they all complimented us on having chosen such a good hotel. I have to finally say that Carol was a star the whole way through - she helped us make it the fantastic day it was from the moment we met her - she guided us through and helped us make decisions always making us feel that it was our day and our choices that mattered.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandyfalzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a recent wedding . When we booked they had no family rooms available so the hotel kindly offered us a triple and explained they could pop a z bed in for us . I was expecting the room to be cramped because of this but it was a large room and was tastefully decorated.
The grounds were lovely and staff were very helpful and we enjoyed the wedding immensely .
The only negative is the breakfast room is tiny and packed with people waiting .
The staff took our order but we were forgotten , it seemed
everyone else who arrived after us had finished breakfast or were mid way through eating when after complaining we got ours after a 35 minute wait .
Also it would be nice if tea and coffee was offered at the table rather than having to go make it yourself , which was quite annoying waiting in a que in such a small setting .

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank dj_colbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
havant
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We got married at the hotel on 19th July 2014. From the time we booked the wedding 18 month earlier we had great service from the hotel, especially Carol who co-ordinates the weddings. The overall price for the wedding was very good and almost half what the 'large' hotel chains charge for similar packages. The Manor Suite, which is a converted barn style room is separate from the main hotel which means you hardly see other guests other than in the fantastic garden.

On the day of the wedding the staff, venue and location was perfect (we even got lucky with the weather as it was supposed to pour down!!). All the staff were so helpful, Carol was there to talk anyone through any problems (she helped tie from cravat, provided needle and thread when the buttons came off my waistcoat). Jamie was on hand to act as master of ceremonies and ensure everything ran on time (which it did). Josh and all the bar staff were very quick and efficient and I don't think anyone went without a drink all night or had to wait more than a minute to be served (there was over 120 evening guests). Drinks were reasonably priced, good quality brands and they never ran out of anything.

We stayed at the hotel in the Honeymoon suite, it is a lovely room in the main part of the hotel which has mentioned by others does have a connecting room but we had no issues. There was a about 20 of our friends and family who stayed at the hotel and it was lovely to have a cooked breakfast with them all which was very nice, have had better but it was better than most chain hotels buffet style as it was served from the kitchen.

My Wife Amanda and I wish to stay thank you to all the staff at the Newtown House Hotel for helping to make our wedding as good we had hoped. If you are looking for somewhere to hold your wedding please take the time to visit this hotel, speak to Carol and see if they can give you as good as day that they gave us.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bigcol218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I took my partner on a spur of the moment to go and have something to eat on Sunday . For the first time since we have been together, which is 5 years, we have never been out for Sunday lunch as I work most Sundays and may I say what a great meal we have just had. The service was 1st class the meal was First class all though the veg could have been a bit hotter but cooked to perfection. Well i must say the beef was so good i wanted a bit more but saying that the portions were very large so much so i ate the lot which is very rare. My partner picked up on one thing the staff seems to be a bit on tenderhooks and the important thing is that the staff should be happy, seemed to be a bit lacking although we did have a great time. Thank you for a wonderful meal it should be more busy than that need to spread the word I have no doubt that it will be soon , Well done IT WAS GREAT. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We saw four rooms. The first two were on the ground floor with little or no daylight and right by the car park. The second was bright and airy but it was on the main road and the double bed was only a tiny 4'6" (wide). The third was the honeymoon suite in which the cheap bed had a thin lumpy mattress and squeaked and rattled which hilariously rendered it unfit for purpose. We were less amused by the single skin interconnecting door to another room from which we could hear everything in detail, all night. We could also hear the bar and the beer garden. This old building with its awkward layout and thin rickety structure does not lend itself to being an hotel. A recent refurb is superficial with obvious proper improvements missed or unaffordable. Decor is straight out of the Homebase catalogue. When we mentioned our sleepless night due to the noise through the interconnecting door at checkout we were told that the women in that room was frequently up all night. This was followed by a bland apology, ie we might think that putting a known problem guest in a suitable room would be a good idea but actually we couldn't care less. Breakfast was poor with cheap bread, hard bacon and watery scrambled egg. We should have paid attention to the fact nearly all their rooms were available in the middle of August.

Room Tip: Be very careful, We suspect all the rooms are noisy and/or with small beds. If you look at Google Ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LAZZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keithb209, Owner at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Dear Reviewer
We have looked at the points you raised and would like to make the following observations
You mention that the first room looked out onto the car park ,well with respect ,some rooms will face a car park because we supply parking up to 2 car spaces per booking.
As a listed building we supply standard double beds which are 4 foot 6 wide
The second room was on the Main road but you fail to mention that the hotel has a 40 foot garden between the room and the road,
The third bedroom with the 4 poster bed ,you say was lumpy ,but this is a fully sprung mattress and yours is the first complaint we have had.
We accept the interlinking room needed more insulation and this has now been resolved.
The furniture in each room is solid oak and is quality furniture purchased from a company that specialises only in solid oak
We have many good reports about our breakfasts and feel like the rest of the review was biased from start to finish.
All genuine comments are checked and where we fail to give 100% we will apologise
I feel no apology is necessary only wishing the customer could have spoken to management here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I booked this beautiful venue over a year ago for my wedding reception and the whole way through to the day last Friday (1st Aug) Carol, who deals with wedding bookings, has been an absolute rock. Nothing is too much to ask or too silly to ask, everything is about you and that's exactly how she makes you feel. Carol has always been in touch and happy to meet and talk when possible she feels like part of my family. The actual day went so smoothly thanks to Jamie too who is an absolute diamond (and a good taxi!), i didn't have a worry about anything, everything was so relaxed and things just happened as and when they should have done. Plenty of family and friends stayed here too and i never heard a bad word everyone has been very complimentary about the hotel and gardens...all well maintained and many of them very happy to return and stay again. I would like to thank the other staff on hand too who worked very hard and made our day work aswell. I really couldn't recommend this place any higher and if you need anything then Carol (wedding wise!) and Jamie are your guys they are gems..real credit to the Newtown and don't belong anywhere else! xx

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 63beachhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
2.5 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
1,680 reviews
3.9 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
508 reviews
6.1 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
851 reviews
3.8 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
650 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newtown House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newtown House Hotel

Property: Newtown House Hotel
Address: Manor Road, PO11 0QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newtown House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old hotel with a warm feeling with superb accommodation.Restaurant open to non residence with full a la carte menu or bar snacks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Newtown House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newtown House Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing