We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be fooled!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Langstone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

A birthday treat for my partner at the Langstone on Saturday left us with somewhat shattered expectations. All the reviews had told us of the amazing restaurant, can't say we agree.

In our humble opinions it was pretentious and over-rated. For such a star rating as this restaurant holds the setting was only average. The food was perhaps a tad above average but we've both had better from less exepensive establishments.

The room was just below average with no control over the central heating.

For the price paid it's not good value for money and therefore we can't, in all honesty, recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    523
    391
    167
    81
See reviews for
267
698
28
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed for 1 night with a Travelzoo offer, easy parking close to reception, good and efficient check in, standard of the room was ok. All the staff were very pleasant.
Dinner was included in the offer and I was impressed that everything was available from the a la carte menu, including scallops!
The quality of the food was excellent and the presentation was beautiful, well deserving the 2 rosette. The service was also very good and our waitress, Leah very attentive, helpful and well trained. Breakfast in the morning was also good, the service could have been better (like clearing dirty pates from the table) In all a very good stay and very good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gi01954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed here for one night with a travelzoo deal that included a three course dinner, and had a great stay. The hotel is in a fantastic location especially for walkers and we had a lovely walk to Emsworth from here (about 2 1/2 miles).
The staff were all exceptionally friendly and helpful and we have no complaints whatsoever with the restaurant or the service we received. The food was very good and a great choice for a set menu.
All in all a fantastic short break and we will definately return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tazHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

The website for this spa break is completely misleading. It is not a spa - it is a pool which was filled with children and locals. There were at least 40 people in the pool which I believe would be against health and safety as there was no life guard for the children. Furthermore the pool has no seating area so is not really a spa area at all - it is just a pool with lots of people in it.

The atmosphere was very unpleasant and the steam room and spa were so small that when we had to take it in turns to use them. Also we were squashed up to eachother and strangers all touching flesh - disgusting. Worst of all was the attitude of the staff when we asked them if we could have some seats to relax around the pool, they obviously had no idea what a spa entails.

The rooms were very spacious and clean but there was no shampoo, soap or condition in the bathroom it felt as if they were trying to skimp on everything.

The restaurant was the one gem, the food was delicious and the service was good in the restaurant even though it was appalling around the spa area so I will rate it terrible overall as our reason for being there was for a spa break.

I would not recommend this hotel as a spa break.

Room Tip: We had to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hayling Island hotels

Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We came for a friend's wedding and had decided to make a long weekend of it. The wedding went well and the spinnaker suite was a great venue for it. The reception, bar and restaurant areas were nice and modern and the staff were all friendly.
Our room was clean, modern and well appointed. The bathroom was a wet room which was really nice but could have been designed better, I think perhaps the funky shower screen should have gone to the floor as we had a permanent puddle next to the toilet from water not being able to drain properly.
The breakfast was fairly average for this type of hotel. On our last morning it was really busy and they seemed to struggle to keep up with demand even though they had set extra tables and had extra staff on, we had to wait over 15 mins for our eggs to arrive.
We also felt that in this day and age to only get 1 hour free wifi was poor! We stayed 3 nights and even if we'd had 1 hour a day might not have been so bad. There's a nice little café near the seafront called mad hatter's tea room, they had free wifi.... a big hotel like this want you to pay for it!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted that you have enjoyed the wedding you attended at the hotel and will pass your feedback onto the team.

Regarding your breakfast comments, we did have some issues on the Sunday morning that meant we did not offer the levels of service that we normally pride ourselves on. This was out of our control and has now been rectified so that it should not happen again in the future.

I do hope you will return in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Had a short stay with evening meal thanks to Travelzoo. The hotel was nicely situated in a quiet spot on the edge of the harbour - plenty of wildlife to see. The room was pleasant and comfortable as was the bed. The newish spa facilities were excellent.
The real gem was the restaurant. The evening meal was of excellent quality and very imaginatively presented and Caitlin our waitress was very helpful. The tables were well spaced so it didn't feel overcrowded. Would definitely book here again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the reception area are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rod428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read your feedback and that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Langstone Hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Langstone Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

This sprawling hotel did not meet my expectations. Wings spread in all direction and distances to rooms and facilities can be quite long. The dining room offered a good breakfast and the rooms are decent. The shower was blocked when we first moved in and as we had already unpacked, we weren't keen to move. It took until the next morning to have it fixed.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

These comments have been highlighted to the management team and will be addressed to ensure it does not reoccur in the future.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
2.7 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Havant South (Langstone/A27)
1.4 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 3 in Emsworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
5.5 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Hotel

Property: Langstone Hotel
Address: Northney Road | Portsmouth, PO11 0NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Langstone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on Business or Pleasure, the Langstone hotel will look after all of your requirements. The hotel is ideally situated on Hayling Island on the south coast offering breath taking views of the estuary, with Portsmouth and Southampton only a few minutes by car. The hotel has just completed a 2.5 Million pound refurbishment and can cater for up to 170 banquets and state of the art conference & meeting facilities for up to 200 business guests. Our 2 AA rosette awarded Brasserie Restaurant which has views over the sea is ideal for entertaining friends and relatives or just enjoying a relaxing meal. Leisure guests will also enjoy the facilities of the hotel including a Lounge which serves all day light meals, coffee and cocktails. Our hidden court yard is ideal for enjoying lunch or dinner or just to unwind and relax while we take care of all of your needs. We offer a state of the art Health and fitness centre with a Indoor swimming pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi and beauty centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK and Odigeo so you can book your Langstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langstone
Langstone Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing