We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Just don't book a stay in the summer!!!”
Review of Langstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Langstone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel, Just don't book a stay in the summer!!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The langstone is ranked a 4 star hotel with luxury rooms!! The staff are welcoming, its very clean and well maintained, the bar and resturant prices are a little high but you would expect that with a 4 star rated hotel. The only major issue I have is with the so called luxury rooms not having air conditioning!!! We had 5 in one room (me, my wife and three kids) and the room was just unbearable hot and the window only opened about 2". the fan supplied was just inadequate for the room temperature, When we asked for a second fan we were told they only had one for each room in the hotel..
So if your looking for a 4 star hotel in the summer and don't mind not sleeping!!! book this one if you do want to sleep comfortable look elsewhere!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Langstone Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I was sorry to read that your stay was not as you expected. Like our main local competitors, we do not have air conditioning in our bedrooms and our advertising is reflective of this. Large oscillating tower fans have been provided in each bedroom for guest comfort. We do have spare fans in the hotel although the demand on these has been great during the recent hot spell.

For health and safety purposes, our windows are set to open to 2 inches although there are instructions on how to override this by the windows.

Again, please accept my apologies that your stay was not up to your expectations but I hope that we might be able to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    577
    431
    180
    87
See reviews for
294
775
30
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hengoed, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Hotel facilities such as pool, gym, sauna, steam and jacuzzi is very good, rooms are comfortable and cleaned thoroughly, staff which was outstanding and welcoming were, Amy, Chelsea, Sophie, Leah, michael and Michelle,
Food was very good quality,
Drinks I thought was overpriced,
Would definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael2076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay. I have ensured that the staff members you mentioned and their respective line managers are aware of your comments also.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Langstone Hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

So for a bit of variety the Langstone would be me next stay for three days.

Says 4*, Gym, lets see.......

Asked if I could upgrade, if Ididn't like room, told all full, so forget that......

Room - Dated, but spacious, comfortable, management have obviously listened to feedback regarding the air con, one big vertical oscilating fan on the table, not too noisy, but keeps you cool, much needed in this weather.

Dated how?, yes I can hear you.......

Slide open the mirror doors to reveal three sectional space

1. Contains place for you to hang up clothes, put your suitcase
2. Room safe
3. Fusebox, yes I did say fusebox on wall and coffee making bits

Lights in ceiling of this space, with missing bulbs..........lol

However, the room shower, brilliant, hot, powerful, plus you can take to cleanse the undercarriage, so all good.

Staff - friendly attentive, especially chaps at the bar, if you ask for extra towels, ask for pool size, standard here is small, can't blame them for not knowing HDUK got lot to dry....


Tried their fish & Chips & Beef with Mash (separately) lovely and good quantity as well as quality...

Da Brekkie - Got to lose star here, check this....

Two bits of fruit, melon and orange, not good start...
Saw a toasting machine, I kid you not, last time saw one of those was years ago - can still remember woman saying
"Don't expect to see this in a Hilton" - well Langstone says 4*, really?

Ooops breakfast out on the heated pans - you know HDUK hates this, but lets see....
I grab one of the cold plates, Scrambled eggs, beans, tomato, oh put me bread into toaster.

Sit me self down, lets order some coffee....
What - coffee machine in corner, I see a queue of bods with cup in hand, at coffee machine....No Man, this is 3* place.......

Finish me disappointing brekkie - could have had eggs anyway liked, according to menu on table, indeed..

Now you know HDUK, doesn't like negative, so must look for the good....

The Gym - Great, yup, found the good - adequate machines, good variety, had good workout, then leisure area, nice pool, small jacuzzi, OK Steam, but the Sauna, Man, proper old school, none of this controlled nonsense proper coals, grab the ladle, put the water, Man you will feel the heat, lovely, this made up for the brekkie.

Ask gym staff for pool size towels, their default is also the tea towel size...........lol

Would I go back Yep, the staff, food (not brekkie) and gym made Langstone bearable, plus now know to set expectations to, well I'll let you guess which mode...

Until next Time...
HDUK...

Room Tip: Stayed in 132 - was very quiet, crap views though
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyDaveUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Langstone Hotel with such detail on Tripadvisor.

I was pleased to read that as a whole your stay was pleasant and enjoyable. I have ensured that your comments have been cascaded to the management teams for review. We have recently amended our restaurant service during the summer months to combat the demand at breakfast time and hoped that this did not detract away from the 4 star service.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times, but during the hottest week of the year, the hotel is Wait for investment to fix the air conditioning, no other customer provision given or even mentioned at check in. Hotel is barely a one star but still charging top rate.

The rooms have an electric fan pushing hot air around the room, the towel rail is on permanently so bathroom is a Finnish sauna, and there is no provision for bottled water in the rooms.

When issues were raised little care or consideration given from members of staff or reaction from management. Overall a huge disappointment

Room Tip: Check if air conditioning is working before booking.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest

I was sorry to read that your recent stay to the Langstone Hotel was not an enjoyable one.

We have not had air conditioning in the bedrooms at the hotel since the end of last year and all advertising of air conditioning has been removed from media and websites. We provide tower fans in all rooms for guest comfort. The bathrooms towel rails can be turned off using the switch at the side and drinks can be cooled in the mini bar provided.

I was disappointed to read that you felt the customer care at the hotel was lacking as we pride ourselves on a high level of customer service from our team. Should you wish to discuss this further, please contact myself on dos@langstonehotel.co.uk.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hayling Island hotels

Hedon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Yes a nice Hotel, Bar and restaurant nice also. The room we stayed in was ok clean and tidy. We used it as our base to explore the south of England, something we are doing now due to the fact that for the past 41years we have always gone abroad. The weather was great so the wife and myself had a good time.

Room Tip: Good location to explore the south coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Portsmouth and the Langstone Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to read that yourself and your wife had an enjoyable stay at the hotel and visit to the South Coast. We are in a superb location for exploring the delights of the area.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you both back to the Langstone in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Had a great stay for one night hotel was lovly room was big and had everything we needed only bad thing no ac there was a fan but the room was hot and unbearable at times apart from that great stay great breakfast

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Langstone Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I was pleased to read that your stay was on the whole enjoyable. Unfortunately, like many of of our competitors we do not have air conditioning in our bedrooms although we hope that the provision of tower fans in all bedrooms have gone towards making guests stays more comfortable.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend with a large party for a wedding elsewhere on Hayling Island. The rooms were a good size and quiet, but we were disappointed that there was no a/c, only fans- the rooms were very hot. Breakfast was adequate, though Ltd selection. Staff were pleasant and welcoming. The restaurant food was adequate, but over priced. The leisure centre was dated and changing rooms too cold to change babies in. A mixed review.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AMFWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Langstone Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I was sorry to read that your stay wasn't satisfactory. Unfortunately, we do not have air conditioning in the hotel bedrooms. We provide tower fans in all bedrooms for guest comfort. I have passed your comments regarding food to our Head Chef for review.

Again, thank you for taking the time to feedback as without these comments we cannot continually improve our products and services.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
1.4 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
525 reviews
5.3 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,221 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
5.0 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 mi away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#34 of 39 in Portsmouth
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Hotel

Property: Langstone Hotel
Address: Northney Road | Portsmouth, PO11 0NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Langstone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on Business or Pleasure, the Langstone hotel will look after all of your requirements. The hotel is ideally situated on Hayling Island on the south coast offering breath taking views of the estuary, with Portsmouth and Southampton only a few minutes by car. The hotel has just completed a 2.5 Million pound refurbishment and can cater for up to 170 banquets and state of the art conference & meeting facilities for up to 200 business guests. Our 2 AA rosette awarded Brasserie Restaurant which has views over the sea is ideal for entertaining friends and relatives or just enjoying a relaxing meal. Leisure guests will also enjoy the facilities of the hotel including a Lounge which serves all day light meals, coffee and cocktails. Our hidden court yard is ideal for enjoying lunch or dinner or just to unwind and relax while we take care of all of your needs. We offer a state of the art Health and fitness centre with a Indoor swimming pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi and beauty centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Langstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langstone
Langstone Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing