We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Tasty”
Review of Maypole Inn

Maypole Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$33
Cuisines: European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are a large, family run public house serving excellent food and drinks. We have a large beer garden surrounded by fields for the Summer and a warm open fires for the winter.
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have been to the Maypole on several occasions usually with a group of 12 or so but also a table of 4. Have always had a good meal. The food is very tasty and mostly homemade. I used to have their Lasagne which was the best I had ever tasted (not on the menu at the moment). They use a lot of local suppliers for the meat and vegetables. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Not the cheapest but you pay for what you get and the food is good and cooked well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

429 - 433 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Bar staff very wellcoming and frendly the seroundings very pleasent although the food was a bit dry to be fair we was asked if our meal was ok but sometimes you dont want to spoil the evening by making a fuss all in all we enjoyed the visit

Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

A typical old English country pub with good home cooked food and beer. Great staff and friendly atmosphere

Thank StokerD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Went to the maypole for sunday lunch on the 8th June, Didin't know what to expect as we had never been before, Our group had Scampi, Whitebait and Roast beef 'n' Yorkshire pudding all were done to perfection especialy the Roast Potatoes and Yorkshire pudding which were obviously freshly made rather than frozen. Will definatly be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank motherwell1886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Look nice from the outside - "mine host" is very welcoming.
Food was poor though.
Battered cod - a small fillet concealed in a huge portion of batter.
Chips well done to say the least

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SweepieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandy c, Owner at Maypole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Hello,

I am truly sorry your were disappointed with your meal. We do check customers after they have their food. If you had mentioned that you were not happy we would have replaced your meal without hesitation. Once again please accept my apologies.

Mandy Cornish. Landlady.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maypole Inn also viewed

 
Hayling Island, Hampshire
Hayling Island, Hampshire
 
Hayling Island, Hampshire
Hayling Island, Hampshire
 

Been to Maypole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing