We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newtown House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newtown House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

We have just returned from a weekend break staying at the Newtown House Hotel on Hayling Island. Having seen the reviews on Trip Advisor we had changed from another hotel to stay here and were not disappointed.

The staff were friendly and polite; the rooms were immaculate (if only a little warm) and the food was great and plentiful. All in all great value for money.

We would not hesitate in recommending this lovely hotel and its location to explore the west Sussex coast is ideal.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulhildrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    62
    39
    17
    14
See reviews for
88
93
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

We stayed here for one night after docking at Portsmouth. We'd ridden through Spain for two and a half weeks and us and our Lambrettas must have looked a motley crew! We were so pleased to have found this superb hotel. It stands in lovely grounds and has an old world charm. The rooms are superb and the bar is filled with comfortable old red leather sofas. The dinning area looks over one of the lovely gardens. The staff, without exception, were outstanding. Very friendly, welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JHLambretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

I stayed the Newtown House Hotel for a long weekend (3nights). We got a deal through lastminute.com, so only paid for 2.

Overall we had a really good stay.

Positives:
Rooms a decent size, very clean, bathrooms nice, bar and restaurant if you want to stay in hotel. Good location - 5mins walk to the seafront. Staff helpful. Cooked breakfast very generous in portion and tasty too (from my husband - I didn't have it). Cereal and toast, youghurt, juice as well.

Negatives:
Only negatives I can think of was our room was a bit cold - probably because it had a large bay window and lots of outside walls. Also they didn't give us an option of continental breakfast on 2 of the days we stayed, and on the third when we saw a menu and asked for it, it wasn't available! Bit of a disappointment, only because I'm not a cooked breakfast fan. The walls were slightly thin - you could hear people through the walls a little, but not much and didn't stop us sleeping.

Overall this was a nice hotel. Especially good value if you can get a deal.
We didn't eat at the hotel, but ate at the Olive Leaf pub, Jaspers Restaurant, and Inn on the Beach. All 3 were very good - Olive Leaf gets booked up, so make a booking. Very reasonable pub food. Inn on the beach bigger so more space, pub food, reasonably prices. Jaspers, booking needed. Very nice, more expensive (£25 per person 2courses without drinks), but lovely lovely food!

One word of warning; if you do book through lastminte (or other similar) and pre-pay, make sure you are sure you pre-paid and insist on that, I managed to end up paying twice! But it was all sorted out within a week and my money refunded without any problems, so shows good management!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBarnes09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

I stayed overnight at this hotel with family. First impressions were good - plenty of car parking and friendly staff. We had asked for two double rooms - they were spotless and nicely decorated. However, the double beds weren't full size - they were only 4 foot wide in both rooms. This was OK for my son who had his bed to himself. My husband and I found an enormous difference to our night's sleep and felt there was inadequate room.

We ate in the restaurant and the food was acceptable - although the vegetables had obviously been kept warm too long and were baked hard. My son, who is honestly not a fussy eater, complained that his meal (a pasta dish) was not particularly nice.
Another couple nearby ordered a meal which supposedly came with green beans (this was stated on the menu). The beans did not arrive and the waitress actually argued with them that these were not included. It created quite a bad atmosphere in the restaurant. The (local) couple left vowing never to return.

For breakfast we ordered two full English meals plus scrambled eggs on toast. It is the breakfast which have prompted me to write this review. The two full meals were OK (egg, bacon etc) - but, no toast was brought out. The scrambled eggs on toast were indescribable and almost unrecognisable as eggs. They were grey in colour (I presume mixed with masses of skimmed milk before cooking to save on eggs!) and cooked to rubber - absolutely disgusting and far too salty. The toast they were served with was not actually toast - it was two floppy slices of white bread, one side of which which may have seen a grill for no more than 5 seconds - they may well not have bothered. Certainly no butter or marg. The coffee was the worst I had ever tasted and undrinkable.
I asked the waitress for butter, she looked quite surprised as though I had asked for a sirloin steak. Then I asked for toast for the three of us. Out she came with only two slices - again - white bread with a small pale golden patch on one side where it had flirted with a grill.

For goodness sake - how cheap are bread and eggs to buy. Did the cook not know how to grill a piece of toast or make proper scrambled eggs??? Scrimping on toast and eggs is a total false economy and creates a terrible impression.
I really can't understand this mindset. I probably wouldn't have written this had the breakfasts been OK (despite being uncomfortable in the 4' bed).

What a shame - the ship spoilt for a hapeth of tar.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoD10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

We have arrived back after a lovely stay at this hotel. We did the Valentines package which was one night stay with a 3 course dinner and breakfast. The room was spotless with an amazing bathroom. The food was excellent and so were the staff. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Definately will go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank posty_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2010

My wife and I stayed here 3 years ago and after a miserable drive up, we were not looking forward to the two night stay but still checked in here because this is where my re-union dinner was to be held.
Unfortunately the first time we stayed it was pretty bad but this was an important reunion
and needs must.

On checking in we were pleasantly surprised to find the place looked and felt different.

You can see a lot of money has been spent on the hotel since our last visit and they have spent it very well including a brand new function hall on the site of the, now filled in; swimming pool.
The rooms are impeccable as is the restaurant.
Food has improved 100% and it is warm everywhere.
The bar was a pleasure to be in and prices good.
Parking is a dream now. A+

We will certainly recommend to all our friends.
My wife and I would like to thank Keith and all the duty staff for their kind help and wonderful service.

Very well done everyone. Money well spent and very well Managed.
Thank you.
D&H

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yw479419b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2009

Our refurbished room was finished to high standards, managing to combine the comfortable ambience of an historic building with all the modern facilities you might expect. The bathroom was superb: corner bath with shower, dual basins and modern fittings. We dined with friends and enjoyed an excellent meal for a surprisingly good price. The staff could not have been more helpful, washing a stained garment at short notice without charge and catering to our special breakfast requests. Among the best hotels for us during our extensive travels worldwide.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhileasH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
2.7 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Havant South (Langstone/A27)
6.2 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
4.0 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 3 in Emsworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newtown House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newtown House Hotel

Property: Newtown House Hotel
Address: Manor Road, PO11 0QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Newtown House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old hotel with a warm feeling with superb accommodation.Restaurant open to non residence with full a la carte menu or bar snacks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Newtown House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newtown House Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing