We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sunday Lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maypole Inn

Maypole Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$30
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a large, family run public house serving excellent food and drinks. We have a large beer garden surrounded by fields for the Summer and a warm open fires for the winter.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Visited this place in June 2011 for Sunday lunch which I had been told was very good value for money. The place is very popular so had to book a table. We were a party of 4 and on the day of our visit, the roast was pork or chicken - both with roast potatoes and three types of vegetables.

The service was extremely fast although no-one was trying to get you to finish your meal and move on. We had booked at a reasonably busy time of the day (1pm) yet the staff seemed to be able to cope admirably with serving food and also being run off their feet with people who had just visited to have a drink at the bar.

An excellent experience and one I shall certainly do again if I'm down that way.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank adt52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    115
    23
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Been here many times never been disappointed with the service or the food the atmosphere is great.The staff can not do enough for you

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank charlieq0751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very friendly service and good value food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Great service and selection of dishes, friendly service

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AliGriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere. Fantastic staff and fabulous food. A*****”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This family run restaurant/pub is welcoming and homely. The menu is varied and caters for most, though I'm sure the hosts would endeavour to cater to most requests. There was 15+ of us for a special birthday, and the food was fantastic. The service was great. ( I can usually find a fault..... not here) The bar staff were equally good... All in all a very pleasing evening... I would have no hesitation in recommending The Maypole...

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank denele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious. An excellent find.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We drove past this pub at 7pm on a Saturday night and stopped in for dinner. We were welcomed and even though we didn't have a reservation were given a table but told it was reserved from 8pm which was fine. The food was delicious, freshly prepared with quality ingredients, service was friendly and prompt and the atmosphere was relaxed. I can't recommend it enough. Would definitely visit again.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenaSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maypole Inn also viewed

Hayling Island, Hampshire
 
Hayling Island, Hampshire
Hayling Island, Hampshire
 

Been to Maypole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing