We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot understand the negative reviews ...”
Review of Langstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langstone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Sitting in the bar area enjoying the free wifi and enjoying the fantastic surroundings of this hotel. Why do people feel the need to nit pick and find negatives with somewhere which has very few if any? After booking I was apprehensive having read some of the recent reviews on here....once again the negative brigade had struck. Please do NOT believe the negatives. The hotel is on its own and has a lovely view of the estuary, loads of parking, fantastic welcoming reception staff, super bar staff, a great in house team who sorted us out with travel cot immediately. The breakfast is very tasty and there was more than enough of it! We will be recommending this place to friends and family and we will definitely be returning!

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,247 - 1,253 of 1,814 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Excellent location, quiet room, very good leisure facilities.
Room cold to start with as the electric heater had not been turned up before we arrived. But once warmed up was OK. Good to have a safe in the room.
Bathroom floor got wet from the shower.
Lovely view from bedroom window and restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Visited as a treat for a girl's pamper afternoon via a Groupon voucher , location on the waters edge was stunning but inside the hotel seemed dated with large print swirly patterned carpets, but other wise fine, made our way to the pool side for our Spa Access before the Cream Tea well with only one changing cubical I ended up nipping in to the disabled toilet to change in to my swim suit, not the pamper feel I had in mind when I booked, two hair dryers one was out of order, at pool side only three wooden sun loungers all ready taken so no where to sit or relax and the jacuzzi was out of order with a sign saying date to be repaired " unknown"!! Oh and the pool was occupied with a local group of mothers and babies having some kind of baby play session so we waited for that to end, didn't use the sauna due to the hot weather that day, would have been really nice to go out side and sit on loungers to enjoy the weather but there was no access pool side. Pool side grout was dirty you could scrape your finger on the tiles to leave your mark - I was disappointed and would Not book again. The cream tea was lovely with tasty sandwiches and scrummy cakes and large pot of tea we paid extra and had a glass of wine, view was stunning looking out on to the harbour through the dirty windows. Revamp the pool and all would have been fine .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank 12345gamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed at the Langstone Hotel as a last minute break. The room was at the end of a long corridor which meant it was very quiet. The view from the window was of a car park so not the best outlook but only one night so ok I suppose. Bed comfortable and room fairly large with a seating area, mini fridge, safe, iron and tea/coffee making facilities.
Bathroom was fairly standard with a walk in shower which when booked was advertised as multijet, but in reality was just a standard shower (so that was a little disappointing)
There was a wedding at the hotel and this meant that having a drink in the bar area was a little uncomfortable due to the amount of wedding guests, so we walked over the bridge to the Royal Oak where we had a few drinks and a nice meal.
Check out was a little abrupt and unhelpful but would stay again for a short break only.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillian197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here, we upgraded our room and booked a late check that meant we check out at 6pm the following day, we would recommend doing this as the room and the health suite were fantastic. We had afternoon tea over looking the marina in the hotel and for £28 this was excellent value. All the staff were friendly and could not do enough for you. Stayed here a few times now on a Groupon deal and we will again be returning, this is the best hotel in the area by a long way.

Room Tip: The basic rooms are lovely if you upgrade you get a fridge, dressing gowns and a large room and for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Came here for one night. Impressed by the modern, open feeling of the hotel. Well maintained. Beautiful large twin room with great beds. The food in the restaurant was a let down as were the extortionate prices for drinks. However, had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissLovetoTravel749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here for one night, and after we booked we then checked trip advisor and was shocked at the bad reviews so was not sure what we would find on arrival. Reception staff were welcoming on check in, but lacked basic information, ie, should be standard information for guests as to where and what times breakfast was served, this we had to ask. On entering our room was pleasantly surprised at the room, but exceptionally cold, which didnt improve through out the night even though thermostat in the room was turned up to full, lovely coordinating decor, although paint on the deep red curtains even though the room was wall papered ! There was massive mirrors in the room, all highly polished with no smudges, but then let down with massive cobwebs in both bedside lamps. On entering the bathroom, which looked very clean, again let down massively by a big poo in the toilet, suggesting this was not cleaned or the chambermaid had a poo whilst cleaning the room and forgot to flush! The complimentary tea tray was also a big let down, 4 tea bags , 6 coffee satchels no brown sugar and 6 milks. Would not have hurt to have had some horlicks or hot chocolate and some biscuits, this is the first hotel I have stayed in and not had biscuits on the tea tray .The bar drinks were a tad on the dear side as was the restaurant food. Breakfast was good, plenty of everything, although staff lacking attention to guests empty plates and clearing them, as when on a table for 2 becomes cramped.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tmwindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
1.4 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
557 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
289 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn (Langstone/A27)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Hotel

Address: Northney Road | Portsmouth, PO11 0NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range: £47 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Langstone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on Business or Pleasure, the Langstone hotel will look after all of your requirements. The hotel is ideally situated on Hayling Island on the south coast offering breath taking views of the estuary, with Portsmouth and Southampton only a few minutes by car. The hotel has just completed a 2.5 Million pound refurbishment and can cater for up to 170 banquets and state of the art conference & meeting facilities for up to 200 business guests. Our 2 AA rosette awarded Brasserie Restaurant which has views over the sea is ideal for entertaining friends and relatives or just enjoying a relaxing meal. Leisure guests will also enjoy the facilities of the hotel including a Lounge which serves all day light meals, coffee and cocktails. Our hidden court yard is ideal for enjoying lunch or dinner or just to unwind and relax while we take care of all of your needs. We offer a state of the art Health and fitness centre with a Indoor swimming pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi and beauty centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Langstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langstone
Langstone Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing