We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay with dinner”
Review of Langstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Langstone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“overnight stay with dinner”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

we stayed on saturday night on a pre paid package through travelzoo. Check in was ok, not overly helpful or friendly, room clean and comfortable. The bar area is nice as is the outside terrace. We went to have a look around the pool and gym, which was good, although the sauna and jacuzzi were not working. We went to diiner at 8.30, was greeted well and shown to our table. Service was slow and not as good as I would expect. The food looked very pretty but was average in taste, I have had much better at other places for the some or less money. The wine was over priced, and the beers were not served in the correct glasses. They had run out of my chosen desert, but offered a complimentary drink instead. No one checked back on us whilst eating our main course which is unexeptable. The brasserie was not full and there were plenty of staff working, so there is no excuse for this. My husbands chicked was overcooked and very dry to the point he could not eat it. He told the waitress when she cleared our half full plates some 20 mins later, she offered something else but it was getting late. In summary, I would not rush back to eat here, if I had not been on a pre paid offer, I would have been very upset with the experience. Breakfast was good although a bit hectic. I tried to call reception 4 times, it just rang and rang and then cut me off, when I finally got through at 7pm on saturday night asking for a hair dryer as there was not one in our room, she said she would send one up, this never arrived - so I gave up! Check out was ok again not overly friendly. Nice hotel but wouldn't return, they seem to have service issues as well as food being under par.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    545
    408
    171
    84
See reviews for
276
735
28
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Visited here on a Travelzoo break and I thought it was very good value for money - okay a few of the things on the dinner menu for Travelzoo guests had a surcharge of £3 we had the roasted root vegetables as an extra but they were delicious as was all of our meal; the food was well presented and the service in the restaurant was brilliant especially Megan our waitress who looked after us very well and took the time to talk to us.

The location of the hotel was lovely overlooking the estuary and there are some nice walks around the island. The swimming pool was nice although hard to do much proper swimming as there were a few children in there doing a lot of splashing around.

The room was fine we were on the ground floor overlooking the estuary. The lights were operated by putting the key card into the slot by the door; the only trouble was the lights in the wardrobe had no on/off switch and were continually on so when we went to bed we had to take the key card out but that meant that if we got up in the night we had to feel our way over to the door to put the lights on. We had a problem with the shower in the morning but we rang reception and they sent someone up within 10 minutes to deal with it - however would like to see a shower screen rather than a shower curtain as when the shower is on the curtain tends to cling to you.

Breakfast was good with the usual assortment of items, there were scrambled eggs in the buffet but if you wanted poached or fried all you had to do was ask; I had poached and it was cooked perfectly.
Overall a great stay and would happily visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEL219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I was slightly surprised by the review by Mike from Epsom as we have also just stayed in this hotel with Travelzoo. Yes there is a separate menu but both the meals we had came with vegetables at no extra charge. There was a choice of five desserts with only one being at an extra charge. With Travelzoo you get three courses, perhaps Mike was wanting four with his free tea and coffee.
My issue with The Langstone is that there was no decaffeinated tea for breakfast, Decaffeinated coffee, fruit teas of every description, but no decaffeinated tea! Caffeine gives me migraines. the rooms were clean and comfortable and very well equipped with a trouser press cum ironing board, an iron and a fridge, also a table and chairs to sit at if you preferred room service which a lot of hotels do not have.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfnut88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 night stay which included dinner on both nights, bed and breakfast. Really enjoyed the hotel, our room (25) was very large, the bathroom was big with a powerful shower. Dinner on both nights was very tasty and the attention to detail was exceptional. Breakfast was a bit disappointing but could very easily be improved with a little more choice, individual portions of butter and individual coffee/teapots. The swimming pool facilities were very enjoyable. The biggest minus is the weddings, there was a wedding on both days of our stay and they tended to take over the bar area in the evenings. Overall we really enjoyed our stay but I don't know if we'd go back because of the minuses.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Travelzoo guests have a separate dinner menu which is OK. However, you are charged a supplement for vegetables to accompany your meal - not additional vegetables but any vegetables. Also many of the desserts carry an additional charge as does tea or coffee. This is penny pinching to the extreme !
Neither lights in the wardrobe worked.
There is a charge for Wi-Fi - must be one of the few hotels still charging for this.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_P2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hayling Island hotels

Ardersier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Hotel room was very clean and well stocked with towels and tea/coffee. The TV worked perfectly and although it was very warm, the windows opened fully. Overall the room was just what we wanted - perfect for our needs. The mattress was soft - but not too soft - perfect!
We were unable to try out the meals or other facilities like the spa, as we were late arriving and had an early start. Maybe next time.
There was a bit of a mix up with the booking... but it turned out that my company had forgotten to make a booking! However, the hotel sorted a room out for me no problem.
All in all, we would highly recommend staying at this hotel and look forward to going there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chalfont st peter
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We recently stayed at the Langstone as a group of 6 family members there to celebrate a family occasion. The hotel was clean and tidy . The room was also clean and tidy. The bed comfortable. Reception staff were welcoming and we were in our room in no time. However , we all then retired to the bar for a couple of drinks before we went out. The attitude of the barmen was not good, it was as if he was doing us a favour by being there. He served the ladies bottles without glasses to drink them from, the pints were slopped up onto the bar and half way through serving disappeared leaving us to wait for an eternity to complete the round !! The breakfast was good and I would stay there again, but just avoid the bar next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
2.7 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Havant South (Langstone/A27)
1.4 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
5.5 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Hotel

Property: Langstone Hotel
Address: Northney Road | Portsmouth, PO11 0NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Langstone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on Business or Pleasure, the Langstone hotel will look after all of your requirements. The hotel is ideally situated on Hayling Island on the south coast offering breath taking views of the estuary, with Portsmouth and Southampton only a few minutes by car. The hotel has just completed a 2.5 Million pound refurbishment and can cater for up to 170 banquets and state of the art conference & meeting facilities for up to 200 business guests. Our 2 AA rosette awarded Brasserie Restaurant which has views over the sea is ideal for entertaining friends and relatives or just enjoying a relaxing meal. Leisure guests will also enjoy the facilities of the hotel including a Lounge which serves all day light meals, coffee and cocktails. Our hidden court yard is ideal for enjoying lunch or dinner or just to unwind and relax while we take care of all of your needs. We offer a state of the art Health and fitness centre with a Indoor swimming pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi and beauty centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Langstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langstone
Langstone Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing