We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful food”
Review of Langstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langstone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful food”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our evening meal was supposed to be from the 'A la carte menu'. It looked awful, had absolutely no taste, it has to be the worst food I have ever eaten in a restaurant. After failing badly on the starter and main course, We were offered cheese & biscuits but were then told there wasn't much cheese, so the waitress instead recommended the creme brulee, which was served in such a way as to need an instruction manual! This hotel is no way four star and is more like a conference centre. The only good thing about it, was the comfortable bed. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kookie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

I was disappointed to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience. This does not reflect the 2AA rosette standard that we pride ourselves on here at the Langstone Hotel.

I would like the opportunity to discuss this with you direct, if you would like please email me on dos@langstonehotel.co.uk.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    565
    422
    179
    87
See reviews for
289
762
29
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beverley,East Riding of Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Part 1. Visitors
Rooms - spotless and very comfortable.
Staff - eager to please, welcoming and friendly.
Leisure Facilities - good.
Location - Stunning. A bit of traffic noise but you will be easily distracted by the fantastic views and sunsets.
Food - breakfast, limited choice but OK and as we only stayed for two days it was fine.
Evening meal: alas we decided not to eat at the hotel .... but more on the reasons for that in part 2.

Part 2. Weddings
Because of all of the above the hotel appears to be a very popular venue for lively weddings. We were aware of at least three in the two days we stayed.

Problems arise when visitors wanting rest and relaxation collide with very lively wedding celebrations.

Despite the hotel's best efforts some of our party were kept awake until gone 3am and we also decided not to eat an evening meal at the hotel because of the level of noise from the large numbers of wedding guests spilling out from the wedding reception into the cafe bar and outside the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Away from the front of the hotel. Shame, you won't have the best views but you will have a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeverleySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on Tripadvisor the experience you had during your recent stay with us here at The Langstone Hotel.

I was pleased to read that on the whole your stay with us was a pleasant one but marred somewhat by the wedding guests from the weekend.

We are a popular wedding venue and whilst our staff do all possible to ensure that the weddings don't impact our guests sometimes this proves a harder task.

I do hope that we might be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future for a more relaxing stay.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here to celebrate my fathers 80th birthday. Having booked and then read reviews I was a little worried, I needn't have been. Yes the rooms were a little noisy at night when the wedding guests were turning in, but a fab location, clean and tidy rooms, nice leisure facilities, a great outside bar area and the restaurant was more than accommodating for our family group of 11, including 2 small children who were up and down from their seats. They let us bring in our own cake and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobboFamily31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Langstone Hotel.

I was so pleased that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and your birthday celebration was everything that you wanted it to be.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night only for a family funeral in the area.
Nice location by the estuary, but that's about it. It's not a 4 star IMO. The photos on the website must be a few years old as it looked completely different and is VEEERY tired and in need of an urgent facelift. The outside needs a good clean ie:- the upvc facias outside are filthy. (A good jet wash would sort that). Amongst other things. The rooms need re-decorating.
There were holes in the wall where things used to be attached, dirty inter connecting door. Something brown smeared on it (yuk) so a housekeeping issue there I guess. Whoever owns this hotel has let things slide.
As far as the restaurant and bar etc.... We didn't use them as there were two or three weddings on the same day so VEEERY busy. So if you are going for a quiet weekend away this might not be the place for you.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amandahall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

I was disappointed to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience with us here at the Langstone Hotel on your recent stay with us.

I would like the opportunity to discuss this with you direct, if you would like please email me on dos@langstonehotel.co.uk.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a retrospective review as I have now retired but I stayed here many times when on Business in Portsmouth. Away from the city centre but easily accessible by car, loved being next to the bay/boatyard,rooms big and always immaculate, the fitness centre and pool always excellent and never crowded. Always found the staff helpul and friendly and never had a mistake or problem with the bill when leaving. Have to recommend the sausages at breakfast if they still use the same local supplier, easily the best sausages I have tasted in any hotel anywhere, very meaty and just the right amount of spices to make them moreish and always well cooked. Unless standards have dropped recently, which I doubt, loved the Langstone and in the last 6 months I recommended this place to my cousin who lives in Barcelona and was returning there by ferry after visiting the UK, and he was highly delighted with the Langstone and said he will be using it again on any subsequent trips.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockeradoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of the Langstone Hotel. I do hope that you are enjoying retirement?

Comments such as yours are very much appreciated as the team and myself are committed to a high standard of customer service and it is pleasing to receive such positive feedback.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future on a pleasure stay as opposed to business!!!!

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife & I spent 3 nights in this well situated hotel last weekend. The views from the hotel and on the island in general are superb. Try to get a deal with dinner included, as visit to the Brasserrie restaurant is highly recommended. Again benefitting from lovely views across the water, the menu offers a varied selection of tasty dishes. A waitress called Megan merits a particular mention, she is a mine of information when it comes to the hotel, the island, as well as the menu contents!
I would highly recommend this hotel as good base for a leisure break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowardWCromer_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Langstone Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to read your feedback and was so pleased that your stay was an enjoyable one. I have ensured that Megan and her line manager have been made aware of your comments.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We booked this hotel on an offer which included free dinner Friday night. We were happy with a free meal but did not expect food of the quality which we received, it was a wonderful surprise and much enjoyed by all of us. The service was friendly, if a little ditzy at times.

The hotel is having work done on its air conditioning and our room was stifling until we asked them to have it turned off. The maintenance man turned up within 5 minutes to deal with it and then the room was much more comfortable.

There were weddings on the Friday night and Saturday night that we stayed however the music was off at midnight and we weren't unduly disturbed.

The hotel have a red amber green system for letting you know the busiest times for breakfast in the morning - and at the busy times it can be a bit of a bun fight. Poached eggs are available on request and there was a good selection of hot food, fruit, cereal etc

Reception will give you a free wifi code if you ask for an hour's complimentary wifi - free wifi would be better, but we appreciated the free time anyway.

Were very happy with our stay and would come here again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the bar would be quieter when events are on
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyHoyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. Without such feedback we are unable to continually improve our service and facilities.

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and do hope you will return in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
1.4 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
509 reviews
5.3 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,201 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 mi away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#34 of 38 in Portsmouth
408 reviews
5.5 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Hotel

Property: Langstone Hotel
Address: Northney Road | Portsmouth, PO11 0NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Langstone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on Business or Pleasure, the Langstone hotel will look after all of your requirements. The hotel is ideally situated on Hayling Island on the south coast offering breath taking views of the estuary, with Portsmouth and Southampton only a few minutes by car. The hotel has just completed a 2.5 Million pound refurbishment and can cater for up to 170 banquets and state of the art conference & meeting facilities for up to 200 business guests. Our 2 AA rosette awarded Brasserie Restaurant which has views over the sea is ideal for entertaining friends and relatives or just enjoying a relaxing meal. Leisure guests will also enjoy the facilities of the hotel including a Lounge which serves all day light meals, coffee and cocktails. Our hidden court yard is ideal for enjoying lunch or dinner or just to unwind and relax while we take care of all of your needs. We offer a state of the art Health and fitness centre with a Indoor swimming pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi and beauty centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Langstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langstone
Langstone Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing