We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute getaway”
Review of Langstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langstone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Reviewed 17 May 2014

this was a last minute getaway to a lovely hotel, very quiet location, very friendly staff, excellent service and very good price. We were ugraded by the reception staff when we asked to use the spa as this was a relaxation getaway break for us & could we hire a robe. The dinner was fabulous especially the Heston b style dessert with nitrogen! Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WindyMiller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read your feedback and that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Langstone Hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Langstone Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,814 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

Just stayed here for a week on business and hotel is fine, Clean and comfy, food is ok and its in a really nice location but the staff are just brilliant, Clare in the bar is great fun and nothing was too much trouble for her, Chelsea in the restaurant was smiling at 11.00 last night and again at breakfast this morning, Pauline even gave me her banana because she overheard me say I fancied one and finally Hollie for making everything run smoothly with our course room and delegates. Thanks again, Andy Oliver Sales Manager TS

Room Tip: go for an upstairs room so you can open window at night as it does get a bit warm in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us here at the Langstone Hotel.

I was pleased to read that your stay with us was comfortable and enjoyable. I have passed your comments onto the individual staff members and their line managers.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the not to distant future.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Arrived to a very unfriendly receptionist. Icy cool !!. Room OK overlooking the creek, but the shower flooded the bathroom. 3 nights, 3 noisy wedding receptions later I needed a retreat so headed for the spa, which had areas that looked really grotty. But my biggest gripe is Wi-Fi. On the crib sheet in the room it states that there is an Ethernet cable in the top drawer in the room that will connect you to Free Wi-Fi. Miss Ice in reception gave me a code for 1 hours free Wi-Fi then you have to pay. What bit of the word complimentary means you pay after 1 hour.
It was also pretty grim to see the spoils of the wedding reception such as glasses empty bottles and cans and vomit in the car park in the mornings
I will not return, shame as the location is stunning.

Room Tip: Creek side rooms are OK as you miss the main reception spa and car park noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

I was disappointed to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience here with us at the Langstone Hotel.

I would like the opportunity to discuss this with you directly as your experience does not reflect the usual high standards that the Langstone prides itself on. If you would like please email me on dos@langstonehotel.co.uk.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The booking was very simple, the room was excellent, the facilities were of a very high standard. There was a wedding reception going on, however, the site was sufficiently well designed to enable those people to enjoy their evening whilst allowing others to enjoy space and amenities undisturbed. Noise no problem at all. Breakfast very comprehensive and plenty of staff in assistance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback without which we are unable to continually improve our service and facilities.

I was delighted to learn that your stay with us at the Langstone Hotel was an enjoyable one and I have passed your comments onto the team.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back again in the future


Yours sincerely,


Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was a suprise weekend away for me from my boyfriend (as he was going to propose) and wanted everything to be perfect. The hotel was lovely but two nights running there was a white transit van parked in the driveway blocking the view from the bar. The hotel room was extremely hot and no air conditioning. We awaited 45 mins fo ra bowl of chips at lunch time and when a member of staff was asked there was no apology just "I will check" and it wasn't until asked a second time we asked that the food came. We then ordered sandwiches then came out, thrown together (as we had already waited for the chips I guess they hurried!) no napkin, knife or fork,!!! We advised the staff at front desk and they were very good at removing the food off our bill. To celebrate our enagagement we went down to the restaurant at 8.15pm. There was no water placed on the table, no wine list given and were not even asked if we would like any drinks. Member of staff came " can I take your order" I think service would have been better in Macdonals, we asked for drink she replied "what would you like, we then asked for the wine list". A chilli was ordered that was tastless, the dessert that was ordered (menu advised allow 15 minutes cooking) 25 minutes later we were still waiting and when asked the dessert came and to be fair the dessert was deducted from our bill because of the wait. Said that a nice hotel let down by poor service and manners!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Safeena-Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

May I take this opportunity to congratulate you both on your recent engagement.

I was disappointed to read your review and this does not reflect the usual high standards of customer service that the Langstone Hotel prides itself on.

Your comments have been highlighted to the management team and will be addressed to ensure it does not reoccur in the future.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I'd booked this hotel for a Saturday night just as a bit of a stopover on a weekend away. It looked lovely from across the bridge as we drove onto Hayling Island and had was excellently located by the marina. From the outside, it's still a '60s type build and so isn't massively attractive (apart from the rounded restaurant), but inside it has been fully refurbished to a great standard. Our room was huge and had large mirrored in-built wardrobe doors, coffee and tea making facilities and a very comfy bed. I loved that the bathroom was a wet-room and it was clean and modern. We had a lovely dinner in the Brasserie and took advantage of the excellent breakfast the next morning. Even though there was a wedding taking place downstairs, it wasn't noisy, the restaurant wasn't too full and they weren't massively busy for breakfast, making this a very comfortable and relaxing stay indeed. Plus, the addition of Darth Vader and two Stormtroopers in the lobby on checkout was a good end to the trip...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback.

I was delighted to learn that your stay with us at the Langstone Hotel was an enjoyable one and I have passed your comments onto the team who will be delighted!

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Went on a afternoon relax with a Groupon. Very nice facility's and enjoyable swim and sauna. Afternoon tea looking over the harbour was great. Staff polite and helpful. All for £30 for two well worth checking out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you taking the time to review your recent visit to the Langstone Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I was so pleased to read that your visit was an enjoyable one.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
1.4 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
557 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
289 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn (Langstone/A27)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Hotel

Address: Northney Road | Portsmouth, PO11 0NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range: £50 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Langstone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on Business or Pleasure, the Langstone hotel will look after all of your requirements. The hotel is ideally situated on Hayling Island on the south coast offering breath taking views of the estuary, with Portsmouth and Southampton only a few minutes by car. The hotel has just completed a 2.5 Million pound refurbishment and can cater for up to 170 banquets and state of the art conference & meeting facilities for up to 200 business guests. Our 2 AA rosette awarded Brasserie Restaurant which has views over the sea is ideal for entertaining friends and relatives or just enjoying a relaxing meal. Leisure guests will also enjoy the facilities of the hotel including a Lounge which serves all day light meals, coffee and cocktails. Our hidden court yard is ideal for enjoying lunch or dinner or just to unwind and relax while we take care of all of your needs. We offer a state of the art Health and fitness centre with a Indoor swimming pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi and beauty centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Langstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langstone
Langstone Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing