We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can I say, well nothing!”
Review of Langstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langstone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two evenings from Saturday 16th March, and after booking into our room we had to trek a mile to the room! The room itself was very dated and the shower was, in my opinion very inadequate.

We ate at the restaurant on the Saturday night and had the 12oz Sirloin on the bone which was very poor at £20 each without sides or sauces! The meal came to £65 with drinks! Very disappointed.

On two occasions we had room service that was better than the restaurant food! The only thing to comment was the £3 service charge that we were not made aware of for each time room service was delivered!

All in i'm afraid we would not recommend and will not return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,720)
There are newer reviews for Langstone Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,325 - 1,331 of 1,720 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

I have stayed here a lot excellent in all respects Saturday night food outstanding as usual but I noticed evidence of the credit crunch whilst hotels have to survive it was evident langstone is also going through what all hotels are food was as always was outstanding but it was evident cleanliness of rooms lacking also Amarked downturn in leisure facility's it was evident at breakfast on Sunday morning that long standing staff did there utmost to deliver at breakfast by the time I got my breakfast it was not help your self the place was heaving with groupon customers wastage of food by these customers was evident as staff worked realy hard to clear tables so I could understand why they then took to serving I was miffed as I had paid more which I am happy to do I was saddened that the fantastic chef and staff at langstone because of economic downturn have to go this route after gaining the reputation they have earned leisure facility's and restaurant ambience brilliant staff is what makes me go here and I hope that management take this on board but am understanding the reasons as to go on this path will leave it questionable wether I wish to join the something for nothing voucher holders again I wish langstone the very best for the future but please don't go this route it would be a sad loss

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank chloe30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Came for a one night stay for our wedding anniversary. The hotel room was a really good size, had upgraded to a superior room and had all the amenities you would need, however it was cold! The rooms have key cards for the heating therefore only on when you are in the room. This may work in the summer but when it's freezing outside to arrive to a warm room is a must. Lots of hot water although a soaking wet rest of the room, inadequate shower screen. The service in the bar on the Saturday evening was very poor but the breakfast was hot and plentiful. I think we would choose a less corporate smaller hotel next time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed here for a week recently as had to work in nearby Southwick. The hotel is very good, room was modern, comfortable with nice climate control. It was also quiet in the room which is great, have stayed in too many hotels where you can hear the nocturnal habits of the occupants of the next room! There is a decent gym and pool that you can use as a guest if you are so inclined. The only negative is the internet, you have a free tariff which is unusable as it's so slow. To upgrade to the full speed is £8.99 per day which is a rip off in this day in age. However for the price paid per night here i cant complain too much. All in all would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel on Friday night as a little get away and chance to eat out with the kids and use the leisure facilities. The Family Room was adequate for 4, the main bed very comfortable. Bathroom very basic. faciities with kettle and iron useful, although no extra bedding and the room didn't warm well.
Our evening meal was from the a la carte, no option to eat otherwise in restaurant. Food was good but a little fancy so not good portions if you like a filling meal rather than a tasting experience. The Kids food was excellent in size though. Drinks and food prices, high, but typical hotel prices £100 for 2 course meal and glass of wine, few soft drinks for kids and 2 g&T's. Service friendly, but some seemed rather timid. Breakfast was good although they were running out of things by 9.30 (fresh fruit) and I did ask.
we use the pool twice and both occasions there were private lessons taking up half the pool area we would want to use with 2 small children.
A good location and Ok for an overnight stay. If I would go again i'd go to Emsworth to eat. Spend the same money for a better food experience.
No lifts for 1st floor on half of the complex.

Room Tip: WE had room 159 it was good for a family as at end of the corridor so no noise at night. although a...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherinerossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed one night with voucher in a luxury room. All the staff were so welcoming from reception,bar and restaurant. Had a lovely message and facial in the spa.Booked a twin room, room had one double and two single beds. Food excellent. The shower head was very dirty didnt notice this until very late and reported this next morning and was told this would be sorted but this didnt help us.Would stay again but would check shower.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Recently visited for afternoon tea with family. Have attended a wedding at this venue before and was really impressed, so thought afternoon tea would be just as good. The hotel is lovely and the staff really friendly, but the afternoon tea disappointing. The food was served on catering tin trays and the sandwiches consisted of ham and tomato and smoked salmon. No consideration for vegetarians and no traditional egg and cress! When we 'complained' they did bring out some cheese and some egg ones but the bread was really thick and quite stale. There was a selection of cakes (again on tin trays) with fairly hard scones. So, if you are thinking of having a traditional cream tea I would think twice about this venue

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
2.8 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
280 reviews
1.4 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
533 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,240 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
1.4 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#4 of 4 in Havant
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Hotel

Address: Northney Road | Portsmouth, PO11 0NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range: £58 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Langstone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on Business or Pleasure, the Langstone hotel will look after all of your requirements. The hotel is ideally situated on Hayling Island on the south coast offering breath taking views of the estuary, with Portsmouth and Southampton only a few minutes by car. The hotel has just completed a 2.5 Million pound refurbishment and can cater for up to 170 banquets and state of the art conference & meeting facilities for up to 200 business guests. Our 2 AA rosette awarded Brasserie Restaurant which has views over the sea is ideal for entertaining friends and relatives or just enjoying a relaxing meal. Leisure guests will also enjoy the facilities of the hotel including a Lounge which serves all day light meals, coffee and cocktails. Our hidden court yard is ideal for enjoying lunch or dinner or just to unwind and relax while we take care of all of your needs. We offer a state of the art Health and fitness centre with a Indoor swimming pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi and beauty centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Langstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langstone
Langstone Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing