We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Langstone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Me and my partner booked a one night stay here on 'laterooms.com' and it was a lovely night; the staff were all friendly, the spa & pool facilities were great and well kept; our room was clean and tidy.

We didn't use the restaurant whilst there so I can't comment on the food there however I would definitely recommend for a couples weekend!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and do hope you will return in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    522
    391
    167
    81
See reviews for
266
698
28
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We only stopped one night at the end of December but don't have any real negatives to impart.yes the room electrics go off when you take the key out so the heating isn't on as soon as you enter the room but environmentally I don't see why anyone would complain about that.It didn't take long to feel warm. The room was a decent size,the bed was fine and views were good.The only gripe would be that the bathroom we had allowed our shower water to leak round the shower curtain and it ended up soaking the floor and going under the door out of the bathroom so the room carpet got wet.Perhaps a screen would be better.
It did feel odd walking through a full bar to get to the pool but it was a pleasant enough changing room, pool and steam room/sauna.( Jacuzzi wasn't open) Breakfast was the only meal we had here and it was varied and plentiful with pleasant views from the windows in the restaurant.We got a Groupon deal and for £55 I think it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RFamilyof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for choosing The Langstone Hotel for your recent stay in Portsmouth.

I was delighted your stay was so enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I booked a Travel Zoo deal with 2 other couples for a nights stay with dinner and breakfast.
Our initial reaction when we saw our room was that it was small but pleasant but the bed was small. Most hotels have a queen size or a king size bed rather than a standard.
We used the pool in the afternoon which was crowded and the water was almost uncomfortably warm but it was fun and the changing rooms and showers were very good.
The biggest disappointment came at dinner for my wife. She is a vegetarian and used to the limited choice on hotel Travel Zoo menus. The only meal she could have was Tofu. We were all rather shocked when we saw her meal. It was one large lump of tofu with a few crisp like things and not much else. It was supposed to be spiced tofu but my wife said it was plain and tasteless. She mentioned it to the waitress who was lovely and very helpful. She came back and said she had spoken to the chef who told her that he had received complaints before about the tofu and was thinking of changing the menu. Why has he waited if there have been other complaints?
She was offered an alternative meal but there was nothing else she could have. We were given a round of drinks as an apology.
The next morning we all had an excellent breakfast.
My tip would be that if you are a vegetarian, check the menu before booking this hotel.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

These comments have been highlighted to the management team and will be addressed to ensure it does not reoccur in the future.

With regards to the vegetarian option, we do offer many dishes via our different hotel menus and our chefs are happy to cook something especially for you if the items we have are not to your choice.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We went expecting a relaxing pampering weekend and were very disappointed. The leisure facilities were so full we could not use them and there was no place to sit or lie down. We had to ask for chairs to be brought in which was done after a lot of fuss and complaining on our part. The treatments were lovely but spoilt by the constant shouting and talking right outside the treatment room door.
I would make sure you book a table at the restaurant as despite including dinner they don't actually always have room for you in the restaurant.
The staff were not interested in sorting it out and as you have to pay your money upfront they don't seem keen to rectify the situation.
Neither myself or any of the other 6 people in our party would ever go back!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

I was disappointed to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience and you felt you needed to review this on an open forum even though we were still communicating with you via phone and letter.

I still disagree with many of your comments and hope the last letter I sent has now addressed this.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hayling Island hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before but this was our first winter visit. The hotel was cold throughout and the heater in the bedroom was only on when we were in the room therefore it always took time for it to heat up. The service at dinner was very poor and the meal, though nicely presented, was only average. On previous visits, internet was free but now only free for an hour. Hotel more for conferences than couples or families.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coby01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

These comments have been highlighted to the management team and will be addressed to ensure it does not reoccur in the future.

With regards to the internet, we have changed our offering from free low speed access to one hour free high speed access with additional times available from £3.00 to £9.99 for 24 hours including all the pay movies etc. We also run a weekend special offer of £5.00 for 24 hours with access from 2 devices. Our direct competitors in the area are charging £15.00 per day excluding movies.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We had a short break here for our 51st Wedding Anniversary. We had room 75, which was a lovely large room but felt cold when we went in. Being January it would take some warming up. There was a small electric fan heater on the wall but really wasn't big enough to heat such a large room. I went to reception and they delivered an oil filled radiator for extra heating, this worked perfectly and for the rest of our stay we was toasty and warm. I felt the breakfast was a little bit of a let down. Having to queue up to cook your own toast (only two toasters), if you'd already got your full English it was cold by the time you managed to get back with your toast. No fresh fruit selection, only tinned oranges and grapefruit. Had to chase around to find the waitress with the tea and coffee or go and serve myself to it. Still, it's not to say I wouldn't go back there because I would.

Room Tip: Room 75 is a family room on the ground floor with a double and single bed. There is also a roll-away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback and congratulations on your recent wedding anniversary.

I am delighted your stay was an enjoyable one and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stopped here, booked through Superbreak, for brother's wedding. Lovely setting with views over water. Had first night's dinner included in package - some of the food was excellent and other parts disappointing considering it has 2AA rosettes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I was delighted to learn that your stay with us at the Langstone Hotel was an enjoyable one. I have passed your comments onto the kitchen team regarding your meal.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
2.7 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Havant South (Langstone/A27)
1.4 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 3 in Emsworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
5.5 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Hotel

Property: Langstone Hotel
Address: Northney Road | Portsmouth, PO11 0NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Langstone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on Business or Pleasure, the Langstone hotel will look after all of your requirements. The hotel is ideally situated on Hayling Island on the south coast offering breath taking views of the estuary, with Portsmouth and Southampton only a few minutes by car. The hotel has just completed a 2.5 Million pound refurbishment and can cater for up to 170 banquets and state of the art conference & meeting facilities for up to 200 business guests. Our 2 AA rosette awarded Brasserie Restaurant which has views over the sea is ideal for entertaining friends and relatives or just enjoying a relaxing meal. Leisure guests will also enjoy the facilities of the hotel including a Lounge which serves all day light meals, coffee and cocktails. Our hidden court yard is ideal for enjoying lunch or dinner or just to unwind and relax while we take care of all of your needs. We offer a state of the art Health and fitness centre with a Indoor swimming pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi and beauty centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK and Hotels.com so you can book your Langstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langstone
Langstone Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing