We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good trip spoled by attitude of barmen”
Review of Langstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langstone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We recently stayed at the Langstone as a group of 6 family members there to celebrate a family occasion. The hotel was clean and tidy . The room was also clean and tidy. The bed comfortable. Reception staff were welcoming and we were in our room in no time. However , we all then retired to the bar for a couple of drinks before we went out. The attitude of the barmen was not good, it was as if he was doing us a favour by being there. He served the ladies bottles without glasses to drink them from, the pints were slopped up onto the bar and half way through serving disappeared leaving us to wait for an eternity to complete the round !! The breakfast was good and I would stay there again, but just avoid the bar next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,151 - 1,157 of 1,815 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a murder mystery night -good fun! Dinner was lovely too -service was a bit slow. Pool was really nice -breakfast was lovely. Only thing I didnt like was the deluxe room has a wet room which I dislike. Much rather have a wallow in the bath with some nice smellies!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 866anniea866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife and I attended a Groupon promoted "Murder Mystery" dinner and overnight stay. We opted to pay a little extra for a luxury room. On arrival the receptionist was polite and friendly but struggled a little when their card reader would not accept my card so it had to be entered manually. We gathered she was new and we got the impression throughout out visit that many of the staff were not exactly old hands so maybe the hotel has trouble retaining staff.

Our room was very clean with tea and coffee making facilities, an ironing board, drink fridge / chiller, bottle of spring water and small bar of chocolate :), Decent size TV which had the facility to rent films (including adult) for a fee. Hair dryer. A nice King size bed. Small sofa and table and chair in addition to the dressing table chair.

The en-suite walk-in shower room / wc was very clean with heated towel rail and plenty of towels, small shampoo and shower gel etc.

There was a room service menu with a small selection of food, some available 24 hours, a bit pricey but then I suppose you'd expect that. Also there is a laundry service available whereby you can drop off your washing by 8.30 am for return the same day.

One little tip.When we entered the room we thought the lights were not working but found you need to put your room keycard in a slot by the door, then they work! It would have been nice if we'd been told when we were handed the key,

We were provided a WiFi password but I think this was only valid for one device and was fairly slow. It appeared you could pay for additional devices / faster connection when logging in but i wasn't too sure about this.

The meal / murder mystery was held in one of the conference rooms with a bar just outside.

The "Miss Marbles" Murder mystery presentation was suitably hammed up by the actors and members of the audience who were volunteered to participate. You joined with others on your table of 12 people to decide whodunnit and why etc. The clues provided were clear enough and I think all teams had the murder plot sussed by the time each team was asked to submit their conclusions. The event was well managed and "Miss Marbles" and the other actors did a good job of keeping the audience engaged with the play between courses.

The cabaret after the play was taken on by a very entertaining singer who seemed to have a very wide repertoir and engaged the guests who remained very well indeed.

The food was very good but there was no choice and it would have been good to know in advance what we were to be offered. For reference, from memory we had celeriac and apple soup with garlic butterbean and calvados foam which was really tasty, followed by braised blade of beef with horseradish mash,roasted carrot in a red wine sauce,again really nice, followed by a lovely lemon tart with a very small portion of blood orange mousse and a gel on the top. Then tea / coffee.

A couple of people on our table had the vegetarian option which was a risotto and neither seemed very happy, one complained and had hers changed for another dish with apologies from the manager.

Another couple complained that the Merlot wine was not good, my wife and I had the same wine and it seemed OK to us but we're not experts. A bit pricey at over £5 for a medium glass. Someone else on our table complained the lemonade was flat so we had bottled J2o / mineral water after our wine was drunk. The air conditioning was not working "to be fixed on Monday" so the room was rather hot.

As with other reports we found the shower room tended to flood as the drain couldn't take the waste water away fast enough if you used the shower at full pelt. The sink was also very slow to drain and the extractor fan was either silent or not working in our room.

Breakfast was excellent with a vast range of foods available buffet style including scrambled eggs, (or fried to order), bacon, tomatoes, beans, mushrooms, sausages etc, Choice of cereals, fruit juices, croissants, pain au chocolat and other pastries, fruit, toast etc.etc.etc. All the cooked food seemed very well prepared.

All in all we really enjoyed our visit and would recommend it if you are up for a fun evening of ham acting and a good hotel, albeit with a few minor shortcomings.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobble71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We went to the Langstone Hotel for a Murder Mystery evening. The evening was enjoyable, although the acting was a bit on the hammy side, but this just added to the fun, and look out for the surprise at the end of the evening. The murder mystery went on for about 4 hours which we think could have been shorten a bit, there were several gaps where nothing much was happening. Everyone was served with a set three course meal which was very nice, very tasty and surprisingly filling for what initially looked like small portions. Our room was clean and comfortable with all the usual amenities. Our only moan about the room was the shower. It was a great shower with jets of water coming at you in all directions, but it left the whole of the bathroom floor soaked, you have to wade across it to get out.
Breakfast was the usual buffet style, plenty of it and a good selection. We ate ours at a window table looking out towards the bridge onto the island.
Most of the staff were very young, but they were all very helpful, polite and friendly. Earlier in the day when we first got to Hayling Island, we went into town. There we found everyone we came across in the shops and cafés were also very friendly and helpful. We highly recommend, 1 the hotel, and 2 the Murder Mystery evening. We met some very nice people.

Room Tip: There are no lifts, except for wheelchairs, and long corridors so try and choose a ground floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nevandjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

One night stay over with dinner and murder mystery event. Hotel was fine. Nice location. Meal was very nice. Rooms ok. Didn't use the leisure facilities but they looked fine. Bar prices are high though. Murder mystery was entertaining and fun.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BazJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed overnight on a Travelzoo deal and payed extra for the luxury room.
On arrival the receptionist was very welcoming, our room on the first floor over looked the harbour and bridge over to the island the room was very clean. the evening meal was most enjoyable and staff very pleasant,and the breakfast very nice.
It would have been nice to have 2 bottles of water in room but otherwise a very enjoyable stay and would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We spent a night here through a deal with Travelzoo. It was excellent value for money. We found the staff really helpful and even though we arrived midday we were able to book in. After spending the afternoon walking around the Island we found the Spa facilities very refreshing. The facilities and standard were excellent
The meal in the evening was also excellent and the staff very attentive throuhout.
The only gripes is the inability of the hotel to clear the trays in the corridors as noted by other reviewers.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
1.4 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
557 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
289 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn (Langstone/A27)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Hotel

Address: Northney Road | Portsmouth, PO11 0NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range: £46 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Langstone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on Business or Pleasure, the Langstone hotel will look after all of your requirements. The hotel is ideally situated on Hayling Island on the south coast offering breath taking views of the estuary, with Portsmouth and Southampton only a few minutes by car. The hotel has just completed a 2.5 Million pound refurbishment and can cater for up to 170 banquets and state of the art conference & meeting facilities for up to 200 business guests. Our 2 AA rosette awarded Brasserie Restaurant which has views over the sea is ideal for entertaining friends and relatives or just enjoying a relaxing meal. Leisure guests will also enjoy the facilities of the hotel including a Lounge which serves all day light meals, coffee and cocktails. Our hidden court yard is ideal for enjoying lunch or dinner or just to unwind and relax while we take care of all of your needs. We offer a state of the art Health and fitness centre with a Indoor swimming pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi and beauty centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Langstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langstone
Langstone Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing