We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concerned after reading reviews - unnecessarily”
Review of Langstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Langstone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Concerned after reading reviews - unnecessarily”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I have to admit I was a little concerned about our weekend break choice having read some of the recent reviews but this was not necessary.
We were checked in by a friendly lady who gave us all the information we needed for an enjoyable stay including some hints and tips of things to see and do on the island!
Our room was spacious with superb views of the water and harbours. The bed turned out to be one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in!
The bar was busy with a wedding but we were lucky enough to grab some space on the wonderful sun terrace and enjoyed the people watching!
We chose to eat in the Brasserie restaurant having overheard a fabulous testimonial from some other guests who had eaten the night before! So pleased that we did - the staff were attentive and helpful and made our dinner a real dining experience. The duck with 5 spice potato terrine is a must. We enjoyed dessert (through choice) in the bar area along with coffee and liquors.
Breakfast on Sunday was extremely busy but as early risers we appeared to miss the main rush - a traffic light system is in place at the hotel to advise guests of the busy times - very handy! The continental choice was superb, better than some European hotels we have stayed in and the coffee and tea were free flowing.
We were disappointed that time on the island did not allow us to utilise the leisure facilities at the hotel, the pool looked superb and the beauty treatments, extremely reasonable. A perfect excuse to return I think!
All in all a wonderfully relaxing and enjoyable stay - a home away from home in less than a 2 hour drive!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheltenhamKilbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of the Langstone Hotel on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us here.

Comments such as yours are very much appreciated as the team and myself are committed to a high standard of customer service and it is pleasing to receive such positive feedback.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future so that maybe you would be able to experience the leisure and beauty facilities here at the hotel.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    553
    417
    173
    86
See reviews for
283
750
28
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

On approaching the hotel it looks great with wonderful waterside surroundings, on closer inspection it's in need of exterior decoration.

We had a long walk down the corridor to our room (this would be a problem for the elderly or infirm). We booked a twin bedded room but was allocated a large family room with comfortable beds... a large double, a single and a sofa (bed). Unfortunately I drew the short straw and had the single. The room had all the facilities one wants,; e.g fridge, tea making, hairdryer, iron & board, safe and TV.
The room was hot and the fan had to be permanently on as being on the ground floor couldn't safely leave the window open. It was very quiet, both internally and externally, there wasn't much passing traffic. A nice touch with the usual tea/coffee supplies was a bottle of water and a bar of chocolate.
The bathroom looked nice but was ridiculous in design the fixed large shower head sprayed past the inadequate glass panel, covering the toilet seat, flooding the floor as far as the basin vanity unit; it remained wet for a couple of hours after use and had a continuous dank smell. Another problem was the door didn't shut as it need adjusting, I reported it but as far as I know no one came to deal with it.
The safe was locked when I went to use it, I rang reception for help with it they said they'd send someone, they didn't turn up, I reminded them the next day, they still didn't turn up and as far as I know this is still locked (this also happened to a member of our party).

Evening Dining: The food is very good but there is a limited menu, the staff are friendly, polite and are attentive. The restaurant though is in need of decorating and the wipe able tables should be wiped and polished up as they look sticky and shabby; table clothes would have changed the whole dining experience as it would have brought it up to the level you would expect of a four star hotel and maybe better quality china and glassware would make it more special.
The breakfast is well presented but the scrambled egg was tasteless and the bacon looked better than it tasted, the rest of the items were good quality, the chocolate chip muffin and the blueberry muffin were excellent!

We found a couple of the reception staff unapproachable and a little unhelpful, fortunately the others were so nice that they made up for the surly ones!

Room Tip: If you can't walk far then let them know when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

Your comments and observations have been highlighted to the management team and will be addressed to ensure it does not reoccur in the future.

If you would like to discuss your stay with us direct I would be happy to hear from you. My email is dos@langstonehotel.co.uk.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Amongst a range of certificates attesting the excellence of this establishment (including the prestigious UK Automobile Association) behind the reception desk is also one from Trip Advisor, awarded in 2012. The staff vary from excellent to hopeless, including some in a role needing significant people skills which they lacked, and others who were simply obstructive. There was a fridge in the room (a switch with an illuminated red light was located in the wardrobe with the word 'fridge' above it) but its inside was clearly room temperature and when an enquiry at reception was made, the answer was that this was a cooler, not a fridge. Those of the Monty Python generation in particular may understand this explanation. No answer was forthcoming when further pressed as to why the word 'fridge' was there. And it did not keep food cool overnight. One bath towel was provided for a double room, the iron was dirty (something burnt), a line for an outside telephone connection (dial 9) was not working, and the room was not made up daily. I have stayed here several times (family in the area), like the ambiance, and the location is excellent. However there seems a shortage of local competition and the hotel acts as though it knows it. This is not what I would describe as budget accommodation, and does not fit the "you get what you pay for" maxim. For a hotel of this level, I could go on: I was told there was no laundry service (dry cleaning only), not possible to adjust the heating, bathroom door poorly hung and unless checked swung open to hit the heated towel rail with some vigour. Young staff, willing though most seemed to be and certainly not rude, are not getting the training from their seniors - if well organised, those responsible for the day-to-day running would be summoned by their bosses for an interview without coffee. Clearly nobody had checked the room - one glitch, possibly 2, is excusable (who gets it right all the time?), but multiple flaws tell their own story. And when it came to settling up, there was an attempt to charge me for newspapers(not ordered), and also confirming that I had had breakfast each day (I hadn't had any) I was there (I saw guests have room numbers marked off on presentation) - do staff communicate at all, or have they been instructed to try to trap guests who don't check before paying? Trip Advisor's excellent reputation for integrity will not last if they are giving awards to places like this, especially as recently as two short years ago.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Angus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

I was disappointed to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience. Your comments did not reflect the usual high standards of customer service that we pride ourselves on at the Langstone Hotel.

I would like the opportunity to discuss this with you direct, if you would like please email me on dos@langstonehotel.co.uk.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hayling Island hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Spa day was offered on group on for the Langstone hotel when we got there staff very friendly but disappointed that a spa day only consists of use of pool x Jaquzzi no pampering offered and after you've eaten at lunch time cannot use pool how can this be a spa DAY , Afternoon Tea was not included in price but that was fantastic
Most Hotels when offer a spa day you get full use of pool. And leisure facilities and a 15 or sometimes 25 min treatment and small lunch included in price very disappointed .
Hotel very clean though and beautiful views out side

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Langstone Hotel.

The Groupon offer that we have run recently includes use of the leisure facilities at the hotel as well as a cream tea and glass of sparkling wine that can be upgraded on the day to full afternoon tea for a £5 supplement per person. Treatments can be added, either prior to the day or indeed during the day if the availability allows - a 10% discount is offered for treatments. This would have been clearly set out on the voucher.

Due to health and safety regulations we do advise that the use of the pool after drinking is prohibited which we have now added to the vouchers. I'm sorry that this was a disappointment during your visit.

We do run varying offers throughout the year including different aspects of the spa experience. I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Located on its own and a long way to anywhere.Looked great on the web, but then reality. A skip greats you as you arrive.Our room was time worn and hot.The A/C rumbled in to life making no difference to our furnace room,never seen Hammerite paint used in a bedroom either. Bathroom shaver point didnt work,and rust on shower hose.The average food was served in a room with great views but thats all. As you sat waiting for service, the eye wondered to carpets that needed a damn good hoover, bits still there four days later. Our window sill covered in crumbs, grubby marks on the walls uuck!!!. The whole place could do with cleaning, the WI-FI dosent work either, Also look out for broken furniture.The worst thing was two roudey weddings during our stay. Total disreguard to residents unbelievable noise, foulmouth guests swigging £4 pints. Not what you expect at a Hotel supposted to be four star. BEST AVOID THIS HOTEL. Everything over priced.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephensmith103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Langstone Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I was disappointed to read that your stay was less than enjoyable. Yours comments certainly do not reflect the usual high standards that we pride ourselves on here at the hotel. I have reviewed your comments with my senior team to ensure that maintenance of the room and hotel areas are checked.

I was particularly disappointed to see images of back of house areas on your review. The locations of some of your photos are prohibited to guests and away from the main public areas. They would not be visible to the guests staying at the Langstone.

Yours sincerely

Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

A surprise murder mystery gift from my boyfriend. The hotel itself was lovely, did look unattractive from the outside. The hotel is not as sleek and up to date as others however it was comfortable and our room was nice and big. Our bathroom sink was clogged when we arrived and had to brush our teeth in the shower and wash our hands in the shower.
Apart from that it was nice

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GaramKaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Langstone Hotel.

I was pleased to read that as a whole your stay was enjoyable. I have cascaded your comments regarding the sink to our maintenance team and this issue has now been resolved so not to affect future guests.

I do hope that you would consider returning the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from a two night stay in what is easily Britain's hottest hotel. Unfortunately the air con does not work with the effect that the rooms are akin to saunas, particularly at night. Uncomfortable, warm, sticky, stay. The plug in fans provided, while a help, really just re-circulate the warm air. The air con needs to be fixed. Also, queues of guest at breakfast when lots of visibly empty tables inside the restaurant is hard to understand. Staff friendly and helpful in difficult conditions, to be fair to them.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at the Langstone Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We do not advertise the provision of air conditioning in the hotel and tower fans have been provided in each bedroom for guests comfort.

Your observations on the breakfast service at the hotel have been highlighted to the management team and will be addressed to ensure it does not reoccur in the future.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
2.7 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
269 reviews
1.4 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
497 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,180 reviews
5.5 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
646 reviews
4.9 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Hotel

Property: Langstone Hotel
Address: Northney Road | Portsmouth, PO11 0NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Langstone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on Business or Pleasure, the Langstone hotel will look after all of your requirements. The hotel is ideally situated on Hayling Island on the south coast offering breath taking views of the estuary, with Portsmouth and Southampton only a few minutes by car. The hotel has just completed a 2.5 Million pound refurbishment and can cater for up to 170 banquets and state of the art conference & meeting facilities for up to 200 business guests. Our 2 AA rosette awarded Brasserie Restaurant which has views over the sea is ideal for entertaining friends and relatives or just enjoying a relaxing meal. Leisure guests will also enjoy the facilities of the hotel including a Lounge which serves all day light meals, coffee and cocktails. Our hidden court yard is ideal for enjoying lunch or dinner or just to unwind and relax while we take care of all of your needs. We offer a state of the art Health and fitness centre with a Indoor swimming pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi and beauty centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Langstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langstone
Langstone Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing