We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just feels Right”
Review of Langstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Langstone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Rhu, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just feels Right”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Had the pleasure of attending a 2 day conference at this hotel last week. When I arrived at check in this place just felt right, you know how at times you get a good feeling about something well this place has it. Receptionist was very professional and welcoming and informative. All staff that I came across were very friendly and helpful. The food was exceptional I dined in the hotel both days and was very impressed by the menu's and the quality. The food and beverage staff were as good as any I have ever come across, well done to you all. This hotel is a little dated in appearance but it is clean and very comfortable. I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Langstone Hotel.

I was absolutely delighted to read your review and comments.

Comments such as yours are very much appreciated as the team and myself are committed to a high standard of customer service and it is pleasing to receive such positive feedback.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    576
    430
    180
    87
See reviews for
294
775
29
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at this hotel many times we booked again and were a dissapointed this time. We booked a superior room and on checking in discovered the air conditioning not working and only one window opening. We asked to change rooms, which was no problem, still no air conditioning though. When we called reception we were told the hotel no longer advertised air con!! The hotel definitely has air conditioning, just a penny pinching tactic to turn it off in the summer months. Even the public areas were very hot and uncomfy. I have another 2 rooms booked for middle of August which I will cancell if the air con is not re-instated. The only other gripe was a lack of blinds in bedrooms. You either have to shut the curtains or be like a goldfish. (For management. We stayed 12 July in room 288, then moved to 58). Staff very helpful and polite as always. Shame saving a few quid took the edge off out stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Djh170169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us here at the Langstone Hotel.

I was sorry to read that you were unsatisfied with your stay. Unfortunately, the hotel removed the air conditioning system in the bedrooms as the service was sporadic. This was done at the end of last year and requires major investment to get it back into full operation - not something a few pennies would make a difference on. We have removed all advertising of air conditioning from our website and have free standing fan units in all bedrooms for guest comfort.

I was pleased to read that the staff were as always polite and courteous.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel.

Yours sincerely

Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hayling Island hotels

Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay. We had a comfortable room but it was stiflingly hot. A powerful fan was provided but air conditioning is urgently required. Otherwise the hotel was very pleasant.The staff were obliging and nothing seemed too much trouble. The food, both evening dinner and breakfast, was excellent. A minor niggle was that my wife's prefered after-dinner tipple was out of stock. Not what is expected of a hotel with these claims to quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Langstone Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I was pleased to read that as a whole your stay was a pleasant one. I have noted your comments regarding air conditioning. We have been lucky enough to enjoy some fantastic weather recently and whilst we do not advertise the provision of air conditioning we do provide tower fans for guests comfort.

I do hope that we are able to invite yourself and your wife back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just return from a weekend at The Langstone Hotel, Greeted with a warm welcome, staff very helpful in bar and resturant particularly Katina in the Resturant nothing was too much trouble. Bedroom was very pleasant could have done with a little repair on the curtain. Spa and pool was clean.Evening meal was outstanding, breakfast was a buffet with a lot of choice. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to spend your recent stay in Portsmouth at the Langstone Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us here at the Langstone Hotel.

I have ensured that the curtain was repaired in the room that you stayed in, thank you for drawing this to our attention.

I hope that we are able to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here as at a party in Langstone. Good standard hotel with lovely coastal views. Varied menu in restaurant. Staff local and very helpful. Look out for Chris in restaurant. Can recommend fish and chips in paper! Chef sampler of watermelon soup very refreshing. Well stocked bar with snacks. Handy for trip to Portsmouth. Take your trunks / cossie for the pool..........we forgot ours.

Room Tip: ask for coastal view or upgrade to premier room if none available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 26ef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Langstone Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to read your comments and have ensured that the team have been made aware of your review.

I do hope that we can welcome you back again soon so you can experience our leisure facilities.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shoreham by sea
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We spent a sunny Saturday afternoon in June at this lovely hotel people watching (there was a wedding on) in the evening we had dinner in the fantastic restaurant and spent a very comfortable night in one of their double rooms Breakfast in the morning was excellent all the staff were amazing and so helpful

We have read the reviews on this site and feel they are unjust and suggest you try it for yourself we are sure you will not be disappointed

We felt that the wedding going on only added to the atmosphere and we were lucky enough to be invited to join the guests for a drink in the evening

All in all we had a great time at a very reasonable price in fact we are considering having our own wedding there

Room Tip: Best to request a room at the far end of the hotel away from the noise of the functions if your a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rita r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Langstone Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I was absolutely delighted to read your comments and I have made sure that the management team have cascaded your review down to their teams.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Langstone in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Lovely position and some nice views. Staff very friendly and helpful particularly Claire & Ryan in the bar area. Bedrooms looking a bit tired and could do with a refresh. Some new blinds at the windows would help to keep rooms cool in Summer & warmer in Winter. Thomas Sanderson do some lovely ones! Food was fab but a few more healthy choices in the bar would be better for my waistline after having stayed here for five nights!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snapdragon1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay on Tripadvisor.

I was pleased to read that on the whole that you had an enjoyable conference here at the Langstone. We have taken on board your suggestion for Thomas Sanderson blinds!

Claire & Ryans managers have been made aware of your review also and they were delighted with the feedback.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
1.4 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
524 reviews
5.3 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,217 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
3.5 mi away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#34 of 38 in Portsmouth
413 reviews
5.0 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Hotel

Property: Langstone Hotel
Address: Northney Road | Portsmouth, PO11 0NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Langstone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on Business or Pleasure, the Langstone hotel will look after all of your requirements. The hotel is ideally situated on Hayling Island on the south coast offering breath taking views of the estuary, with Portsmouth and Southampton only a few minutes by car. The hotel has just completed a 2.5 Million pound refurbishment and can cater for up to 170 banquets and state of the art conference & meeting facilities for up to 200 business guests. Our 2 AA rosette awarded Brasserie Restaurant which has views over the sea is ideal for entertaining friends and relatives or just enjoying a relaxing meal. Leisure guests will also enjoy the facilities of the hotel including a Lounge which serves all day light meals, coffee and cocktails. Our hidden court yard is ideal for enjoying lunch or dinner or just to unwind and relax while we take care of all of your needs. We offer a state of the art Health and fitness centre with a Indoor swimming pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi and beauty centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Langstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langstone
Langstone Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing