We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Murder mystery Groupon deal”
Review of Langstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Langstone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Murder mystery Groupon deal”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

One night stay over with dinner and murder mystery event. Hotel was fine. Nice location. Meal was very nice. Rooms ok. Didn't use the leisure facilities but they looked fine. Bar prices are high though. Murder mystery was entertaining and fun.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BazJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    546
    410
    171
    84
See reviews for
276
739
28
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Horsham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed overnight on a Travelzoo deal and payed extra for the luxury room.
On arrival the receptionist was very welcoming, our room on the first floor over looked the harbour and bridge over to the island the room was very clean. the evening meal was most enjoyable and staff very pleasant,and the breakfast very nice.
It would have been nice to have 2 bottles of water in room but otherwise a very enjoyable stay and would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We spent a night here through a deal with Travelzoo. It was excellent value for money. We found the staff really helpful and even though we arrived midday we were able to book in. After spending the afternoon walking around the Island we found the Spa facilities very refreshing. The facilities and standard were excellent
The meal in the evening was also excellent and the staff very attentive throuhout.
The only gripes is the inability of the hotel to clear the trays in the corridors as noted by other reviewers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I took my Mum there as a treat for Mother's Day afternoon tea. We went to the main reception area to ask where the restaurant was, the girl behind the reception desk was chatting to what appeared to be a group of her friends. We were ignored by another receptionist who started dealing with a couple standing behind us, then when I tried to speak to what I assumed was a manager he just walked off. We appeared to be invisible. A man was sitting on the sofa watching our failed attempts and laughing, so in the end we gave up and went to look for the restaurant ourselves.
The afternoon tea was nice and the restaurant staff were much more welcoming, but most of the room was filled with groups of 20+ sat at long tables, so it was quite a noisy, hot and not exactly relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellamain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hayling Island hotels

Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed overnight at this hotel for a "Murder Mystery". Really enjoyed our overnight stay at this hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was good. Had a "Hot Stones" massage which very relaxing. Used the Spa facilities, steam room, sauna, Jacuzzi and pool which were excellent. Very good value through "Groupon".

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

The murder mystery was fun, and very ham-tastic. There was enough to keep the interest, but was slightly drawn out at nearly four hours. It does necessitate a lot of interaction with other guests, sitting on large tables, so not for the introverted. Disappointingly, there was no choice for dinner: everyone ate the same thing. The food quality was only fair; unsurprising given around 100 people were present.

Breakfast the next morning was pleasant but service could be better. Overall, the hotel seems largely staffed by a young, college attending staff, who are friendly enough, but not trained or supervised to 4* standards.

Rooms are well appointed: soft but comfy beds; good showers, but which flood the bathroom.

The spa facilities are pleasant, but the hot tub was over-chlorinated and stung the eyes, and screaming children were in attendance.

Overall, great value if you don't overpay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed here for a 'special occasion', but did not want to stay in Portsmouth itself. Impressed by the 4* rating on the website, the location, and the chance to upgrade to a 'luxury room'. Ah well. Be warned the slightly impressive aspect of the hotel is not matched by the reality. It is a 1960's block made pretty by the entrance, and the aspect of the hotel facing the approach over the main bridge to Hayling Island. The reception area and adjacent bat are slightly above Travel Lodge. Unwelcoming, off-hand reception staff, who duly booked us into our upgraded 'luxury' ......... disabled room (without telling us it was a disabled room). The room was spacious and comfortable for a disabled person, but was not what we had asked or paid for. When we questioned this, they kindly changed the room to another exactly the same. The reception staff claimed it was not possible for them to know what facilities each room had - can this be true? If I we had asked for a room with disabled facilities, would they make the same claim?? Our third room was spacious, but very basic. The non-disabled bathroom nearly floods, as the 'walk-in' shower does not have enough camber on the floor for the water to drain! The three-course meal we paid for was of a good standard, but they were obviously short-staffed, and we had to eat much later than we wanted. Whilst waiting for a table, sitting in the bar, we had to listen to assorted staff moaning about their jobs, the hotel, and their issues in general. When we checked out, the reception staff were equally rude and indifferent. The Langstone could be an OK 3* hotel, but we rate it 1* for staff attitude and very basic rooms. A hotel with zero customer service is probably going to struggle, but anywhere that is indifferent to the most basic requests
does not deserve to succeed.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
2.7 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Havant South (Langstone/A27)
1.4 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
5.5 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Hotel

Property: Langstone Hotel
Address: Northney Road | Portsmouth, PO11 0NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Langstone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on Business or Pleasure, the Langstone hotel will look after all of your requirements. The hotel is ideally situated on Hayling Island on the south coast offering breath taking views of the estuary, with Portsmouth and Southampton only a few minutes by car. The hotel has just completed a 2.5 Million pound refurbishment and can cater for up to 170 banquets and state of the art conference & meeting facilities for up to 200 business guests. Our 2 AA rosette awarded Brasserie Restaurant which has views over the sea is ideal for entertaining friends and relatives or just enjoying a relaxing meal. Leisure guests will also enjoy the facilities of the hotel including a Lounge which serves all day light meals, coffee and cocktails. Our hidden court yard is ideal for enjoying lunch or dinner or just to unwind and relax while we take care of all of your needs. We offer a state of the art Health and fitness centre with a Indoor swimming pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi and beauty centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Langstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langstone
Langstone Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing