We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at the Langstone”
Review of Langstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langstone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Reading
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at the Langstone”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My partner received a special offer inviting us to stay at the Langstone which included dinner and B&B, we'd stayed there before and had been happy with the service we'd received.

It was really a really excellent experience and we had a great time. We used used the pool facilities which are good. Dinner was excellent, both in terms of quality of food and presentation and value for money, likewise breakfast was very good too, if not a little hectic due to there having been a wedding and Xmas party the night before.

The room we had was modern, clean and spacious with tea/coffee making facilities, and had all you could possibly need for an overnight stay.

The staff are very pleasant and efficient, the hotel is very clean, with a modern bar area and well positioned for exploring Hayling Island. We walked around the marina nearby and to top it all, it was a really sunny weekend!


Well done Langstone Hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choubi_Chin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful feedback.

I hope we can welcome you back to The Langstone Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    565
    422
    179
    87
See reviews for
289
762
29
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

travelzoo offer was very good value for money. we paid extra for a larger room with twin beds, and it was worth it. very close to both the swimming pool, and the restaurant. It included bathrobes which were great for use in the pool area.

lovely wall fire for use whenever needed (other hotels often have heating on, only at set times) this was a bonus in the winter. even had a side sea view.

staff very pleasant and helpful in the pool - but make sure you choose a time when mothers and toddlers aren't crowding out the changing rooms and the shallow end! pool is large, clean and warm, and club members using the pool are friendly. only downside is that there is only one tiny cubicle for changing (plus one larger one for baby changing) so really have to dress and undress in a crowded room a lot of the time.

we had B&B so bought the special offer 2014 dinner which only cost £20.14 for 2 people including wine!!!! Availabe til end of February, so we have booked another one. simply lovely food and so appealing, we hardly wanted to disturb what was on the plate! with an extra appetiser compliments of the chef it was probably my most favourite meal ever. spacious restaurant and friendly staff.

Breakfast was very varied and plentiful, as good as any we have had, and available for 4 hours! 6 til 10, I mean, you could graze for hours, who needs lunch after that. Even huge kippers if you wanted them.

Room Tip: pay extra for larger twin room ours had a double and a single bed in it, plus a wet room bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read your feedback and that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Langstone Hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Langstone Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Me and my partner booked a one night stay here on 'laterooms.com' and it was a lovely night; the staff were all friendly, the spa & pool facilities were great and well kept; our room was clean and tidy.

We didn't use the restaurant whilst there so I can't comment on the food there however I would definitely recommend for a couples weekend!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and do hope you will return in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We only stopped one night at the end of December but don't have any real negatives to impart.yes the room electrics go off when you take the key out so the heating isn't on as soon as you enter the room but environmentally I don't see why anyone would complain about that.It didn't take long to feel warm. The room was a decent size,the bed was fine and views were good.The only gripe would be that the bathroom we had allowed our shower water to leak round the shower curtain and it ended up soaking the floor and going under the door out of the bathroom so the room carpet got wet.Perhaps a screen would be better.
It did feel odd walking through a full bar to get to the pool but it was a pleasant enough changing room, pool and steam room/sauna.( Jacuzzi wasn't open) Breakfast was the only meal we had here and it was varied and plentiful with pleasant views from the windows in the restaurant.We got a Groupon deal and for £55 I think it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RFamilyof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for choosing The Langstone Hotel for your recent stay in Portsmouth.

I was delighted your stay was so enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I booked a Travel Zoo deal with 2 other couples for a nights stay with dinner and breakfast.
Our initial reaction when we saw our room was that it was small but pleasant but the bed was small. Most hotels have a queen size or a king size bed rather than a standard.
We used the pool in the afternoon which was crowded and the water was almost uncomfortably warm but it was fun and the changing rooms and showers were very good.
The biggest disappointment came at dinner for my wife. She is a vegetarian and used to the limited choice on hotel Travel Zoo menus. The only meal she could have was Tofu. We were all rather shocked when we saw her meal. It was one large lump of tofu with a few crisp like things and not much else. It was supposed to be spiced tofu but my wife said it was plain and tasteless. She mentioned it to the waitress who was lovely and very helpful. She came back and said she had spoken to the chef who told her that he had received complaints before about the tofu and was thinking of changing the menu. Why has he waited if there have been other complaints?
She was offered an alternative meal but there was nothing else she could have. We were given a round of drinks as an apology.
The next morning we all had an excellent breakfast.
My tip would be that if you are a vegetarian, check the menu before booking this hotel.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

These comments have been highlighted to the management team and will be addressed to ensure it does not reoccur in the future.

With regards to the vegetarian option, we do offer many dishes via our different hotel menus and our chefs are happy to cook something especially for you if the items we have are not to your choice.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We went expecting a relaxing pampering weekend and were very disappointed. The leisure facilities were so full we could not use them and there was no place to sit or lie down. We had to ask for chairs to be brought in which was done after a lot of fuss and complaining on our part. The treatments were lovely but spoilt by the constant shouting and talking right outside the treatment room door.
I would make sure you book a table at the restaurant as despite including dinner they don't actually always have room for you in the restaurant.
The staff were not interested in sorting it out and as you have to pay your money upfront they don't seem keen to rectify the situation.
Neither myself or any of the other 6 people in our party would ever go back!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

I was disappointed to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience and you felt you needed to review this on an open forum even though we were still communicating with you via phone and letter.

I still disagree with many of your comments and hope the last letter I sent has now addressed this.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hayling Island hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before but this was our first winter visit. The hotel was cold throughout and the heater in the bedroom was only on when we were in the room therefore it always took time for it to heat up. The service at dinner was very poor and the meal, though nicely presented, was only average. On previous visits, internet was free but now only free for an hour. Hotel more for conferences than couples or families.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coby01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

These comments have been highlighted to the management team and will be addressed to ensure it does not reoccur in the future.

With regards to the internet, we have changed our offering from free low speed access to one hour free high speed access with additional times available from £3.00 to £9.99 for 24 hours including all the pay movies etc. We also run a weekend special offer of £5.00 for 24 hours with access from 2 devices. Our direct competitors in the area are charging £15.00 per day excluding movies.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
1.4 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
509 reviews
5.3 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,201 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 mi away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#34 of 38 in Portsmouth
408 reviews
5.5 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Hotel

Property: Langstone Hotel
Address: Northney Road | Portsmouth, PO11 0NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Langstone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on Business or Pleasure, the Langstone hotel will look after all of your requirements. The hotel is ideally situated on Hayling Island on the south coast offering breath taking views of the estuary, with Portsmouth and Southampton only a few minutes by car. The hotel has just completed a 2.5 Million pound refurbishment and can cater for up to 170 banquets and state of the art conference & meeting facilities for up to 200 business guests. Our 2 AA rosette awarded Brasserie Restaurant which has views over the sea is ideal for entertaining friends and relatives or just enjoying a relaxing meal. Leisure guests will also enjoy the facilities of the hotel including a Lounge which serves all day light meals, coffee and cocktails. Our hidden court yard is ideal for enjoying lunch or dinner or just to unwind and relax while we take care of all of your needs. We offer a state of the art Health and fitness centre with a Indoor swimming pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi and beauty centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langstone
Langstone Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing